BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

If Grace Is True: Why God Will Save Every Person

Average Rating 3.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Life changing and extremely inspirational.

I always considered meself to be a very strong Christian, and yet I found my eyes opened to a totally new perspective of God's love in this book. It is not a "utilitinarianism" view of all people being saved, but that the grace of God will be strong enough to bring eac...
I always considered meself to be a very strong Christian, and yet I found my eyes opened to a totally new perspective of God's love in this book. It is not a "utilitinarianism" view of all people being saved, but that the grace of God will be strong enough to bring each and every person to repentence and redemption through the grace of Christ.

I can not say enough good things about this book, and I've recommended it to everyone I know. It shows OUR need to be the ones who save ourselves choosing to accept God's grace. Those who don't accept His grace are damned. People have the need to be in control of their destinies, and need "justice" (or more correctly termed vengence) for those who act wrongfully. We just don't want to surrender to the fact that God's love for us is absolutely independent of our feelings and actions. Even if we hate Him, He loves us. He loves us and wants us saved. He has the desire and the power to do this. When we leave this life, He shows us His grace and love. This is so powerful that it will bring everyone to redeption. Those who lived a sinful life will realize the errors of their ways and be truly repentent. Of course, this would be quite painful and guilt ridden for them. It doesn't meant that "anything goes" and we can have a "get out of hell free" card. When we chose to live our lives on this earth separated from God's will, we are never happy. We are refusing the peace and joy that His grace gives. Our eternal life starts now. Don't you want to enjoy the unconditional love, joy, and peace that He offers us? In these trying times, we so often need Him to carry us through the sands of our hard lives.

Sorry this is so long, but it is truly a life changing book. It doesn't replace the Bible in ANY means what so ever. It bases most of its contents on the Word of God. However, it does give people who know the Word a wonderful view of our beloved Father who wishes to save all his precious children...not just those who agree with us. After all Christ came to heal the sick, not the well...and who amongst us is actually "well" afterall?

Please read this book!
Lisa

posted by Saved-by-Grace on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Of grace and gracelessness

Gulley & Mulholland gutted the tenants of the Christian religion so that it would conform to their doctrine of universal salvation. Obviously their argument is not a logical nor theological one, as it fails miserably to convince on those grounds. ------ One is left w...
Gulley & Mulholland gutted the tenants of the Christian religion so that it would conform to their doctrine of universal salvation. Obviously their argument is not a logical nor theological one, as it fails miserably to convince on those grounds. ------ One is left wondering what is their motivation for embracing a doctrine--universal salvation--that has been deemed heresy for more than 1,500 years? There seems to be two: the rigidity and gracelessness of the modern evangelical/fundamentalist church and a slight misunderstanding as to what God wants to do in comparison to what he will do. ------ I believe God does want every person to be saved; He certainly takes no delight in the condemnation and punishment of the wicked, as is demonstrated in the book of Jonah. However, it¿s one thing to believe in what God wants to happen as opposed to what will happen. The authors, not quite understanding the kindness and the severity of God, have decided that He will save everyone no-matter-what. ------ Gulley and Mulholland think fundamentalist/evangelical Christianity places too many restrictions on salvation. In order to compensate for the perceived stinginess of evangelical Christianity, the authors fell off the other side of the narrow road, and now proclaim that God will¿absolutely--save everyone. In many places throughout their book, the authors point out many places where the evangelical church has too narrow a view of God, the Bible, and Christianity; and as a result there is a Christian clique that is more interested in removing oneself from the world rather than saving it. In a self-revealing passage, the authors state: ¿So many people enter churches persuaded God is lurking in ambush. They come expecting fire and brimstone, and we¿ve been all too willing to heap it on. We¿ve slandered God¿s character too long. I regret the times I manipulated and coerced other with sermons designed to shame and frighten rather than celebrate the love of God. I failed to appreciate the depth of God¿s love.¿ (pg. 68) ------ Certainly churches exists like those the authors were apart of. However, this type of severity is not true of all churches, not even all evangelical churches. I have found several conservative churches that spend far more time preaching on the love and mercy of God then they do on eternal condemnation and the fires of hell, if they preach on those subjects at all! So it is obvious that Gulley and Mulholland are painting a select picture of fundamentalist Christianity using a very broad brush. ------ The authors are correct to state that God¿s love and grace must be the primary teaching of the Christian church; I have no problem with that. But God¿s unconditional love doesn¿t mean that we escape the fires of hell! Explicit throughout the scriptures, from Genesis to Revelation, is the need to take responsibility for your own actions, and God will reward or punish those actions in a fair and balanced way. If anything, God does not punish us nearly as severely as we deserve, yet there is a theme of punishment unto death throughout the Bible, and especially in the parables and teachings of Jesus. There are also times where Jesus explicitly states that punishment is eternal; but it is made clear that the ultimate decision concerning one¿s eternal destination is made by ourselves, not God! Through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, God has opened the door of eternal salvation, but we are constantly reminded that we must decide to walk through that door. ------ So while I do not agree with the author¿s solution to the problem of gracelessness in some churches, I do agree with their criticisms. It is my belief every church should extend as much love and grace as possible, and then even go beyond that! Churches more interested in your sins than your salvation only create pride and triumphalism, along with false expectations no one can rightly live up to. ------ God¿s unconditional love

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Life changing and extremely inspirational.

    I always considered meself to be a very strong Christian, and yet I found my eyes opened to a totally new perspective of God's love in this book. It is not a "utilitinarianism" view of all people being saved, but that the grace of God will be strong enough to bring each and every person to repentence and redemption through the grace of Christ.

    I can not say enough good things about this book, and I've recommended it to everyone I know. It shows OUR need to be the ones who save ourselves choosing to accept God's grace. Those who don't accept His grace are damned. People have the need to be in control of their destinies, and need "justice" (or more correctly termed vengence) for those who act wrongfully. We just don't want to surrender to the fact that God's love for us is absolutely independent of our feelings and actions. Even if we hate Him, He loves us. He loves us and wants us saved. He has the desire and the power to do this. When we leave this life, He shows us His grace and love. This is so powerful that it will bring everyone to redeption. Those who lived a sinful life will realize the errors of their ways and be truly repentent. Of course, this would be quite painful and guilt ridden for them. It doesn't meant that "anything goes" and we can have a "get out of hell free" card. When we chose to live our lives on this earth separated from God's will, we are never happy. We are refusing the peace and joy that His grace gives. Our eternal life starts now. Don't you want to enjoy the unconditional love, joy, and peace that He offers us? In these trying times, we so often need Him to carry us through the sands of our hard lives.

    Sorry this is so long, but it is truly a life changing book. It doesn't replace the Bible in ANY means what so ever. It bases most of its contents on the Word of God. However, it does give people who know the Word a wonderful view of our beloved Father who wishes to save all his precious children...not just those who agree with us. After all Christ came to heal the sick, not the well...and who amongst us is actually "well" afterall?

    Please read this book!
    Lisa

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    Some people review a book they haven't read -- NOT ME!!

    By reading the previous reviews posted, it is apparent that some people are smearing a book and are sinning (gossiping and lying) by saying things about something of which they know nothing. Someone said 'just because it is fun to be a materialistic, God won't let us off the hook'. Whoa -- obviously from someone who did not read this book! Another reviewer said, 'Repentence, mercy, faith, (and a whole lot of grace) precede judgement.... which is not in this book'. Again, the total opposite of what the writers said in this book (and which would have been apparent IF the writer of the review had read the book). This book stimulated my thoughts and made me really rethink what I believe, and why I believe what I believe. That seems healthy and right. These are ideas folks -- and ideas should not be threatening. How sad for the one review that said 'Christians should NOT read this book'. So much for loving the Lord your God with your mind. For discriminating, intelligent Christian readers.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Of grace and gracelessness

    Gulley & Mulholland gutted the tenants of the Christian religion so that it would conform to their doctrine of universal salvation. Obviously their argument is not a logical nor theological one, as it fails miserably to convince on those grounds. ------ One is left wondering what is their motivation for embracing a doctrine--universal salvation--that has been deemed heresy for more than 1,500 years? There seems to be two: the rigidity and gracelessness of the modern evangelical/fundamentalist church and a slight misunderstanding as to what God wants to do in comparison to what he will do. ------ I believe God does want every person to be saved; He certainly takes no delight in the condemnation and punishment of the wicked, as is demonstrated in the book of Jonah. However, it¿s one thing to believe in what God wants to happen as opposed to what will happen. The authors, not quite understanding the kindness and the severity of God, have decided that He will save everyone no-matter-what. ------ Gulley and Mulholland think fundamentalist/evangelical Christianity places too many restrictions on salvation. In order to compensate for the perceived stinginess of evangelical Christianity, the authors fell off the other side of the narrow road, and now proclaim that God will¿absolutely--save everyone. In many places throughout their book, the authors point out many places where the evangelical church has too narrow a view of God, the Bible, and Christianity; and as a result there is a Christian clique that is more interested in removing oneself from the world rather than saving it. In a self-revealing passage, the authors state: ¿So many people enter churches persuaded God is lurking in ambush. They come expecting fire and brimstone, and we¿ve been all too willing to heap it on. We¿ve slandered God¿s character too long. I regret the times I manipulated and coerced other with sermons designed to shame and frighten rather than celebrate the love of God. I failed to appreciate the depth of God¿s love.¿ (pg. 68) ------ Certainly churches exists like those the authors were apart of. However, this type of severity is not true of all churches, not even all evangelical churches. I have found several conservative churches that spend far more time preaching on the love and mercy of God then they do on eternal condemnation and the fires of hell, if they preach on those subjects at all! So it is obvious that Gulley and Mulholland are painting a select picture of fundamentalist Christianity using a very broad brush. ------ The authors are correct to state that God¿s love and grace must be the primary teaching of the Christian church; I have no problem with that. But God¿s unconditional love doesn¿t mean that we escape the fires of hell! Explicit throughout the scriptures, from Genesis to Revelation, is the need to take responsibility for your own actions, and God will reward or punish those actions in a fair and balanced way. If anything, God does not punish us nearly as severely as we deserve, yet there is a theme of punishment unto death throughout the Bible, and especially in the parables and teachings of Jesus. There are also times where Jesus explicitly states that punishment is eternal; but it is made clear that the ultimate decision concerning one¿s eternal destination is made by ourselves, not God! Through the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ, God has opened the door of eternal salvation, but we are constantly reminded that we must decide to walk through that door. ------ So while I do not agree with the author¿s solution to the problem of gracelessness in some churches, I do agree with their criticisms. It is my belief every church should extend as much love and grace as possible, and then even go beyond that! Churches more interested in your sins than your salvation only create pride and triumphalism, along with false expectations no one can rightly live up to. ------ God¿s unconditional love

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2003

    Finally, a book that was worth the wait!

    This book has been anticipated by many in our area since the local paper ran an article on the collaboration of these authors on this subject almost two years ago. It was worth the wait. This book has done what good books are supposed to do by getting people reading and discussing subjects that challenge conventional beliefs and make them think in new ways. The authors' style of writing was easy for laity to understand and their personal stories made it a very human book. They cited sources in the appendices to enable further research for the reader on universalism. I encourage all seekers to read this book for an accessible explanation on an interesting subject that will possibly shake up what they've believed for years; and please, don't condemn it without reading it first.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2007

    Only God Knows for Sure

    I've been reading through all of the reviews, both negative and positive. I found this book refreshing. The Bible is the Word of God written down by men. Humans are fallible. Men (and Women) are human. Therefore, men are fallible. Jesus came not only to die for our sins, but to wake up a world steeped in the 'hell and brimstone' of a vengeful God as depicted in the Old Testament, to relate the ultimate message they missed the first time around --God is Love. As our Father, it makes sense that God would punish us for our sins, but also, that He would love us all unconditionally, and He would opt for having ALL of his children sitting at His table. As our Father He would want to demonstrate the way forgiveness is really given -- without restriction. In the end, none of us truly knows how God will be towards anyone. That is what makes faith in God a 'leap,' and why we will always err in our interpretations of the Bible, therefore, it makes more sense to err on the side of a belief in a loving God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2006

    unfathomable love

    This book has helped to open my heart and soul to a new understanding of life and to the simple yet overpowering/transforming love of the creator for its creation. I was raised in a conservative, all unsaved will burn in hell forever, local congregation but my own path and experience of the divine speak to something much different. This book has helped to open my eyes and ears to the revolutionary good news of Jesus of Nazareth and the impact that this can have in our hearts and lives as we share this boundless grace of the creators eternal drawing love with and to all we encounter. I hope to be able to share this book with as many as I can in all humility and encourage others to do the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    Amen (before page 124)

    I think it is unfortunate that this book has been so harshly reviewed, but to each his/her own. I too have come to believe in the salvation of ALL of God's creation with two very large difference. While I have no problem questioning the inerancy of scripture, I do believe that there are a multitude of themes that are guided by the Holy Spirit. Primarily, the overarching theme of redemption through history. We begin in Genesis with the garden, move through the Old Testament with a continual narrowing of the Covenents between God and Man, then arrive at Christ who throws open the doors of Salvation to Jew and Gentile. Additionally, through the New Testament, we see a move by man from a select few [the tribes of Judah], to all of the known world. Additionally, the culmination of this move is demonstrated in Revelation where we have moved from a 'garden' setting with Adam and Eve, to the 'city of God' whose dimensions as described in Revelation encompass all of the known world. What a beautiful and compelling narrative. God has appropriated and redeemed the world we have created. Secondly, the authors while skating dangerously close to the edge of orthodoxy prior to page 124 largely reflect an orthodox view of salvation [See early church fathers particularly St. Gregory of Nyssa]. Ultimately, they fall into heresy when they reject the divinity of Christ, and the necessity of atonement. By heresy, I do not believe that they are anathema, or damned or incapable of entering Heaven, I do believe that they have lost sight of the narrative of God. I believe that this loss of narrative was born of a desire to emphasize the need for Western Christianity to reclaim the roots of it's faith. Evangelical, Protestant and Catholic faiths have become beholden to the Latin view of theology that focuses almost exclusively on Soteriology and Atonement. Whereas most [though certainly no all] of those early church fathers that both east and west churches claim along with the 7 ecumenical councils, strive for a relational understanding of faith that is maximilized through Christ. Though I regret their straying from what I consider an orthodox understanding of universal salvation, I have no doubt that I will be at the banquet table of the Lord with them and all of you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    God's love is for all

    If you have ever worried about about a friend who is not a christian then this is a book for you. I know it says that even Hitler and Stalin will go to Heaven, but just think of God not just as a 'god' but as a father and as such a father would not kill his children no matter how misbehaving they were. I recommend this book for anyone who has a curiousity about God.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2004

    An enjoyable introduction to Universalism

    I read this book from the beginning to the end I found it so enjoyable. The thing that struck me most about the book was the authors' genuine love for all humanity, for all human beings. It is from this perspective that they interpret their religious scriptures and with which they view God. They talk about the process of giving up their judgemental views about people, and learning to see everyone through the eyes of compassion. They ask themselves some tough questions. Does the idea of God as a loving father fit with the idea that most of humanity deserves eternal punishment? Is the desire to see punishment in the afterlife for our enemies and forgiveness for ourselves a selfish motive? One analogy I liked is one in which they compare Heaven to a huge banquet table with room for everyone. They believe God wants everyone to be at the table. Any empty seat would be a victory for evil. Their views guide their religion to be an inclusive one rather than an exclusive one. No one is 'Left Behind.' The authors believe that there are Bible verses for and against their position. They are willing to admit that different authors in the Bible presents differing views on God. This is probably too difficult for many to accept. I read this book because I wanted to learn about Universalism. I enjoy studying all religious beliefs, and so that is the background from which I come. I would recommend it to all those who have a curiousity about the concept of Universal Salvation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2003

    amaizingly misleading

    I have been a christian for nine years now, I thank God for all those who with love, patience, and gifted true applicable teachings guided me to a relationship with God and to understand what Jesus did for me on the cross. Today everyone want's a 'make me feel good and quick fix books', let me live my life anyway I want, God want's me to be happy and I'll still go to heaven. Then why did Jesus have to die on the cross for our sins? for your sins?; Do you think he did it just because it was the thing to do? Look it's unpopular to tell people that they have to make choices here and now before they die. If you read the bible (NIV Life Application.)Jesus was pretty clear on that one, he never said if you don't make the choice now don't worry.. you'll have another chance 'in purgatory'; just try to find that word purgatory in the bible, it does not exit. Find out the truth of Gods great gifts he gave us free will, Jesus and grace, it's ours if we want it. But we do have to make that choice ourselves in this one and only life, like it or not. It's terrible to mislead seekers otherwise. And teachers will be held to a higher standard. That's is in the Bible!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2003

    A bunch of bull

    I do not agree with anything these men say. If you are a Christian then you will NOT read this book. It does not say what I believe. God does not 'save' everyone. If he did, then there would be no need for Jesus to come to the cross. Of course God does want everyone to be with Him in His Kingdom, but everyone has a free choice and some will make the wrong choice.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    Self Proclaimed Theologian

    A writer has an opportunity to inspire and uplift no matter what his point of view. This author totally depresses me. His book does not rise to the level of normal intellectual thought. Phil¿s views come closer to the thought of the early twentieth century not the twenty-first. Christian faith is not a plague it is a place where we can go to measure ourselves up to the best in society to understand and to love our fellow man. The Christ of Christianity has changed many hearts creating a society where I can find comfort. He died for my sins so I live for his love.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    I am the vine, and you are the branches..John.15

    An extrodinary view of the depths and limitless boundaries of the love of God. God gives us shining examples of his love through authors like Phillip Gulley. I treasure every word and when the last page is turned I have to climb down from Heaven to return to ordinary life. This, is perhaps, his most definitive approach to theological study to date. Referenced and researched thouroughly, this work is like a beautifully written melody. It plays like background in your mind refreshing and calming your soul. Please don't miss it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2003

    Provocative and thought provoking read!

    A well written, thoughtful, courageous and comforting book that attempts to answer those nagging questions I've always had about religion. Why do Christians believe that God would send Gandhi to hell? Why is it more important to accept Jesus as our savior than live like Jesus? Some books deserve a huge marketing campaign, but end up in a remainder bin because they didn't receive it. I'm afraid this is such a book but I'm thrilled that I found it and read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Is this book denominational?

    I am a lutheran and I am wondering if this book is denominational.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Jrm

    Life changing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2007

    Its truth for our time

    Theology needs the trans-reformation found in this literature. Todays fundamentalism is idolatry of the written Bible God never intended us to worship words and not spirit. This conteracts the misinterpreted and false applications prevalent churches today. It reinforcesthe the Annointed true intent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2005

    credo!

    This book just makes sense to me. Mr. Pullman found the words for my beliefs.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    I'm with the law student

    The book is completely unbiblical. The law student summed it up very, very well. I'm not trying to be rude, but I wonder if the authors even used the bible in their research. How could you look past everything in the Word and come to such a false conclusion? You would have to believe that the Word wasn't inerrant and that God didn't mean what He said. Very dangerous.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    If I can give NEGATIVE stars, this would be there.

    If sin is not so 'serious', or if God could overlook sin, then why did Jesus HAVE to die? This book is theologically unsound and completely distorts the gospel into a false gospel...where God is all-loving and not at all just. Grace is grace because it is given DESPITE sin, but God DID punish the sin in someone else. It completely ignores ALL of scripture -- including the BASIC gospel passage of John 3:16 which says 'whoever BELIEVES in him shall not perish'. So is Jesus Himself a liar? Do you want to believe in a God like that? (or will you turn to the old liberal excuse that the scripture is not necessarily authoritative and/or inerrant??...and if so, tell me what your standard for christianity is...because you can only get SO far from the standard before it is no longer Christianity, but some other man-pleasing/man-created religion). Enough with this False Doctrine 'from below' and back to theology 'from the top'. God is holy. He punished the sin that offends His holiness by pouring out His righteous wrath on His SON. You make a mockery out of the gospel by taking away the seriousness of sin and man's plight apart from faith in Christ. God punished the sin in His SON. If His SON did not get to go free, what makes anyone have the gall to think they will get away scott free? His punishing His SON tells you HOW MUCH he LOVES you. True love ALWAYS has a cost. If you want to believe in a weak, unjust, imperfect God that saves everyone regardless of their sin, then you believe in a God that is really no God at all. (it definitely isnt the God you come to know in the pages of the BIBLE--maybe the authors should try reading it instead of going on their 'feelings' -- b/c God NEVER goes contrary to His Word. Even Jesus' life was a fulfillment of SCRIPTURE, which He himself repeats with His own mouth over and over in the gospels!) This is offensive b/c ultimately, it is 'Slander' on God's very character, holiness and EVEN his mercy. Someone else PAID the price. Grace isn't cheap. In fact, grace is ALWAYS costly. It wasnt free. Dont cheapen grace by this false doctrine. It's not like the rest of us dont have a hard time thinking about our unsaved friends/family. But to make ourselves 'feel better' at the cost of slandering God's character? NO. Go read 'Grace Unknown' by R.C. Sproul or even ANY of Charles Spurgeon's books. (or any of the respected theologians throughout history). This book is a waste of your time.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2