Customer Reviews for

If He's Wild (Wherlocke Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Hartley and Alethea were the books hero and heroine. I love Hannah Howell work. The romance between her characters are believable. Although Hartley does not necessarily believe in her gift (vision), he is willing to use the information from it anyway. I like that they g...
Hartley and Alethea were the books hero and heroine. I love Hannah Howell work. The romance between her characters are believable. Although Hartley does not necessarily believe in her gift (vision), he is willing to use the information from it anyway. I like that they got married early in the book and the story progressed from there. This story will keep your interest throughout!

posted by femalereader1 on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very Slow, very boring

Peppered with some decent parts but the rest of it was just so slow, I finished it only because I bought it, if this was a borrowed book or a library book I would have given it back instantly. The story was more about this long drawn out story about a woman selling gove...
Peppered with some decent parts but the rest of it was just so slow, I finished it only because I bought it, if this was a borrowed book or a library book I would have given it back instantly. The story was more about this long drawn out story about a woman selling government secrets and killing people, but even THAT was boring as heck. The love story was sorta, yea yea they are together, kiss, have sex, over. It was boring. Honestly, skip it.

posted by xtina72 on June 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    Very Slow, very boring

    Peppered with some decent parts but the rest of it was just so slow, I finished it only because I bought it, if this was a borrowed book or a library book I would have given it back instantly. The story was more about this long drawn out story about a woman selling government secrets and killing people, but even THAT was boring as heck. The love story was sorta, yea yea they are together, kiss, have sex, over. It was boring. Honestly, skip it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Hartley and Alethea were the books hero and heroine. I love Hannah Howell work. The romance between her characters are believable. Although Hartley does not necessarily believe in her gift (vision), he is willing to use the information from it anyway. I like that they got married early in the book and the story progressed from there. This story will keep your interest throughout!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Terrific! Great suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Love this book

    Cant wait for more wherelocke and vaughn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    Recommend

    Good storyline, some humorous situations as only Hannah Howell can write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Loved but the man was an complete ass!

    It was an excellent read but not a good romance to have...some of the things that went on between the teo was really mean!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Enthusiastic Two Thumbs Up

    A widow and a rake are brought together by a horrifying premonition that takes them both on a journey into peril and adventure and left this reader breathless.

    I don't usually read historical romances. Something has to grab me and reel me in with an intriguing hook and Ms. Howell succeeded with flying colors. It was the paranormal aspect and the thought of taking a man of logic and making him a believer of all things unseen and the reality of love. The story had great suspense and excitement and a lot of interesting characters to flavor the environment. There was tragedy and sadness, hope and horror. The deviousness and viciousness of the villains was perfectly portrayed and the scope of their perfidy is unraveled like a ball of yarn. Each layer discovered moved the plot along and pitted the hero and heroine against was seemed like insurmountable odds. And through it all, the heroine was a peach and I adored her character.

    Lady Alethea, a name I wish I knew how exactly to pronounce, is the heroine with a bit of extra specialness that starts the whole ball rolling. She has a prosaic attitude about whom fate has in store for her future mate. She didn't start off thinking the hero was going to be more than just someone she had to warn about potential harm, but she soon learned differently the first time they looked into each other's eyes. The romance started right then. It was pivotal and I loved how the hero was ensnared right from the get go. Not that they realized it was a budding relationship. That process was fun, you know, that slow stumbling along as things accidentally get revealed and they take on a life of their own. Lady Alethea isn't one to observe life but jumps right in because she feels it's her duty and her obligation - at first. Soon she discovers feelings for the reluctant hero and I enjoyed her deviations into sensual wonderings. The reasons for her doing everything become very personal indeed. Also, there are many humorous moments throughout the story. One of my favorites is when she was caught red handed with a certain kind of book and the resulting scene was quite.let's just say I re-read that scene more than once. It was fun!

    The man who has Alethea's rapt attention is Lord Hartley. I was quite happy with how Ms. Howell had Hartley interact with his peers because it helped bring him more alive and made him more interesting. I loved the byplay between him, Aldus and Gifford, and the way they had each others' backs. Not only that but I like the fact that they were employed in a very exciting profession. Little did they know that it was going to get even more exciting as the story unfolded and I enjoyed every minute of it. Hartley's gradual acceptance of Alethea's gifts was well done and sweet with quite a few moments of humor thrown in. I loved his strength, his vulnerability and his caring personality, once it was free to be expressed. Once he embraced the reality of the changes in his life, it was amazing. I really liked how Ms. Howell had him express his devotion and sincerity towards Alethea and eventually extending it to her whole family and relations. I also giggled over his marriage proposal. The dastardly things done to him in the course of the story truly were effective and dramatic. I appreciated Ms. Howell letting me get into his thoughts during that time of stress. His inner dialogue was so interesting.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hannah Howell never disappoints her fans and this one is no exception

    Alethea Vaughn has seen his face since she was a small girl, but now he's in trouble and she's bound to help save him. Lord Hartley Greville top rake of the Ton and top government agent seems to attract trouble at every turn, and if he doesn't heed Alethea's warning it may just kill him. Headed for calamity and headed for passion that's what these two can look forward to.
    Hannah Howell is one of the best historical romance authors there are contemporarily and she will not disappoint her readers with this novel. It's a story well told with descriptive dialogue and vivid imagery. Filled with colorful characters right out of Dickens or Austin, but also personable and seemingly real. Her hero Hartley and heroine Alethea are very much not your typical aristocratic English lord and lady, for one Alethea boasts of supernatural powers along with most of her eclectic and eccentric relatives. But entertained is how they will keep you as they jet set around the ballrooms and soirees of London trying to find proof to put some pretty vicious criminals behind bars. The supporting characters are equally interesting and we get to catch up on the Vaughns and Wherelocks from previous novels. The romance is sensual but sweet, while the love scenes are visceral yet tender.
    So come reconnect with some of the wildest, most unusual yet personable characters you'll ever meet in Hannah Howell's series starring the Vaughn and Wherelock family that are always up to their eyeballs is trouble and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    fun historical fantasy romance

    Like most of the Wherlocke brood, Lady Alethea Vaughn Channing possesses a special paranormal gift; hers happens to be visions of the future. For fifteen years since she was five years old, Alethea has dreamed of small glimpses of the same man, but recently she has seen him in deep trouble. Alethea vows to try to save him; so she heads to London to get Uncle Iago to assist her.

    Lord Hartley Greville has been the person Alethea has dreamed about. He overhears the niece and uncle talking and takes a chance on them. He introduces himself and tells him what he knows although he is skeptical about the danger he faces which he dreams about. That is until she shows him her drawings. As they fall in love and marry, Hartley seeks a spy. When he vanishes, Alethea and her family search for him because she knows the man she loves is trapped in a life threatening situation.

    The latest Wherlocke If He's . (Sinful and Wicked) is a charmer from the start to the finish due to a strong fully developed cast. Loaded with action and the right touch of the paranormal, fans will enjoy the escapades of the Wherlocke clan led this time by Lady Alethea as they set off to rescue her beloved. This is historical fantasy romance at its fun best.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7