Customer Reviews for

If I Return

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    My new favorite Christmas Romance Novel

    Loved, loved, loved...it was short (200+ pages), but I enjoyed every steamy page!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    What a beautiful and sweet love story.  OK, there is a ton of he

    What a beautiful and sweet love story.  OK, there is a ton of heat, too ;) .  The characters are real and likable.  The love story does not seem too "insta love" and even has some of that "Awkward - I am embarrassed for you even though you are a book character" moments that make love stories "real".  I love Sawyer Bennett's writing and was so excited when I saw that she was releasing a Christmas themed novella.  She did not disappoint me.  If you are a fan of her work, you will want to snag this book up asap.  If she is new to you, this novella is a great place to start because it is a standalone story and will leave you filled with the happy.  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Sawyer does it again!

    I've read most of the books Sawyer Bennett has written. I by passed If I Return on more than one occasion, I'm not sure if it had something to do with the title or not but I can honestly say it was a beautifully written story. I loved this book because Jack and Hope really like and respect each other right from the start, there's still hot sex but its even hotter because of how they care for each other. I wish the book had been longer because it really is a wonderfully touching , little bit of an ugly cry with a slight hangover read. It will stay with me for a while. My favorite kind! Bev Norcross

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Book Junkie

    Loved the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    Enjoyable!

    An easy read, enjoyable short story. Wanted it to continue on when I got to last page! Definitely worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am a huge fan of Sawyer Bennett's and true to form, she delive

    I am a huge fan of Sawyer Bennett's and true to form, she delivers a fantastic story in the Christmas novella, If I Return.  As with all her Off Series, she has created characters that you immediately connect with and love, and a super hot male lead in Jack Freeman to add to your list of book boyfriends to remember.  I liked Hope a lot also and enjoyed seeing her character come out of her shell as the story developed.  Not only is the romance really hot, the story itself is wonderfully touching.  I love stories that involve military guys, and this one provides you with a hot helicopter pilot that you will be rooting for the entire time.  Another thing that I really loved in this book is the setting of Asheville North Carolina.  I have family from this area so it felt like it enabled me to connect with the story on a deeper level.  Sawyer Bennett paints a beautiful picture of the area with her words also, so if you've never been, you'll feel like you have.  There are some really touching scenes and some super steamy ones, and there is also a really great epilogue also, which is something I really enjoy in a book.  If I Return is a short story that is full of substance and something that is well worth taking the time to read.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Loved it

    Heart warming romance

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Great book at a great price!

    Sawyer Bennett is quickly becoming one of my favorite authord!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    It can be pretty difficult for an author to get a reader to conn

    It can be pretty difficult for an author to get a reader to connect to the characters and feel satisfied with a novella. I have a love/hate relationship with novellas. Either I love them or I hate them, there really isn't much of a middle ground for me. I have read more novellas that I don't like than ones I have liked.

    This little gem had my attention the entire time I read it and as I got farther into it and got to know our characters better the more wrapped up I got and the more the world outside of Jack and Hope just didn't matter. I LOVED this little novella, such a heart warming little story of finding the one and being willing to wait. Not because the other half asked you, but because there is just no other possible way it could be.

    LOVED IT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hope let her sister, Audrey, talk her into attending a week long

    Hope let her sister, Audrey, talk her into attending a week long wedding event. Why she agreed, she has no idea. Audrey thinks that Hope needs to live a little and be wild. Maybe even have a vacation fling. But Hope is perfectly content hiding in her hotel room with a good book, even though on some level she knows her sister is right. When she literally stumbles into sexy army helicopter pilot Jack, she thinks maybe she should go for that fling after all.

    Staying at the same hotel to attend their mutual friends' wedding, they spend the next few days learning about each other's lives and bodies. It's clear that they already care deeply for one another, but Jack's redeployment looms over them like an ugly black cloud. When Jack sets off back to war, Hope fears that she will never see or hear from him again?

    This was such a sweet holiday read filled with the spice that I love from Sawyer Bennett. Hope is a bit of an introvert, much like myself, and I can totally relate to the comfort she finds in playing it safe. She can't help but be drawn to Jack and the few days they spend together are filled with tenderness and passion. I was surprised with Jack and how he acted after their time together and I was on the edge of my seat waiting to see if they would meet again. Definitely a great holiday story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    5 stars - Did I just give a novella 5 stars? D*** straight! Jack

    5 stars - Did I just give a novella 5 stars? D*** straight! Jack deserves it.



    I have never read a Sawyer Bennett book that wasn't hot and sexy. This one is no different. Sawyer has writing swoon down! What makes the difference for this book is Jack.



    I love all the guys that Sawyer has thought up - I do think her military ones have touched me this most, though. Jack is a helicopter pilot in the army. Perhaps it's the military aspects of his personality, but I just love him. Hope is expecting a fling. It's totally not her character but she throughs caution to the wind and went for it - go her! But she wasn't expecting the tender care that Jack treats her with. He is totally into the sex but he just as happy spending time with her for the time they have. His concern for what she wants to do and how he wants to pamper her really touched me. I so can't explain this as much as I want without giving away something that happens during a bath. Since I'm not willing to say, you will just have to believe me - or read it yourself. Tender. Jack is tender.



    Something that I don't tend to see done well in novellas but Sawyer Bennett did awesome with was the character development. Longer books tend to give us tons of details and experiences to let us get to know characters. Novellas often jump around or summarize to make up for length. It doesn't always allow for strong characters and connections and often I am not satisfied with them So not the case here. The parts that needed lots of time and detail, got it. The parts that could be summarized were done well. I didn't feel like I missed stuff. I really liked how time was handled. There are two full years of time that spans 3 Christmas eves but it's still a novella. Makes for a sexy fast read. It's perfect.

    I loved the ending so much. The epilogue is just a little different - can't really say how - and I really, really loved it. I had one idea of what was coming and then a little twist made it just different enough that I was squealing.

    I'm just in the mood for the holiday books and if you are too, then don't miss this one. The New Adult part is sexy. Not typical NA, it's a must read for Sawyer Bennett fans and fans of all Christmas books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    If I Return is a sweet, short read from Bennett and part of the

    If I Return is a sweet, short read from Bennett and part of the 12 NAs of Christmas. I read it within a couple of hours and was immediately drawn into the world and characters Bennett created. This story is about Hope and Jack, and the instant attraction they feel for each other.
    Hope is a reserved, if not serious young woman, who has her whole life planned. In her sister’s opinion, her general ‘uptightness’ is taking over her entire life. After being urged to just let go and have some fun, Hope finds her building attraction to Jack too much to bear.

    Jack and Hope’s chemistry is set-the-page-on-fire hot. Although they only have a short time together, their romance is believable. As with many novellas, sometimes the character’s interactions/thoughts/feelings are a little forced to make them fit within the word count, but Bennett has done a great job with making beautifully written story come to life.

    Both characters have their own insecurities, and instead of holding them back, they discuss them. It’s clear from the start that the relationship they have just begun is not going to fizzle out. These two are meant for each other.

    I especially like Jack’s character as he’s in the military and some of his thoughts and feelings hit incredibly close to home with me, especially when it comes to him not wanting Hope to stay in contact with him while he’s away at war. It may seem selfish, but I can definitely see why he says this to Hope. He’s trying to protect his feelings just as much as he’s trying to protect Hope’s.

    Bennett is the master of writing sexy yet sweet sex, but she still manages to inject some steam into her Jack and Hope’s time together. Altogether, I really enjoyed reading this novella. If you love Christmas stories with an amazing HEA, then this book is for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2013

    A Hot Alpha Male Military Helicopter Pilot with a heart of gold.

    A Hot Alpha Male Military Helicopter Pilot with a heart of gold...What else does a girl need for Christmas?




    Have you ever wondered what might have happened if you stepped out of your comfort zone just once? Hope Camden is a serious student. She does not do flings. So why does Jack Freeman make her want to throw caution to the wind?




    Hope literally stumbles into the arms of Jack, when she attempts to enter the beautiful Montgrove Inn in snowy North Carolina. She is there because her sister Audrey is standing up in a holiday wedding. As Hope and Jack look at each other sparks begin to fly, and they are both at a loss for words. As Jack walks away Hope notices his glorious backside and then is beside herself. Since when has she ever oogled anyone? When they both end up at the same wedding party Jack makes his move. He and Hope had a wonderful evening getting to know each other, but the night has to come to an end. Will Hope walk away or take a chance at having a hot and steamy fling with a sexy soldier?




    Sawyer Bennett evokes a lot of emotion in this short novella. The chemistry between Jack and Hope is smokin hot. The mirror scene is sinfully erotic. This story is about more than a one night stand though. When a soldier is deployed overseas it is really hard on their family, friends, and loved ones. I speak from experience. When Hope read Jack's letter it hit me close to home and I could not hold back the tears. This novella read more like a full length novel, in that the story was not rushed. It was perfectly balanced and I loved the HEA.




    If you like sexy alpha male military heros, and women who do not know that they are beautiful, you will really enjoy If I Return.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If I Return features a young couple that meets while on holiday

    If I Return features a young couple that meets while on holiday in Asheville, North Carolina. They are there for a destination wedding in the Blue Ridge Mountains. This magical holiday in the winter wonderland provides the perfect backdrop for cuddling by a warm fire and a romance that warms the heart.
    This couple experiences the love of a lifetime in a one week holiday. Can that one week be enough? Hope is determined to make this love last. Jack is determined to walk away...even though his heart holds Hope.
    Sawyer Bennett is an amazing writer. Her characters come to life on every page and capture the readers hearts. The romance warms the soul. The sexual chemistry sets the pages on fire. Hope and Jack's story is what holiday magic is made of.
    Although this is a novella, the 83 page story delivers a romantic story that can rival a full romance novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    I was so excited to hear there was going to be the 12 NA's of Ch

    I was so excited to hear there was going to be the 12 NA's of Christmas. It brings together 2 of my most favorite things. I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of Sawyer Bennett's novella. All I can say is I hope the other ones are this good! If I Return was amazing! Hope is you introverted character that would love to sit in front of a fire and read a good book for the week. Her sister Audrey pesters her into stepping out of her box and it changes her life. She meets Jack, the super hot Army helicopter pilot. The sparks fly instantly. From the first time she fell into his arms. Things are hot and heavy quickly but, the question looms. What happens after this week? Is there relationship destined to be a Christmas fling?




    Jack is a great guy. He is very upfront with Hope on how he feels. He opens up to her. There is no hiding what he wants. Unfortunately he is heading off to war and doesn't want to hold her back. He doesn't want her to hold back because he might not make it back. If he returns he will meet her at the same hotel they met at on Christmas Eve. Will he return? 




    I loved this novella and read it in one sitting. Mostly because I couldn't put it down. I was so enthralled by the story and he characters. Christmas also makes it more romantic and fun. Even with the fun attitude there was still a sense of seriousness. That it might be the last time they ever see each other and they want to savor that time together. So perfect!! I'm kind of hoping we got to see more of these two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    Wonderfully sweet love story. Hope is a shy, studious college st

    Wonderfully sweet love story. Hope is a shy, studious college student. Jack is a strong, confident soldier headed to war. They have one glorious week together. A story you don't want to miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1