Customer Reviews for

Ideas: A History of Thought and Invention, from Fire to Freud

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Excellent book on History from the perspective of ideas and thei

    Excellent book on History from the perspective of ideas and their development.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Gave broad perspective

    This book was well written and provided a broad perspective. I especially enjoyed the section on the Scientific Revolution. There is some controversy in interpreting this time period that i learned by reading this book. By blending history with explanations of science, it helps to put ideas into perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    If you liked The Pleasure Of Finding Things Out,you'll love Ideas!

    I read Ideas-and I found every moment of it fascinating. I enjoyed reading The Pleasure Of Finding Things Out by Richard Feynman just as much,so read Ideas if you enjoyed reading The Pleasure Of Finding Things Out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Idea POST

    How bout a warship fanfic like you r on a ship that is suddenly attacked and nearly scuttles?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Hawkie

    Well...I don't know much about warships so it may be boring to write....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Jadestone, Lightshadow, and Vapoursecret's idea

    We create a place to plot things to make it interesting. Like one of us could rp a badger or other natural predator that will attempt to attack camp. Or a cat could go 'besark' and try to take over the clan. Or something. Anyway, we should have place to plot these things and perhaps activities so that camp isn't constantly boring. Perhaps we can have a game that we play daily or semi-daily or something. Tell me what you think. Just curious before I bring it up to Couragestar to perhaps even suggest at the next gathering. We need more correlation with the other Clans as well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    GREAT book

    I enjoyed this book so much :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Briarkit

    ((Actually, can you do one about K.K attacking WingClan again? This time they are trying to take over the camp so they have more territory. All of the WingClan cats ((like Luckywish, Me, etc.)) Does that sound good?))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    ShrewFangs idea

    Names: <br>
    BumbleHawk, ReeseStripe, Hawthorne, BlackStorm, GreyClaw, Sagestorm, ScoutPaw, TalonStar, EchoScreech, Lionpaw. <br>
    Female names: <br>
    Tridantpaw, MurcyWave, Swamppaw, SeaLuck, Lovedash, RainDust, BlueMoon, SilverFeather, Softpaw, Cheerpaw, LightPaw. <p>
    Plot: <br>
    Its a cold Leafbare for *ClanName* and *Leader* is getting more concerned for his dieing clan. The other clans must be rational with prey, they must share. But one day, destruction hits the clans. Cats are killed....it was the day of the Ice Scare. When ice shards suddenly came from the sky...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    MEN

    Come in naked and pee on everything and everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Twilight Suns┬┐I have an ad.

    Hello im Twilight Suns, a vampire & i started a vampire rp at vampire result one. Post ur description at result two. You join automatically. You dont have to ask. Thanks. |~•Twilight Suns•~|

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    I HAVE SOME ADS

    Orphanige center we need orphans.join blazeclan and wedge resut 1 NO POWERS AT ALL.medcat needs a clan go to herbs(make aure you add the s)result 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Julie

    Thnx.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Cole

    Um hello anyone on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    <3

    <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    I have the best idea etr

    A the idea

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Metalclaw

    This is the worst idea I have ever heard. If we do go through with this, some people will simply ignore this and keep in the Clan they have now, or make more. This is a circle we have been argueing about for a very long time, and the Clans have never changed. I think change will simply push some others to rebel and make this problem worse. No matter how long some people say there should only be four Clans, the majority of us rprs will argue to stay in the ones we have now. Again, this is a meaningless arguement that will never be resolved.
    -Metalclaw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    EPIC

    Gingerfur stood beside Amberstar. "I agree. ThunderClan is not going to be rid of." The senior warrior mewed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    To Dovestar

    No! There are too many people that rp. And i love the addon clans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    Maplejay

    What!?! :) that was what I tried to do. It will work! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2