Customer Reviews for

If I Ran the Zoo

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    Your children will enjoy this

    I gave this to my 7 year old granddaughter for Christmas with a Beany Baby lion attached to the book and she loved it. Dr. Seuss books are always excellent for children no matter the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dr. Seuss once more ignites childhood ponderings.

    Dr. Seuss once more ignites childhood ponderings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    My son loves this book when we get it from the library and now he has his own copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    Highly Recommended - classic rhyming wonderful Seuss

    All those wonderful strange names, all those amazing illustrations and made-up animals and vehicles... it's terrific, old school Seuss. We bought it as a gift for our 9-year old daughter who loves Seuss; it's challenging and tongue-twisting for reading aloud and completely entertaining!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Imaginative-fun for kids

    The drawings are fascinating and my grandson loves the names. Dr Seuss uses the word "Nerd" in 1950...a man ahead of his time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2010

    A Dr. Seuss classic ... ready to be read and reread.

    Seems you almost can't go wrong with Dr. Seuss and children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic Dr.Seuss

    Just a hoot, as are most of Dr. Seuss' books for the younger set. Great for read-alouds to one or more kiddies and FUN for the reader, too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    As Dr. Seuss inspires us all...

    Dr. Seuss used to say ¿A person¿s a person, no matter how small. Children want the same things we want. To laugh, to be challenged, to be entertained and delighted.¿ Dr. Seuss was created by Theodor Geisel in 1954. Life, the magazine, had published a report of illiterate children in the school system. They suggested children were having trouble reading because the books were boring, so they did not want to read them. Theodor¿s publisher urged him to send in an essay to explain what words he thought were important for children to learn. Then Theodor used these words to create a children¿s book called The Cat in the Hat. The illustrations and sounds helped to teach basic reading skills. Dr. Seuss helped millions of kids learn to read. I always loved to read Dr. Seuss books because they always were fun to read from the beginning to the end. If I Ran The Zoo brought back good memories and I had a blast reading the book again. The book is a tribute to the imagination of children the book ends with a reminder that all extraordinary creatures exist only in the head of Gerald McGrew. It is all about the imagination and how they use it. For example, in the book Gerald states: But if I ran the zoo, Said young Gerald McGrew, I¿d make a few changes. That¿s just what I¿d do¿ Gerald McGrew is a child who went to visit the zoo, but he found that the animals were not good enough. He said he would make changes if ran the zoo. He would bring animals from here and there, from up and down, and from anywhere. What type of animals does he bring to the zoo? What do the people think of his new zoo? Read the book to find out. If I Ran The Zoo is one of many picture books written by Theodor. He has created a character that is loved by every one of all generations. Dr. Seuss will keep helping children learn to read and is a hero himself. Reading level of the book is third grade, ninth month. Seuss, Dr. If I Ran The Zoo. New York: Random House, 1950.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    Put your imagination to work!

    I loved this book so much as a child that I had to buy it for my children. Very fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1