Customer Reviews for

If I Could Ask God Anything: Awesome Bible Answers for Curious Kids

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    If I Could Ask God Anything

    The book consists of answers to 180+ questions broken up into eleven categories: God, Jesus, Holy spirit, The Bible, Christianity, Prayer, The Church, Christian Seasons and Holidays, Being a Christian Here and Now, Being a Christian Forever and Ever and Big Questions. Most of the answers are about one page and in some instances could have been longer. Many of the answers are good with bible verses included and would be useful as a starting point in in discussions with children.

    My eleven year old daughter has been concerned about how God speaks so I suggested we read the section "Can God actually speak to me?". In my opinion the author gave an excellent answer to this question but my daughter raised her eyebrows after reading the answer to "How do I really know Jesus walked on water". I think she found the statement Yes Jesus really did followed by a retelling of the bible story with a verse completely inadequate in answering the question.

    I had some major issues with her treatment of some topics, the biggest of these being her views on heaven and the soul which tended to make me grind my teeth when I came to them and in particular her sloppy use of the bible in relation to this. There are numerous times when she writes about our souls living in heaven with God after we die and uses John 3:16 to illustrate this. John 3:16 only talks about having eternal life. The author makes the very common mistake of reducing our hope in Christ and Jesus triumph over death to the idea that a little bit of us that is eternal will go to live in heaven where Jesus is now, when in fact the resurrection of Jesus points to the time when all creation will be made new, us included. In the bible it says that the current heaven and earth will pass away. Some of the passages in revelation which she uses to talk about heaven actually refer to the new earth and new heaven. It is in this new creation that every tear will be wiped away our hope is not in leaving the physical to inhabit some spiritual realm but in the redemption of the whole creation.

    I also feel that Jesus divinity was not well explained or stressed. The only section that explicitly names Jesus as God is in the question "Who is the trinity?". In the rest of the book it is not mentioned at all and Jesus could almost be considered just a very special human.

    Lastly have a think about what you might say to the question "What's the major difference between Christianity and other religions" I was surprised to see that there was no mention of the fact that in Christianity God stoops down to rescue us and completely bridges the gap as contrasted with other beliefs that centre on how we can try to make our own way to God (or perfection). Also what about the fact the Christianity is based around an event that happened in history, that there is good reasons to believe actually happened.

    I can't recommend this as a resource for answering your kids questions about God, mainly because of the issues above. I believe we need to be very careful in giving a good example to our kids of how to use the bible, and we also need to show them that there are good reasons to believe that Christianity is not a lie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Very helpful!

    I recently read IF I COULD ASK GOD ANYTHING awesome Bible answers for curious kids by Kathryn Slattery. I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. This book is about answering Bible questions most asked by kids. It is separated out into sections like prayer, the Bible, God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. The questions are real questions any new Christian may ask, they are short and to the point. They are answered succinctly enough get the answer going, and are cited by the Bible.

    I feel like this is a good book. It is simple enough for children and parents to read together, but could still be used and understood by teenagers and adults new to their faith or just wanting to find "simple" answers to "simple" questions. Some questions are not all simple of course, but the book isn't afraid to answer more difficult questions as well. I think that this book is helpful and a resource that can be used for many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    Answers for Kids to the Big Questions

    If I Could Ask God Anything is a fabulous book for children! It answers Bible questions even the most curious of kids would think up!

    Kathryn Slattery does an excellent job answering a wide variety of questions in a simple and understandable form.

    Questions include: Why did Jesus have to die? What is Baptism? Can I Know for Sure God Hears My Prayers? etc.

    I absolutely recommend this book for anyone with children looking to understand the Bible and God's truths in more depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    If I could Ask God anything!!!

    If I could Ask God Anything! By: Kathryn Slattery
    ISBN: 978-1-4003-1602-1

    Contents of this book.

    God- Who is God?
    Jesus-What Makes Jesus so Important?
    Holy Spirit-Is the Holy Ghost really a Ghost?
    The Bible- What are the Ten Commandments
    Christianity-What is Faith?
    Prayer-Do I have kneel when I pray?
    The Church-What is Baptism?
    Christian Seasons/Holidays-What is Holy Week?
    Being a Christian Here and Now-What is Tithing?
    Being a Christian Forever and Ever-Is Hell real?
    Big Questions-Why do people hurt other people?

    These are some of the questions in this book. This book has a wealth of information to understand the bible more clearly.

    Our Children ask alot of questions. We don't have answers to all of there questions. That's why we have books like these to help us with answers to there questions. This book brings clarity to some of the questions they have.

    This is how I used this book:

    Every morning I asked a question to our 7 year old son and our 4 year old daughter listens in too. I tried to let him answer before I read him the answer. Most of the time he knew the answer but this book gave him clarity and more understanding what the question was asking.

    My 7 year old was pondering everything I was reading to him and he would then ask me another question from a question.

    This book allowed his heart to examine what we were reading and want to learn more about who God is.

    I would recommend this book for all ages as a child is never to young to learn about Our Mighty God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful Resource for Parents!

    If I Could Ask God Anything: Awesome Bible Answers for Curious Kids by Kathryn Slattery is a really wonderful book and a great resource for parents. In this book, the author supports answers to every question with scripture. The book answers questions about God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit, Church, The Bible, Christianity, Christian Holidays, the Hard Questions, Being a Chrisan here and now and Being a Christian Forever.

    While my own child is too young to ask most of these questions, I know this book will be a handy guide as he grows in his understanding of the Lord. While parents may know the answers to these questions, this book has answers in the language that speaks to kids...not at them. I even learned some things while reading answers about Christian Holidays.

    I would recommend this book to any parent or child looking to have answers regarding the Christian faith and life. Two thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Answering the Hard and Easy Questions!

    I was given the opportunity to review 'If I Could Ask God Anything-Awesome Bible Answers for Curious Kids' by Kathryn Slattery as part of the Thomas Nelson Book Sneeze book club. This is a wonderful book that answers all sorts of questions that children have or may have when it comes to learning about God and the Bible.

    This book is set up wonderfully! All the questions are broken into eleven groups; God, Jesus, Holy Spirit, The Bible, Christianity, Prayer, The Church, Christian Seasons and Holidays, Being a Christian Here and Now, Being a Christian Forever and Ever, and Big Questions.

    Each of the questions asked are explained and always backed with scripture taken directly from the Bible in which is sometime listed or you can look it up yourself as a reference.

    This book can be used for more than when those certain questions come up, but you can take this book and use it as a Bible Study to sit and do along with your own child or perhaps in a Sunday school children's church class!

    I know in the years to come, I'll be using this book in my own home with my children. This book is recommended for children of all ages. I would say whenever your child starts asking the questions, it's time to start looking to this book as I know each child matures in their own time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Great for youth, new Christians

    While I grew up in the church, I didn't necessarily appreciate religion until my mid 20s. That said, I've read a host of books on Christianity and religion while 'catching up' with my spirituality. I ordered this book with the intention of it helping me to better understand some concepts. While it's geared towards children, I thought that since I often pull out a children's Bible for some things, that this book may serve the same purpose. It didn't, but that doesn't mean it isn't a great book.

    I think it's perfect for K-8 and primary school in general - especially Christian schools. It would also be a great resource for Sunday School teachers, home-school co-ops and the likes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    Enjoyed by the Whole Family

    When I received a copy of IF I COULD ASK GOD ANYTHING by Kathryn Slattery from Thomas Nelson, I was expecting it to be more of a child's book. I was afraid it was going to put faithful doubts into the minds of children, but after reading it, I was happy to find it was answers to questions that are more factual. It is presented as a book that answers children's questions but I found it to be more of a reference book. It is also a good book for adults to read to children in order to answer the questions commonly asked. This book of knowledge is written so that anyone of any age can enjoy its contents. Many of the questions, such as "Why do some Christians put fish-shaped symbols on their cars?" were questions I had often wondered myself. Other questions, such as whether or not is okay to pray with a friend over the phone, were geared toward a younger sect. It includes quotes from the bible to back up the answers to the questions. I found the book to be very informative. I had no idea why the word Selah is in the margins of Psalms. I would not have known to where to look up the answer, but this book gives the reader not only the answer to this, but also to many other puzzling bible questions. Although it is a biblical reference source, it is also a page-turner. I found myself getting out my bible to look up the bible citations to read further. So far, my parents have also read it, and found it greatly informational.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    Well put together, do not really see the point

    If I could ask God anything by Kathyn Slattery is a book for parents, Sunday School teachers or anyone else that is around children. The book is designed to be a "go to" resource to equip them to answer questions such as: "What is Faith?" "Why are there so many different churches?" and "Who is the Holy Spirit?" As a parent and Sunday school teacher myself, I can really appreciate such a publication. The answers I found to be biblically accurate and she doesn't lend herself to any particular doctrine. However, I'm not really sure if this book is best served as a book for adults to use to speak to children, especially when we already have the bible as THE best resource to find things out about God and our faith. I think maybe perhaps this book might be good for children to use on their own, in fulfilling their own curiosity when an adult isn't present, which should RARELY be the case. So yes, this is a good sound resource complete with scripture references to back up the answers she gives but in the end I just don't see it's purpose when the answers are given to us in the bible for which we could use to give the answers to our curious little ones. If in the case where I as an adult did not know the answer I think the child would best be served with some time spent with me in the Word learning how to search out answers to our questions. I don't see the need for a "middle man" or If I could ask God anything for that matter.

    This book was provided to me by Tommy Nelson Publishing in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    A Must for Sunday School teachers

    Tommy Nelson, a division of Thomas Nelson Publishers, has recently issued a 2nd edition of Kathryn Slattery's book If I Could Ask God Anything: Awesome Bible Answers for Curious Kids. This children's book is a compilation of questions concerning basic Christian doctrine, practices, and the church year along with accompanying answers. Reading the questions, it is easy to imagine children asking these questions. Slattery provides clear answers addressed directly to children with appropriate reference to scriptures. Frequent insets provide additional information such as how to read the Bible or a more extensive list of scripture references. Some pages include graphics with a continuing theme of God loves you (1 John 3:1).
    This useful resource belongs in every church library and will be a welcome resource for children's ministers and Sunday School teachers. Slattery's clear biblically based answers will prove useful as a springboard for answering questions. This resource is also highly recommended to parents who desire to instill Christian faith in their children. It is designed more as a reference book than a devotional book although it could be used as such. Upper elementary children may find this book useful for personal reading and reference.
    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneezebook review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    If I Could Ask God Anything

    I read this book, hoping to find a little help answering some questions my daughter had about Easter. Not only did I find the answers to those questions, I found so much more. Geared towards children, I think it should be a parent/child thing. The answers to the questions are written in kid friendly language and are backed by scripture. I think looking up those scriptures with your child can be an excellent bonding experience.

    I really enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to anyone with curious children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    If I Could Ask God Anything

    This book is a must have for children and parents alike. When children go their "why" stage this book will be key in getting the correct answers to your child in a manner that they can understand. It will keep you from becoming frustrated in trying to explain God and his will. This is not an easy thing to do and its very important to give the right answer the first time. To sow that seed in your child to aid their faith. I will have a copy for me and for my church's classroom. Kids want to know the ins and outs of everything. Especially what they can't see and touch. This is the perfect resource for that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    If I Could Ask God Anything

    I received this book last week and have been reading bits and pieces over the last few days and I have to say this is a great little book! This book is geared for the myriad of questions that children ask when parents may find the answers hard to explain in terms they will really grasp and understand.

    The book is broken down into sections (God, Jesus, Holy Spirit,The Bible, Christianity, Prayer, The Church, Christian Seasons & Holidays, Being a Christian, and Big Questions), as well as the Contents section which lists each individual question that is covered, for ease of finding the answers you're looking for. There are answers for everything from Who is God? to What did Jesus wear? to Why do people have to die?

    This little book is a great read for all ages. Whether you have children of your own or not, you never know when you might suddenly be inundated with questions from curious kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Evidence That Demands a Verdict (for kids)

    Every parent can relate. Out of the blue, your child asks you a spiritual question.

    "Who is God?"

    Or, "Is it OK to pray for help on a test?"

    Or even, "Why do people have to die?"

    These are three of the 180 questions that Kathryn Slattery tackles in bite-sized, one-page replies intended for "curious kids." This book is a worthwhile read for curious adults as well.

    Separated into 11 logical categories-God, Jesus, Holy Spirit, The Bible, Christianity, Prayer, The Church, Christian Seasons & Holidays, Being a Christian Here & Now, Being a Christian Forever & Ever, and Big Questions-kids and adults alike are reminded that "God loves you" (1 John 3:1).

    It reminded me a bit of a kids' version of Josh McDowell's Evidence That Demands a Verdict. If you or your child is already a skeptic, there's nothing in this book to convince you otherwise.

    But if you approach life from a perspective of faith, then you'll find a great deal of encouragement in the simple answers and extensive Bible quotes.

    Full disclosure: Thomas Nelson provided me with a free review copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    If I Could Ask God Anything- By:Kathryn Slattery

    In the book ,"If I Could Ask God Anything." Mrs. Slattery explained the answers to many questions that children may ask. The book is broken into eleven chapters with several questions in each chapter. Some of the questions are simple questions that young children may ask like, "Does God ever sleep?" or "Is Jesus' last name Christ?" Which is good for Sunday School classes and there are some geared more towards the youth group age, like "Help! What should I do if I think a church service is boring?"and "Is it true that Christians can't have any fun?"I think this is a great book for any Christian parent or sunday school/ youth leader to keep on hand. Some times you can't remember where the answers are, it is nice to have a resource like this with the scripture documented to help you find it in the Bible. It also talks about Baptism and Communion things that new Christians whould find helpful. I really enjoyed this book, and I will be using it with my Sunday school class, the youth group my husband teaches, and our one year old son as he grows up. Thanks so much Booksneeze and Thomas Nelson for providing me with a complimentary copy of this book or advanced reading to review for free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    If i could ask god anything by kathryn slattery

    ok this is a nice Q&A book geared to children. its more for the high age group i think more for 5+ (mainly because younger one ask why alot...lol) but it covers alot of the questions that arise like "who is God?, Jesus?, Holy Spirit?" of course not all of them are theological, ie.."what did Jesus wear?, is Jesus' last name Christ?" , and what i think every kid goes through at least once (maybe even some adults too), "Help! What should I do when I think a church service is boring?"

    i think itll be an interesting read for children and parents alike. it will help parents to explain somethings in a way that kids will understand and parents may not feel so put on the spot. kuddos kathryn , i really enjoyed this book and im sure many others will too.



    (the book "If i could ask god anything" by kathryn slattery was provided by thomas nelson publishing at no cost for a honest review)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2