Customer Reviews for

If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince?

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

When reading this book, it almost seems that Lucy, the main character, is living a life exactly the same as Cinderella¿s. There are so many things that they have in common, you would think they are the same person. Some things that are similar with them, are their mothe...
When reading this book, it almost seems that Lucy, the main character, is living a life exactly the same as Cinderella¿s. There are so many things that they have in common, you would think they are the same person. Some things that are similar with them, are their mothers are both dead, they both have two evil stepsisters, an evil stepmother, they are both friendless, and in addition, they are both looking for their one true love their prince. When Lucy moved down to New York, because her father had found a new wife, Mara, she was a perfect replica of Cinderella. She started hating her life her father was never home because he was finishing his work all the way in San Francisco, which left her alone with her new family. Along with Mara, came her two twin daughters. They are snotty, bratty, and always nagging on Lucy. Everything she did, wore, and said, seemed to be wrong. She is stranded in Glen Lake High, where she doesn¿t seem to ever get noticed. The only thing she has going for her, is art and basketball. Her life changes drastically one day, when the two most popular girls in school, Jessica and Madison, sit down at her lunch table. Along with them, came their handsome boyfriends, Matt and Dave. Their friend, Connor Pearson, who was also the star of the basketball team, joined them. Lucy had been crushing on him, ever since she moved to New York, and now, he was only feet away from her. He had never noticed her, so she didn¿t think this time would be any different. To her surprise, it was something, which changed the whole book, and made her happy to have done what she did. I recommend this book to teenage girls. They also need to be interested in drama, and true, life-like issues. I enjoyed this book, and I would definitely say anyone who liked these kinds of books, would definitely find it a favorite.

posted by Anonymous on November 27, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Easy Read

I didn't realize that this book was based on high school. Being out of high school for over 10 years it brought me back to those days. It was an easy read and I read it in a day. Good story line. Good book if you want to remember what high school was like in a sense and...
I didn't realize that this book was based on high school. Being out of high school for over 10 years it brought me back to those days. It was an easy read and I read it in a day. Good story line. Good book if you want to remember what high school was like in a sense and how it's not easy to be a teenager. Not overally dramatic.

posted by DP925 on April 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2008

    AWESOME BOOK!

    If i have a wicked stepmother, then wheres my prince? was an amazing book. i read it when i was at the beach in like 2 hours!!! Lucy is just like any other high school student and anyone could relate. The ending was positivly amazing also! You should deffinatly buy it! :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    A reviewer

    When reading this book, it almost seems that Lucy, the main character, is living a life exactly the same as Cinderella¿s. There are so many things that they have in common, you would think they are the same person. Some things that are similar with them, are their mothers are both dead, they both have two evil stepsisters, an evil stepmother, they are both friendless, and in addition, they are both looking for their one true love their prince. When Lucy moved down to New York, because her father had found a new wife, Mara, she was a perfect replica of Cinderella. She started hating her life her father was never home because he was finishing his work all the way in San Francisco, which left her alone with her new family. Along with Mara, came her two twin daughters. They are snotty, bratty, and always nagging on Lucy. Everything she did, wore, and said, seemed to be wrong. She is stranded in Glen Lake High, where she doesn¿t seem to ever get noticed. The only thing she has going for her, is art and basketball. Her life changes drastically one day, when the two most popular girls in school, Jessica and Madison, sit down at her lunch table. Along with them, came their handsome boyfriends, Matt and Dave. Their friend, Connor Pearson, who was also the star of the basketball team, joined them. Lucy had been crushing on him, ever since she moved to New York, and now, he was only feet away from her. He had never noticed her, so she didn¿t think this time would be any different. To her surprise, it was something, which changed the whole book, and made her happy to have done what she did. I recommend this book to teenage girls. They also need to be interested in drama, and true, life-like issues. I enjoyed this book, and I would definitely say anyone who liked these kinds of books, would definitely find it a favorite.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Prince Charming or the Frog Prince?

    Poor Lucy! She lost her mother at a very young age and now, as a freshmen in high school, her father has remarried. The thing is, though, he couldn't marry a woman who lived in the same city or even the same side of the United States! No! He chose to marry a woman with twin divas who lives on the opposite side of the country!!! THEN - after they move he only comes "home" on the weekends, leaving her with the new wife and stepsisters all week long. Ugh! And the kicker? She may as well be invisible since no one at home, let alone school seems to know that she even exists.

    Ugh, what a miserable existence, until..... Connor Pearson.... Oh, yes, you heard right! Connor Pearson, only the most popular guy (SENIOR!) in school noticed her. Okay, so it wasn't HER so much as her knowledge and opinion in basketball that he noticed. But from that minute on, at least her school life came, well, to life! Suddenly everyone wanted to be her friend and Connor? Well, he's now her BOYFRIEND (squee).

    Hmmm... if everything is going so great with one of her lives, what does that mean? Does that mean that her glass slipper is about to fall? And when it does, which life will it fall from and who will take notice?

    If I Have a Wicked Stepmother, Where's My Prince? was an overall cute read.

    What I liked:
    The title is what caught my attention - great humor and spunk in the title.
    I loved how Lucy was always drawing similarities between her life and Cinderella's.
    I liked the artistic side of Lucy and how she also applied it to Basketball and her relationship with her dad.
    I have a soft spot for nerdy guys, so Sam was right up my alley.

    What I didn't like:
    How shallow and one dimensional the secondary characters were. I imagine this was by design since that's basically how they treated and interacted with Lucy - but I don't remember Connor ever referring to Lucy by name?
    As the book progressed, it seemed as though Lucy's character regressed into a more childish character: more tantrums, more spoiled behavior, etc.
    The ending was very quick to happen - realization, confrontation, and tie it up in a pretty (Happily Ever After) bow.

    All in all, as I said before, a cute read. Thank you, Ms. Kantor!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute Remake

    This was a very cute retelling of the Cinderella story with a few twists thrown in. This time we have Lucy Norton as the poor soul who has to deal with a stepmother and two terrible step sisters, and try to deal with her own school issues at the same time. Lucy is different than other girls in this role in that she is somewhat insecure to start, but gets very bold by the time the story ends. I have to say i cringed when I heard her dialog sometimes because its very snarky and at times whiny. I think that is more to drive the point that her situation is not perfect and could really do for some adjustment. But the only way change can be made is for those others to change it themselves. Thankfully, there is the happy ending for all and even with all the bad that happens, Lucy and her family, both old and new, get to share in that happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    Easy Read

    I didn't realize that this book was based on high school. Being out of high school for over 10 years it brought me back to those days. It was an easy read and I read it in a day. Good story line. Good book if you want to remember what high school was like in a sense and how it's not easy to be a teenager. Not overally dramatic.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book is amazing

    OK i just literally finished reading this book and im mad cuz it just leaves you hanging but i am so like lucy in every way!!! Conner is just like a player dated and now im with a guy like sam! when i first read about Conner i could tell that he was gunna end up just hurting her! and then when sam came into the picture i just sat there thinking to myself that she should dump the player and go out with the prince charming When i was reading about when her dad gave her the painting that her mom did and all about her mother i was latterly in tears!!! i swear i read this book in like 3 days!!! i had to pry myself away from it!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    Awesome!!

    i loved this book it is so kool i read it because my friend introduced it to me and it was kool!! Loved the character nice story!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    Wow..... the ending was LAME!!!!!

    This book was a good book but i was reading and expected somethin good 2 hppen in the end but no i am a 16 year old girl and thught i could relate to this book but i got 2 the end and i was so exided that it was the end but when i finshed the book i was like wow....the end was lame because i felt that melissa rushed the ending she could of had it a little more exididng it was a good book exept for the ending i swear the ending was lame as all hell i was pissed cuz it ended like how it did i hate that melssa rushed the ending but she is a good auther but she ruhes the endings!!!!!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    it was a letdown

    ok, this book was good at the beginin but when you finished the whole book and think it over, it made no sense. Like towards the end of the book, the girl just decides she likes some other boy, and she had been steadily liking conor. and then all of the sudden the other boy sam, decides he likes her too, and its just not realistic. he only knew her for a couple weeks, and she just began to like him. and then the step mom starts being nice,it made no sense, this does not happen in real life, the only reason i read these types of books is because there realistic, but this just made know sense! overall, it was ok.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2013

    Good I thought that this book was a great read but it was a litt

    Good
    I thought that this book was a great read but it was a little weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2012

    Highly Recommended - A must read book!

    In my opinion, this book demonstrated the typical high school scene with a twisted scenario! It showed the value of true love and forgiveness. I read this toward the end of my senior year, and it made the idea of moving on leaving for college, and the value of friendship become so much more realistic. The last page was really moving! I actually cried because it truly moved me. I would highly recommend this book, especially for high school seniors! This book truly makes you think about your relationships with your classmates, and makes you rethink your actions! I loved this book, and would reread it over and over again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    If you hate romances and love adventurous stories this book is d

    If you hate romances and love adventurous stories this book is definately not for you:). This is more like a romady which is a romantic comedy... if your not hip. I like this book it is entertaining for young teen girls, i find it being very relateable to that age group. This story is about a sophmore named Lucy Norton who doesnt neccisarily live the best life while living with her evil stepmom and evil twin step sisters. at school she isnt neccesarily the life of the party until she meets Connor Pearson the senior heart throb. She loves sports and the arts. But to see Lucy's transformation from not hot to burning up read " If I Have a Wicked Step Mother, Wheres My Prince?" to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Wonderfully Epic

    Ms Melissa has really outdone herself. I read this a year ago on awhim and I thught I really wasn't going to get into it but ended up loving evey page. It's a one-in-a-century book with humor, a touch of romance, and a one of a kind ending. So you know, check it out. I know you're going to love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Awful...

    I started this book with not too many hopes, I was just passing the time really. I was enjoying the book up until about the last two chapters. The story switched paces far too abruptly for my taste. It didn't develop the relationships between Lucy and her two 'beaus' well enough. Suddenly she realized that she actually didn't like her boyfriend when in fact one chapter ago she was perturbed that he would be looking at another girl. Then in the last chapter she just goes off with the actual guy she likes. It never concludes anything, I have a pit in my stomach from reading this book. I feel like it is not complete and there should be some finality to the story, the author gave the impression of a conclusion, but nothing concrete. Overall I found this book entirely disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cute!

    Don't try and deny the fact that when something bad happens to us we often do question ourselves about the whereabouts our 'prince'. Much is the case with Lucy. She has a stepmother and two stepsisters. But just because she makes them out to be evil doesn't actually mean that they are and just because you're dating the popular jock he's your 'prince'. Sometimes to find everything you have to look a little harder because everything really is in front of you.

    Altogether is book was a very quick read and i guess for being such a book i found it really shocking that i wanted to find out what was going to take place in the next chapters. Plus i got this feeling when Sam was introduced that he was the one for Lucy. I don't know why but i get that feeling quite a lot when reading books. I find out pretty fast who the main character is going to end up with.

    Content: Clean

    Profanities: none

    Recommended: to all those looking for a light read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Perfect Cinderella in Modern Times!

    I read "...Where's My Prince" and it was absolutley fantastic! Perfect comparison from modern times to cinderella. Our main protagonist,Lucy Norton was completely comfortable with her father, until her remarries. They move form San Francisco to Long Island, displacing her form her comfort zone. To add insult to injury, his new wife is horribly abusive verbally,and her two daughters are spoiled rotten brats. Lucy's fatehr is transfered due to his job, so he is never home, allowing Mara, the stepmother, to make her sleep in the basement and give ehr all the chores of the house. Lucy quickly realizes this is her life now, and grudgingly accepts her fate. She constantly wonders where her Prince Charming is...until he arrives out of the blue!
    Definately worth a double take, Lucy finds herself in this critical point of life. It's a powerful impact on life, and gives an inspiring peek at what teenagers really do go through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I couldn't put it down!!

    What I really liked about this book was that it was different the all the other Cinderella based stories you see now a days. Lucy Norton is an artist who loves basketball, which is a little on the strange side...but in many ways shes a lot like Cinderella. Lucy's mother died, her wicked stepmother ignores her and makes her live in the basement, which irritated me quite a bit...! What really got on my nerves was that her Dad totally ignore her and didn't listen to her shouts for help when she was getting cornered by her overemotional stepmother, Mara, who's feelings get hurt by the smallest things. The twins, what can be said about the twins... Well their snotty, spoiled, totally rude, and did I mention snotty??? Jessica and Madison got on my nerves some of the time...they just seemed so...into themselves it kind of made you sick to your stomach after awhile. Lucy would try and show them a piece of art and they'd be all like 'oh cool, hey guess who broke up with whom!' It was all gossip, shopping, and more gossip for those two. Conner...what can be said about Conner... Well I've got one thing to say about him...actually I've only got two things to say about him. He drank way to much and was way to obssesed about basketball!! I mean when ones relationship is only about talking about basketball, that's a warning singal all on it own, your relationship is doomed from the beginning. But I've got to say what I liked most about the book was that it had a great twist at the end that I loved!! Now I'm not going to tell you what that twist entails, but I'll say that it's a great twist to a great book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    A mUsT rEaD bOoK!

    This book was amazing it wasn't just another "Cinderella story" where the girl ends up with the prince and the stepmother and evil stepsisters get sent somewhere else or die but Lucy ends up with someone very unexpected! The ending was a shock to me I thought she would end up with Prince Charming but WOW what a surprise. I loved this book I could really relate, I have a stepmother that acts like Mara and one stepsister that takes place for the princesses. Although sometimes I make think they are horrible cruel and evil they are actually really nice. And that is what shocked me most about the ending. I really feel bad for Lucy because she has to change her whole life style and move all the way across the country and go to a new high school and meet new friends which is not the easiest thing to do in high school. I loved the book it was nonstop action I never wanted to put it down! It is a must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    LOOOOVEEEDDD IT

    This book is by far... amazing! I highly recommend it to everyone. If your looking at this book, theres no doubt about it in my mind that you will LOVE it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    I Love this book so much!!

    I just read cover of this book, and I decided to buy it because it looked cute... and I LOVE IT!! I read the whole book in one day because I couldn't put it down!!!!!! It's so cute! If you're a teen girl I would totally recommend this. very cute!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 131 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7