Customer Reviews for

If I Did It: Confessions of the Killer

Average Rating 3.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

God Bless the Goldmans

This book is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the psychology of a narcissistic psychopath. You just sit back and are amazed at the rationalizations O.J. creates, and how he truly believes what he says...but it's those little verbal slips he makes that are mo...
This book is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the psychology of a narcissistic psychopath. You just sit back and are amazed at the rationalizations O.J. creates, and how he truly believes what he says...but it's those little verbal slips he makes that are most intriguing! I read a lot of true crime, and this book, although deemed a 'hypothetical' confession is right in line with those stories told by ciminals who are happy to brag about what they did. I bought this book because the money went to the Goldmans and to the Ron Goldman Charity. I watched all of the trial. There was never any doubt in my mind that O.J. murdered Nicol and Ron, so I didn't need convincing...but all the evidence is there...straight from the murder's mouth.

posted by Anonymous on July 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

This book was a big disappointment. There are no revelations (he conveniently blacks out during the crime and doesn't remember anything). This book is nothing more than a forum for a wife beater to trash the woman he abused for years and a continuation of his 'poor me' ...
This book was a big disappointment. There are no revelations (he conveniently blacks out during the crime and doesn't remember anything). This book is nothing more than a forum for a wife beater to trash the woman he abused for years and a continuation of his 'poor me' routine. There was nothing in this book.

posted by Anonymous on October 10, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2008

    God Bless the Goldmans

    This book is a fascinating read for anyone interested in the psychology of a narcissistic psychopath. You just sit back and are amazed at the rationalizations O.J. creates, and how he truly believes what he says...but it's those little verbal slips he makes that are most intriguing! I read a lot of true crime, and this book, although deemed a 'hypothetical' confession is right in line with those stories told by ciminals who are happy to brag about what they did. I bought this book because the money went to the Goldmans and to the Ron Goldman Charity. I watched all of the trial. There was never any doubt in my mind that O.J. murdered Nicol and Ron, so I didn't need convincing...but all the evidence is there...straight from the murder's mouth.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    An amazing work of fiction!

    This amazing book is worth every penny! Too bad the actual author is not receiving any credit and the money is being stolen from him. Think about it.. He was already tried for the murder and found not-guilty. If he truly did do it there is no reason why he wouldn't just say so. He cannot be tried again for the crime.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Good book

    This is the best book i have ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    O. J. confession speaks to you!!!

    Aside from the fact that O.J. tries really hard to blame Nicole for everything and destroy her memory as a caring and beautiful person that she probably was... The book is incredible! It is a confession of a killer who can´t take reponsibility for his actions like a man would. The book shows him as a lost soul who uses the blame game, has no compassion nor repentance and only concern is to save himself from ruim. The Goldman's actions to vindicate Ron´s death are Outstanding and must be recongnized here. Congratulations to you for your never ending love and commitment to Ron. I hope my family love me as much as you love Ron.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    I really enjoyed the book

    I checked this book out from my local library.I have to say that I really enjoyed the book.Reading this book actually makes me wonder what his motive could have been and I am definitely on the fence now.It was nice to finally hear his side of the story. I recommend this book if you've ever been interested in OJ's thoughts concerning the murder of his ex-wife.This book may or may not sway your opinion in regards to his guilt or innocence. I could'nt put the book down!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2007

    Typical OJ.... lots of lies with a little truth thrown in

    Whether you're too young to know the details of this case, or you were as appalled by his aquittal as the majority of us were, this book is a must read. For everyone else, I highly recommend it. Hardly a true historical account of the facts, considering the main part of the book comes from OJ himself, it gives one a chilling glimpse into the mind of a 'malignant narcissist' and a cold-blooded killer who feels no remorse and takes no responsibility for his actions. Sections by the Goldman family and the ghostwriter who interviewed OJ are more revealing than the rantings of a man who got away with murder, literally.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Sad

    Its too bad oj blamed everything on nicole, he is such a pathetic lier and I am somewhat at piece knowing he is in prison where he belongs. I would have not bought the book had the proceeds gone to the killer. Gods blessings to the Goldman and Brown families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Purchased Out of respect but will not read

    I bought this book out of respect for Ron, Nicole and their families but this is one book I won't be reading. I applaud the Goldman family for their bravery and committment to the memory of Ron and wanted to contribute to their cause. But I refuse to give that vile, evil killer one moment of my time. He is not worth a second of my time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    I honestly didn't know too much about the OJ Simpson murder, but

    I honestly didn't know too much about the OJ Simpson murder, but after reading this book I became obsessed with it! This is such a good book, not boring at all. Real page turner. Definitely recommend to someone who likes true crime books. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    This book is amazing. I do believe O.J. did commit the murders h

    This book is amazing. I do believe O.J. did commit the murders however I empathize with him. I do believe Nicole was probably banging out Ron Goldman because destructive human beings tend to sleep with everyone in order to feel any sence of worth, warmth and validation. That being said there is no excuse for what O.J. did. I think he just had enough and he snapped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Thunderpath

    Thunderpath on Goldclan territory.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellently Written

    This book will haunt you. Excellent read if you love true crime stories. I not only wonder how OJ lives with the fact that he committed such heinous murders (at some points he seems to actually boast)- but how do those lawyers sleep at night knowing they defended a cold blooded killer? My deepest sympathy and prayers are with the children, as well as the Goldman and Brown families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Reference to an extensive review

    You'll find an extensive review of this book on www.opednews.com if you search for "If I Did It"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2008

    Excellent

    I read this book within two days. It kept me glued from the first page all the way to the last! Great read if you want to curl up on the couch!Don't expect to put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2007

    Awesome

    I total enjoyed this book. I found that the book answered a lot of questions that I had about the case. I believe that everyone that read this book will be total suprise by the outcome. I have shared it with family members and they have enjoyed it just as much and a lot of questions they had have been answered.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Justice for Ron and Nicole

    I bought this book to benefit the Goldman family. I also wanted OJ to see the $$ he is missing out on for writing this piece of trash. Benefit from being a murderer, I don't think so. I have no plans on reading it ever. I don't want to know how OJ killed (oh, Im sorry could have killed) 2 innocent victims and how he is still walking around with his face held high. What a jerk.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    A Must Read

    The killer's 'hypothetical' account of the murders is an extraordinary contribution to the information surrounding the case. Anyone not thinking so probably didn't read the book. It's a 'must read' for everyone interested in the case.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Too Bad He Isn't the Victim

    After reading the book, there is no way O.J. Simpson is not the murderer. With all of the detailed information he provides in how he would have done it solidifies the conclusion everyone in America already knows....he is guilty of the murders of both Nicole Brown and Ron Goldman. It was an injustice at the time and continues to be to this day. It will be nice for the Goldman family to receive the proceeds from the book sales but it will never bring the life of the 2 victims back. Hopefully, O.J. will be sentenced to prison for the rest of his sorry life.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    I couldn't put it down

    I read this book in two sittings. If I wasn't so tired the first night, I would have read it all in one sitting. It is an easy to read, interesting look into the mind of OJ. Also, he called the guy who went with him to Nicole's, 'Charlie.' I find it interesting that a real Charlie was with him that night in Vegas.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Leading American Nove

    Mr. Simpson demonstrates enormous talent as a novelist and deserves a Pulitzer for his deft literary method. He has a special talent as a writer and promising new career. It is shameful that these tragic events may tarnish his craft as a promising new novelist.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2