Customer Reviews for

Identical

Average Rating 3
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Suspenseful, interesting, different

What a GREAT book!!!!! You will not be able to put it down. Just when you think you've got it all figured out, you REALLY don't. Highly recommend.

posted by JodieLA on October 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I am a fan of Scott Turow and was anxious to read this book. But

I am a fan of Scott Turow and was anxious to read this book. But after reading a few chapters I had a big problem: the murder victim, Dita, was such an unsavory character that I didn't care whodunit. Even though Turow tried to weave an interesting tapestry of lies, twin...
I am a fan of Scott Turow and was anxious to read this book. But after reading a few chapters I had a big problem: the murder victim, Dita, was such an unsavory character that I didn't care whodunit. Even though Turow tried to weave an interesting tapestry of lies, twins, coverups, etc., it just never got interesting enough for me to keep reading. Very disappointing. I gave it two starts for also adding political corruption to the mix.

posted by BBLB on November 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    I am a fan of Scott Turow and was anxious to read this book. But

    I am a fan of Scott Turow and was anxious to read this book. But after reading a few chapters I had a big problem: the murder victim, Dita, was such an unsavory character that I didn't care whodunit. Even though Turow tried to weave an interesting tapestry of lies, twins, coverups, etc., it just never got interesting enough for me to keep reading. Very disappointing. I gave it two starts for also adding political corruption to the mix.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Suspenseful, interesting, different

    What a GREAT book!!!!! You will not be able to put it down. Just when you think you've got it all figured out, you REALLY don't. Highly recommend.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Interesting, but not compelling

    The story line started in an engaging manner, but quickly got mired down in many scientific details. I LOVE science and technical information, but somehow Turow's incorporation of these elements into this mystery slowed the tempo and almost immediately gave away the crux of the book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    It´s Bad book of the history.

    It´s Bad book of the history.

    7 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    This is an interesting story of identical twins and the depth of

    This is an interesting story of identical twins and the depth of love that drives them to an extreme sacrifice. The story also centers on the first layer of American Greek culture and family. The person responsible for the death Dita is not revealed under the end of the novel, but I had already guesses the culprit. The story becomes a little confusing after Cass is released from prison, and the reader slowly learns of the twin’s deception. Also, a few of the characters have similar names, which provides more confusion. The facts seem to waiver, especially on the children of Lidia. The prime investigator, Tim Brody, seems ready to sink into a chair and die at any time. The story does not flow well.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    not so highly

    UNLIKE THE PREVIOUS NOVEL, THIS BOOK HAS A GREAT DEAL OF ATTENTION PLAYED TO DNA, WHICH SLOWS THE ACTION PAINFULLY.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Enjoyed earlier books more

    Plot seemed to plod along with predicable outcomes. I enjoyed his earler books. This lacked something for me.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

    Always a good read this book doesn't disapoint. This author was

    Always a good read this book doesn't disapoint. This author was blessed with a wonder father who was my dr. 
    If not for him I would never had my children. That is where my interest started with this author and I was glad I read his books. You will enjoy each of his books and want more!!!

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    A good read.

    Scott Turow knows how to spin a good yarn, and his latest thriller is full of twists and turns. A good read.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Did not grab me

    Just did not grab me....not a page turner. Was not drawn in. Abandoned the book at the half way point.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Good Book

    Highly enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    An intriguing story

    I enjoyed the book. It was quite well written, as is customary for Turow. The story is interesting and complex, to the point of confusion at times, with its array of characters and their varied conflicts. Although the overall plot is quite good, I don't consider this to be Turow's best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Somewhat recommend

    I was frankly not that impressed with this Scott Turow. An interesting concept but not that well executed. Turow did not make me really care about these characters or what happened to them. It had an interesting signature Turow twist at the end but by the time I got there, I really didn't care, I just wanted to finish the book and move on to something more interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    Unexpected twists- astounding revelations. A must-read.

    Have always enjoyed Turow and IDENTICAL was no exception. Well written, plot well laid out and thick as cold molasses. It kept me guessing all they way to the reveal. For all lovers of good mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    recommend

    Interesting.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    twists and turns

    Loved being constantly surprised

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Avoid this one

    Scott Turow's ideas about how far the police can go in solving a murder via DNA are off the wall. Do identical twins have the same exact DNA? We are told that it is extremely difficult to DNA identicals even though they may be taller, smaller or have other physical traits differ. I find this to be captivating, but looking at it logically, those other traits would skew the DNA process. The section on DNA from a 'world renowned' expert is interesting, but it can't carry the whole book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    I had to force myself to complete this book.  It never grabbed m

    I had to force myself to complete this book.  It never grabbed me.  I read 2-3 books a week and this one left me cold

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Meh

    Meh

    1 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the story of two families of Greek heritage, intertwined

    This is the story of two families of Greek heritage, intertwined in more ways than one would think possible, over a couple of generations: The Kronon family, and the Giannis family, the latter including Paul Giannis, just over 50 and a state senator now running for mayor, and his identical twin brother, Cass, a former Kindle County cop who as the book opens is about to be released from prison after serving twenty-five years after having confessed to the murder of his then-girlfriend, Dita Kronon, in September of 1982. Needless to say, that event had radically affected each member of both families. Dita was a very volatile young woman, and the romance had been fraught with problems: The twins’ mother, Lidia, then 63, had made it known that if the two got married, their father would never speak to him again, as there had been very bad blood between the men for 20 years.

    Dita’s brother, Hal, a very wealthy businessman, convinced that both brothers were involved in his sister’s death, hires Evon Miller, a young woman who is a former FBI agent, and Tim Brodie, now an 81-uear-old p.i. and the homicide cop who had handled the original investigation, to thoroughly re-examine all aspects of the murder, something never done once Cass had confessed, and to then convince a judge to re-open the investigation.

    Early on, when much of the p.o.v. is generally that of Evon and Tim, the reader’s sympathy lies less with their boss, Hal, and more with the twins. The book moves in a leisurely manner, the murder having taken place over twenty-five years ago, and its attempted painstaking reconstruction, over a period of a few months, with the p.o.v. moving from one of the main characters to another in present time. There are forays into the past at pivotal points in the book, perfectly placed for maximum sustained suspense, slowly bringing the reader the truth of what actually transpired on the fateful day. The characters are very well-drawn, the courtroom scenes of course beautifully done, and the investigation and the secrets it uncovers fascinating. The novel is described as a complex web of murder, sex and betrayal – what more can one ask? The author has an undisputed history of well-deserved bestsellers to his credit. He continues to tell a helluva story, and the novel is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4