Customer Reviews for

Identical

Average Rating 4.5
( 702 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(538)

4 Star

(97)

3 Star

(39)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Identical

I have read all of Ellen Hopkins books. And before I read this book, Impulse was my favorite. And I didn't think she could write another book any better. But she did. Identical is the best book I have ever read. I couldn't put the book down once I started. And the endin...
I have read all of Ellen Hopkins books. And before I read this book, Impulse was my favorite. And I didn't think she could write another book any better. But she did. Identical is the best book I have ever read. I couldn't put the book down once I started. And the ending was amazing. Not predictable AT ALL. Which was the best part. I can't wait till her next novel.

posted by McKenzieElise on December 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good Book...But Intense

this book was given to me for an independent reading project in 10th grade english. worth the read but disturbing. with drugs, sex, rape, and other scandals wrapped into one book you should think carefully before buying.

posted by LinaLove7995 on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 707 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    Identical

    I have read all of Ellen Hopkins books. And before I read this book, Impulse was my favorite. And I didn't think she could write another book any better. But she did. Identical is the best book I have ever read. I couldn't put the book down once I started. And the ending was amazing. Not predictable AT ALL. Which was the best part. I can't wait till her next novel.

    23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    GOOD BUT DISTURBING

    It's a good book but it's also a little disturbing. I had to force myself to read some parts, and it's not because it was bad or boring, it was because some parts were too hard to read for me. There are some really hard things to read in this book, a lot of mature subject matter. There's a twist most will not expect at the end and will be suprised when reading it. Kaeleigh and Raeanne are identical twins. Kaeleigh has been sexually abused by her father since she was a child and finds it hard to say no to anything. The only good things she has going for her life is Ian. Raeanne always has to be high, and loves to be used on her own terms. She loves having sex with many different guys and finds herself attracted to one of her teachers. I'm not gonna get too much into the plot because if I do I can easily give it away. So if you don't mind the sensitve subject matter of drugs, sex, and sexual abuse then I say read this book. It will be one of those books you will think about long after.

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    I loved it and will probably end up rereading it.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hopkins writing style is so naked & sincere it simply steals your breath away.

    Ellen Hopkins has a natural gift for writing so poignantly you don't just read the words on paper, you become the words she so eloquently delivers.


    Hopkins writing style is so naked & sincere it simply steals your breath away. Identical is told in free verse & sometimes that form of free verse utilizes pictures or poems w/i poems to convey it's message -- simply brilliant.


    I knew where Hopkins was going w/ the storyline & it made me ache inside. I was not just an outsider looking in but was experiencing all the heart wrenching emotions Kaeleigh & Raeanne endured thanks to Hopkins' seamless stratagem.

    It was difficult reading about what the father was doing to one of the daughters. I had a difficult time w/ it because it hit too close to home. All I am saying is, the cycle of abuse is a violently vicious one!


    Hopkins' descriptions are remarkably riveting & powerfully fervent you may have to write a memo w/ the words "exhale" in bold print!




    I am not going to give away the design of Identical, you are going to have to read the book for yourself. Hopkins' Identical is definitely not a book to be missed.

    I have heard mumblings that this book is "graphic" but I ask myself as I type this, "Is this book anymore graphic than what you endured @ the hands of your uncle @ the tender age of 9?" My answer... No!

    I believe Hopkins deserves kudos for shattering the glass ceiling w/ her groundbreaking prose, ripped from the headlines storylines & richly poured lyrical exposition.


    Identical needs to be on every library shelf in the universe, given as gifts to young girls & parents across the globe.


    While imitator's dip their toes, literary doyenne Hopkins plunges right in!


    Quick! Grab a copy of Hopkins' Identical.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    This book was definitely memorable because of the suprise ending!

    This book was quite gripping,although it is most certainly not for all age groups. I would say the age group is around 12-16, for sexually themed parts, etc. But it was really good, written in a sort of poem style. It took some getting used to, but once you did get used to that it was a really interesting read. It is told from the point of view of two twins, Kaeleigh and Raeanne. Kaeleigh is more quiet and good, while Raeanne is more daring. Basically, their dad crashes the car when they were little, and the mother got seriously injured, although nursed back to health by the twins' rueful father. She never loved their father the same again. Kaeleigh becomes the outlet for her dad's misdirected love, while Raeanne takes it as favoritism and takes out her feelings by doing drugs, sex, and alcohol. As Hopkins weaves a story of lies, hurt, and love, Kaeleigh and Raeanne realize that one of them will have to step up and save them both. But who will it be? And then, one of them finds something critical about the car crash, something that will change their lives forever. Read Idetical to discover what exactly this is.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Great Book!

    Identical by Ellen Hopkins is a book I highly recommend. This book will have you turning the pages quicker than I can say popcorn. Ellen Hopkins creates the perfect story with plenty of drama, romance, tragedy and a special twist. This book brings the readers on a ride of a lifetime. The main characters of the book are twins. You¿d think all twins were the same but not all are. One of the twins is a rebel and the other a goody two shoes. Both live completely different lives but share the same identity as twins. This book will put you into the shoes of a lifestyle you¿d thought only few would experience. Some scenes may be too much to handle but if you make it through you won¿t regret reading it. This book references sexual abuse, drug use. If I had to rate this book 1-5 stars it would be a definite 5!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Ellen Hopkins' best books so far

    Sixteen-year-old identical twins Kaeleigh and Raeanne have a seemingly perfect life; their father is one of the most revered judges in California, and their mother is running in the election for congress. However, things are not as "perfect" as they may seem. "Perfect on the outside, but behind the Norman Rockwell facades, each holds its secrets. Dark, untellable. Practically unbelievable." Kaeleigh and Raeanne are mirror image twins and complete opposites; although, one aspect they have in common is their urge to be noticed by their parents. Raeanne longs for the love of her father, though he gives all his love to Kaeleigh. Kaeleigh aspires to be noticed by her mother, who is never home long enough between campaigns. Their father, Raymond Gardella, also seeks the love of his estranged wife, but when she rejects him, he moves on to someone that reminds him of her, their daughter Kaeleigh. Ellen Hopkins delves into the world of an abused child and isn't afraid to be explicit at times. This novel is a great read with a shocking twist at the end that no one could possibly see coming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Shocking and unforgettable

    From beginning to end, Ellen Hopkins delivers a beautiful, heartwrenching, and shocking novel about everything a teenage girl faces; sex, love, family issues, death, drugs, and much more. It was hard for me to put it down- and when I finally finished, the ending was so shocking and so unbelievable, it made me want to go back and reread it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    OH MY GOD!!!!!!!

    I loved this book so much! I could't put it down for a miunute. <BR/> The books about twins girls, who are going throught a hard time in their lives. Durgs, bingging, cutting, are all parts of this book. <BR/> I coulnd't beilvie the ending!!!! The end was a shock!!! It caught me off guard!<BR/> Go read it. If you have doughts about it take my advice, GO READ IT!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hopkins never ceases to amaze me

    I have read all of Ellen Hopkins books, and Identical is definitely my favorite. You are brought into the world of Kaeleigh and Raeanne, twins with two completely different outlooks on life. This book has given me so much insight into a dysfunctional family, which is something I can relate to although not to the extent of this book. Hopkins style of writing is something I love. Her words just flow onto the pages that make up her creation of what should be considered a "hard life". All of her novels were based on people that have lives that are beyond distortion, their reality being what many people cannot understand and will only understand once reading one of her books. I believe that these novela were designed to give her readers a taste of her mind, and her ideas have given us the ability to see her view and her world. One of my favorite characters of this book is Ian. Unrequited love is something that people experience at least once in their lifetime and in the beginning in the novel it is evident that this happens to Ian. I love the fact Kaeleigh realizes her love for him because she really doesn't associate herself with anyone else but him. Ian is the type of guy who is what every girl would defintely go for. Humble, not egotistical at all. Their relationship is genuine. Thumbs up for Ellen Hopkins.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Identical...

    This book was an amazing emotional deep book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    Good Book...But Intense

    this book was given to me for an independent reading project in 10th grade english. worth the read but disturbing. with drugs, sex, rape, and other scandals wrapped into one book you should think carefully before buying.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My personal favorite

    Identical is not only my favorite book by Ellen Hopkins (who is also my favorite author) but it's also one of my favorite books of all time. The way it's written is so gripping, every sentence has you dying to find out what's going to happen next. Although it's not much of an action thriller, Identical keeps you on the edge of your seat with it's twists and turns. Even though the plot is a bit complex, Hopkins makes it clear to see what she's trying to say with her images of metaphors and similes, her symbols and hidden messages. One of my favorite things about Identical is that it's written in free lance poetry so that the story is rhythmical in a subtle way, beautiful and captivating like poetry, yet comprehensible enough for readers who are used to novels to understand. Identical has a dazzling charm to it; it's pages allure readers to continue the book. It's very easy to relate to, no matter who you are. It has memorable character, unforgettable scenes and an unexpected and unbelievable ending. I give you my full recommendation, you won't even notice the 565 pages. ; )

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of Ellen Hopkins Best!

    I am 13 years old and this is my second favorite Ellen Hopkins book. My favorite is Burned. All of her books are page turners. I never want to put down the book! I definitely recommend all of her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved this book.

    This story is about twins named Kaeleigh and Raeanne. They are total opposites but look exactly the same. Kaeleigh is the quiet, doesn't want attention' type. Raeanne is the sexualy active drugy. Kaeleigh gets raped almost everynight by her alcoholic father. As far as their mom, she is out of the picture. Through out the book an accident is repeatedly brought up. Some DUI accident that took a life and made their mother go away and run for congress. A boy Ian is greatly in love with Kaeleigh and would do anything for her but she keeps him out of the loop. Raeanne is involved with Ty and Mike, but she uses them to get drugs. There's a really crazy plot twist and it keeps you on the edge of your seat.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is edgy and a page turner.

    This is the first book I have read by this author. I can say now that it will not be my last. Her treatment of difficult teenage experiences is exceptional. (Mental illness, drug abuse, sexual abuse, sexual promiscuity, rivalry, first love...the list keeps going.)

    I will probably re-read this book at some point, as it was that engaging. It kept me up late reading and every break I had at the bookstore, I was back there in the break room turning pages. All I can say is wow. Buy this book today.

    For the younger person, there is some language parents may find objectionable, and the content may not be for younger kids. It is mature subject matter, but with parental guidance, 15 and up should be okay.

    Again, I think this book illustrates some really tough issues teens have to deal with today. It is engaging and worth the read. I particularly liked the element that dealt with drug abuse going badly. The book lets you see there are consequences.

    Read it today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Really good!

    I don't normally read books like this. But one of my friends has read Ellen Hopkins books and said they are really good. I started reading her books by reading Impulse, which I ended up loving! So I decided I would read Identical because it sounded really good. It wasn't just really good. This book made me think about a lot of things that are happening to people. The two teens (twin sisters) in this book have a unforgettable story. I never wanted to put it down. There is a big twist at the end that surprised me a lot! I was totally shocked at was happened! Ellen Hopkins books are really good, and I recommend it to any teen.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2008

    Ellen Hopkins Rocks

    Identical is the story of twin sisters Kaeleigh and Raeanne. Kaeleigh is ms. goody too shoes and Raeanne is hard edge. Their mother is a politican meaning she is always gone and their dad is a business man by day, drunk by night. To make matters worse Kaeleigh has a big secret, so big that if anyone found out her mom's career would be ruined and so would her family's lives. Her father sexually abuses her. To top it all off, Raeanne is jealous. She wishes that her dad cared as much and paid as much attention to her as he does to Kaeleigh.<BR/><BR/>As with all Ellen Hopkins's books there is drug use and sexual encounters. In this case it's Raeanne who sneaks into the medicine cabinet while her dad is out cold and slips two of his Oxycontin and a swig of Wild Turkey.<BR/><BR/>The ending was a total shock. I didn't see it coming at all. Well, I can't say that because I had the ending spoiled for me by a classmate who was talking about the book to a friend and spoke rather loudly. However even knowing the ending the manner in which it was presented was shocking to me.<BR/><BR/>I love all of the Ellen Hopkins books and it's always hard for me to say which is my favorite, but this one is definitely around the top of the list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Ellen Hopkins Unique Writing Style Has Always Intrigued Me. INDE

    Ellen Hopkins Unique Writing Style Has Always Intrigued Me. INDENTICAL Is By Far One Of My Favorite Books. Is Just So &quot;Different&quot; And More Interesting From Anything Ive Ever Read. Yes, It's Disturbing In Some Parts, But That's Life &amp; Believe It Or Not Things Like This Do Happen. I Recomend This Book To Teen Girls, And Their Mothers. The Ending Will Make You Litteraly Say &quot;WHAT?!&quot; Out Loud. Its Just A Great Book !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Amazing

    She did it again u have to read this!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 707 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 36