BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

If I Die (Soul Screamers Series #5)

Average Rating 5
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(130)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    I enjoyed reading this book. Good plot, great characters. you will be entertained for hours.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Can't Wait

    The Soul Screamers series only gets better. This next one will definately be beyond amazingly awesome, I just know it. Especially with an ending like the one My Soul To Steal had, this book is going to be the best ever. Rachel is the best author and all of her books are great, so why would this be an exception?

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting twisting (perhaps too many spins) thriller

    Following the sudden death of math teacher Mr. Wesner, Eastlake hires Mr. Beck to replace him. He is gorgeous and even his handwriting on the board is gorgeous. All the girls are attracted to the hunk with many coming to school early and staying late just to see him. The only two females not attracted to Mr. Beck are rivals for the heart of Nash the banshee, Kaylee the banshee screamer of death and Sabine the Mara bringer of nightmares.

    They realize why Mr. Beck is the fantasy of their female classmates; as he is an incubus whose sustenance is absorbing the desires of humans. Kaylee and Mara believe that if Mr. Beck learns they know his secret, he will come after them. As her current life span draws closer to her final soul scream for herself, Kaylee teams up with her adversary Mara to rescue the females of Eastlake from the handsomest male at school. However, the incubus is more diabolical than Kaylee imagined as he forces her to do his bidding even if it means harming her relationship with Nash to save her friends' souls.

    The latest Soul Screamers urban teen fantasy (see My Soul to Keep and My Soul to Save) is an entertaining entry as Kaylee struggles to balance her teen life at school and at home with saving the lives of her schoolmates from the clever incubus. Young adult readers will enjoy Kaylee's exploits as she ponders not If I Die but when I die soon in an exciting twisting (perhaps too many spins) thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    OMG

    cant wait until it comes out!!! omg the wait is endless!!! ooo i hope kaylee ends up with Tod!!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    MUST READ!!!!!!!

    Rachel Vincent is an awesome writer and the soul screamers series is just amazing! I love all of her books and i cant wait to read this one! This is a must read series!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Best

    Best book in the world. Team Tod forever!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    Absolutely loved this book! I was hooked on this series since bo

    Absolutely loved this book! I was hooked on this series since book one. If you enjoy paranormal romance you will love this book. I couldn't put the book down. I also recommended this book to three different people and they all three loved it. Can't wait until "Before I Wake" comes out, I'm literally counting the days down! : P

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    There isnt another one

    Sorry to say people but that was the last book in the series i liked the ending and found it amusing. It didnt really tell you what happend to the minor characters but it had an overall good ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Love this book!!

    I was so surprized, I couldn't stop reading! Love the ending and I cannot wait untill the next book comes out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Awesome!

    Loved it! Kept me guessing until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    OMG

    Ok out of all the Soul Screamersbooks this had to be THE BEST ONE !!!! I love thos whole plot and characters! This is one of my fave series! I cant wait u til the next one comes out !!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    BookWhisperer Reviews If I Die

    Just when we thought things we looking up for Kaylee Cavanaugh If I Die will crush all of the previous assumptions. Rachel Vincent is an incredibly talented author with several incredible series under her belt. While I find it hard to rate my favorite ; the Soul Screamers puts up one good fight for the running. This latest addition takes everything readers have come to love about the series, and turn it topsy turvy. From the start it is obvious that this was not just going to be an easy addition to the well loved story. As the story progresses Vincent will build the twists and turns until readers find a whole new story, and momentum for the story to continue to strong. I love to write reviews that allow readers some description of the story, but this novel was so action packed that to do so would mean spoiling some of the story. That is just something I can not in good conscious do so I apologize for not for reviewing in part of the direct story, but this is one you just to experience for yourself. Soul Screamers is a BookWhisperer Recommended series, as is every other wonderful series that Rachel Vincent has created. She is a wonderful storyteller that will have you addicted from the start.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Best book i have ever read!!!

    I stayed up to 3 in the morning to read this book!!! Its soooo good :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    the series was awesome. i am hoping this was not the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best soul screamers book so far!

    Wow!!!! This book literally took me on the biggest emotional rollercoaster! This book is the definition of emotional thrill ride. I felt every emotion at some point in this story, many of them one after another on the same page. I am still trying to get myself together after reading it. As the overview tells you, Kaylee finds out her life-line is about to run out. She has less than a week before she will die, and being Kaylee she needs to save people. Her best friend Emma is at risk of being the next victim to her Incubus teacher and Kaylee wants to make sure that her, and any other potential victims are safe before she dies. Kaylee is already living on borrowed time and knows that this is it, there is no way around it. This is her last chance to protect the people she cares about. She wants to make her last days mean something. Sabine and Kaylee come to a sort of truce to try to work together and find a way to get rid of the Incubus, which is very entertaining. I love Sabine's character, so more of her is always a good thing to me. She is so fierce, and brutally honest and the dialogue between her and Kaylee is always fun to read. As always, Tod is there to help Kaylee when she needs it, and Nash gets jealous about her spending time with him. Tod is the one best suited to help Kaylee with certain things since he has some pretty cool skills being a reaper and all, so we get more of him. (which in my opinion is always a good thing *sigh*) There are so many twists and turns in this book and it was so hard to put down. This book will make you laugh, cry, smile, and probably stay up all night reading until you finish. You need to read this. (and if you haven't read the first four yet, what are you waiting for?) This is the best Soul Screamers book yet! This series gets so much better with each book, and I am dying to know what comes next in Before I Wake.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best One Yet!

    In the acknowledgments, Rachel states that she always says "this is her best one yet!" but with this one... She is 826% correct! IF I DIE was outstanding, it truly was the best one yet. If I Die had everything you could have ever asked for: romance, anger, death, heartbreak, struggles, laughs, triumphs, fights, and super smexy times! I could have not asked for a better fifth book. I am anxiously waiting for BEFORE I WAKE because I absolutely need more an cannot wait to see what happens next. A billion stars out of 5. TOD FOREVER!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    5/5 stars

    5/5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Every Soul Screamer book gets better and better. Can't wait for

    Every Soul Screamer book gets better and better. Can't wait for the last one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    This series is addictive. 

    This series is addictive. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holy¿. swiss cheese. That was¿. indescribable. Wow. I don't kno

    Holy…. swiss cheese. That was…. indescribable. Wow. I don't know what it is about this book that makes me want to laugh and cry and do a little dance in pure joy of the moment all at the same time. So much wonderful all crammed into so few pages that are never enough; it's just not fair. There's a lust demon posing as her math teacher (if that's not proof enough that math's evil, then I don't know what is), her boyfriend's falling off the wagon again, and oh wait, there's more: she's dying! But that's not all!

    There's Tod. Oh my Tod. Sweet, sweet Tod. You've always been there for Kaylee when she needs you, and now you're finally making your big debut. I don't know what there is that I can possible say about you that won't ruin the story for anyone more than I already have, but I must mention that you were completely right all along. Apricot jam really is where it's at.

    But back to the most pressing matter at hand: Kaylee's death. It's not really surprising that she tries to set the world to rights before she's gone, it's what she does. She puts the weight of the world upon her shoulders and never tries to shrug the burden off onto another because she thinks it's her job. As heroines go, she's not going to be donning a cape and taking the comic book world by storm anytime soon, but she doesn't have to have super strength or shoot laser beams out of her eyes to be a superhero. Kaylee has something that kryptonite could never give her: a heart. Cheesy as that may sound, she is a purely good person. While that may have come back to bite her in the butt, Kaylee is undeniably one of those few characters that readers are always proud to watch grow because they know that she will never disappoint.

    Sabine, surprisingly, has gained a bit of my respect in this book as well. While some may argue that's it's only Kaylee's impending demise that's shining a light upon her soul, I disagree. Sabine's really not that bad of a person. Sure her "passion" may be described as "ruthless," but when has she ever done anything to really hurt someone just for the fun of it? That's true evil, and that's not her. In this book, we see how an abandoned little girl was left for dead because of something she couldn't control, and how she is terrified of becoming the monster that so many people believe her to be. While no one will ever mistake her for a loveable teddy bear, she does care for those few that believe in her, and considering everything she's ever been through, I'd say she didn't turn out so badly.

    That is, except for her choice in males. Oh Nash, how I despise you. You have really gone downhill lately and your ways of dealing with unfortunate situations certainly leave something to be desired. I'm afraid the world is not plotting against you, and dare I say it, you might be partially responsible for some of what's been going down. It need not be said that you don't exactly exude grace under pressure, but really man, words hurt. Just because you're having a bad day, doesn't mean that you can take the rest of the world down with you. Show some class.

    Luckily, the most renowned Rachel Vincent has weaved enough amazing-ness into this book to cover up his frequent social blunders. This book really is the "BEST ONE YET!", and I thank her from the bottom of my heart for it. It's impossible to try to put this book into words worthy enough to describe it, but I can think of at least one that fits:

    Awesome.

    Taylor

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 130 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7