Customer Reviews for

If Chins Could Kill: Confessions of a B Movie Actor

Average Rating 4.5
( 30 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If chins could kill

    This Bio of B-movie sensation, Bruce Campbell is hilarious and delightful. If you are a fan of B-movies or Bruce himself you are in for a real treat. I learned a lot about the face of the Evil Dead series. He is creative, throughtful, funny, etc. I throughly enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The chosen one is speaking....SHUT UP!!!

    ever wounder what an actor who name you never heard of, who's movies you probably heard of but never saw it. or who was in it but had a very small part, or who was in a cult classic horror movie that was spawn in to 2 other cult movies , and always being called by the name of the character he played in!<BR/><BR/>well thats the type of story that bruce campbell wrote with a bite .<BR/>he also talks about his past life and what happened when he became the superstar of the " B-rated" movie world. He reminds you of someones family member who tell stories about what happened when he was young....with anger, or just a guy who likes to rant!<BR/>he makes fun of the " a-list" world and shows the not - so glamours life called hollywood.<BR/> if you like to read a biographic book with an edge that is sharp as a knife then read this book <BR/>its really " GROOVEY"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    BRUCE CAMPBELL IS A GOD

    Widely considered a God among men, , Campbell's flawless intonation, facial expressions, and sheer awesomeness have dazzled millions for many years making him the best actor to roam the earth. Now Bruce is prolly going to be known as the best writer in history. This book is made of win and lulz. Reading this book will make you feel like an ant compared to all the epic things Bruce has done. From being in a lead role of a movie or having a minor role that makes any movie over 9000 times better. This book also makes helps you see what it feels to be a actor and what you must go through. All i have to say is this book should become the new bible.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    Groovy!

    ALL HAIL THE KING BABAY!

    Mr Campbell, you should run for president and that's that.

    Man oh man this book is lovely, simply LOVELY!

    Highly recommended for anyone looking to read an awesome autobiography.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Bruce Campbell for president

    This book is great. I've read it from cover to cover and have decieded that this is just another reason why Bruce Campbell should be president.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    very entertaining and easy to read

    I'm a fan of Bruce Campbell as the King of B-movies and knew his work before his current run on 'Burn Notice.' I first saw him on 'Briscoe' and only later saw the incredibly cheesy and funny 'Evil Dead' series. This book is an inside (and possibly romanticized) look at what he and his friends put themselves and their families through to achieve a measure of success in the biz. I don't know if there is a ghost-writer or if BC did all the work himself, but the book is very funny and made me like him more. BC comes across as a guy with whom you could have a beer and enjoy an evening, and not as another insufferable Hollywood arse who sees no meaning in life other than himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Great, great, great.

    Bruce Campbell has really made one hell of a book. I was a big fan of his, and when he came out with 'If Chins Could Kill' I immedietly picked up a copy at Barnes and Noble and brought it home and read it. It's amazing how at the end of the book you feel as if you are Bruce's best friend. The laughs don't stop and it's well, just hilarious and interesting. I think every Bruce fan alive should read it if they haven't already.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    Couldn't stop the laughing.

    The great thing about Bruce Campbell is he loves his work as a B - movie star, and it shows in his writing. He has some absolutely hilarious side bits about his work on all his movies and how he came to be. If you are a fan of his work, or just want something fun to read, look no further than this book right here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    A Winner by a Chin

    This book is just plan fun. I enjoyed it on so many levels. It reminded me of my own childhood.The crazy shenanigans kids get themselves into, and how that effects who we are going into adulthood. The thing I really enjoy about Bruce's style, writing or otherwise, is his honesty. He tells the tale or conveys his message with complete disclosure, blemishes and all. That's pretty rare. Now it may mean that what we hear my mess with how we think something should be; but hey, the man does NOT guild the lily for anybody. This book is funny, sweet, full of Hollywood truisms and secrets, but most of all it gives us a little insight into the man himself. A portrait of the King of B-movie cinema, the good with the bad. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2004

    You gotta love Bruce Campbell...

    In my opinion Bruce Campbell is one of the greatest actors out there. He was great in Xena(which im watching right now: The King of Assassins) and in all his movies. Its intereseting to see what an actor has to get through to get where they are and this book shows it. Everyone should buy this book. Hopefully i could become an actor like Bruce Campbell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2004

    I LOVE Bruce Campbell

    I found this book while browsing through the book shelves at my local Barnes & Noble. I had heard of Bruce Campbell, especially in relation to the Evil Dead movies. I read the back and decided to buy it because it seemed like it would be funny. I was not disappointed. This book was HILARIOUS!!!!! After reading this book, Bruce became one of my new favorite actors. I am an aspiring actress and I was inspired by Bruce and his story of making it in the business. Bruce Campbell is a great actor and he has a good personality. I hope he writes another book one day because he is also a talented writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    Great Book..........couldn't put it down!

    Bruce Campbell has been on of my favorite actors since I was first introduced to Evil Dead. Now what could be better than an Autobiography by the one and only 'King' himself. This book is full of fun and is definitely the most interesting piece of literature I've read in the past year. If you like Campbell or Evil Dead this book is meant for u!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2002

    Great Read, Proving Once Again Bruce Is Still The Man....

    Bruce Campbell his life, his times, his world, Ok Ok, its Bruce Campbell, Ash, Brisco County Jr., The King of thieves, not exactly the hero of mankind, but definitely a great actor, and better than 2/3s of the A-list hacks out there. This book gives us a peek into his life, with Bruce's bit of humor. I highly recommend this read to anyone, Bruce fan or not. Shows Hollywood from the working mans perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2002

    Couldn't be better.

    I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Campbell today at a book signing, and he was every bit as wry and gracious as I thought he'd be. The book is just as funny and entertaining as everything else he does.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2002

    GREAT READ, GREAT HUMOUR, GREAT EVERYTHING!

    This was one quality book, being a big evil dead fan and army of darkness fan i wanted to know more about, the man behind the chin. As I read all I could do was say, I NEED MORE! I RECOMEND THIS TO U ALL please see my site at http://www1.freewebs.com/bopo!/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Fantastic Book

    This book was great, apart from being a huge Evil Dead fan, it's such a great way to see how these films were actually made on such a tight budget, and to get inside the mind Bruce Campbell.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2002

    One of the funniest books ever!

    besides the fact that I loved Brisco County Junior this is a really great book. Lot's of humor and wit and worth the investment for anyone with a love of movies and a sence of humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2002

    A must for every film student

    Any person interested in the film business should read this book. It is by far the best book written on the film and television industry. I simply loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2002

    Bruce Campbell vs. Army of Darkness

    'This book is awsome even if you don't know or like Bruce Campbell you will like this book'.'It's chock full of whit and humor, and a real look at life in Hollywood.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2002

    I was truly impressed by this book

    I have always liked Bruce Campbell¿s on screen work, but this book goes beyond his well known campy movies. This book is funny and chock full of real world story¿s of the ¿hard work¿ it takes to even live in Hollywood. After reading this enjoyable book, I was left thinking about all the stuff this guy has been through to be a ¿B¿ movie actor. The only bad thing about the book is while reading it someone may ask you what you are reading; you reply an autobiography on Bruce Campbell. The person will think very slowly and say Who? Then you start explaining all the things this guy has done and eventually they snap their fingers and say ¿Ya I think I might know who that is¿. My advice is read the book ¿ it¿s good even if you the name Bruce Campbell doesn¿t ring a bell right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3