Customer Reviews for

If I Stay

Average Rating 4
( 1927 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1111)

4 Star

(425)

3 Star

(206)

2 Star

(83)

1 Star

(102)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

215 out of 238 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and lea...
Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and leave everyone behind?

When a terrible accident occurs, Mia suddenly finds herself with only one choice left - should she stay?

This book is just WOW! Do not read this in public because this one will bring tears to your eyes - I'm warning you! That doesn't mean it doesn't have humor though, because there were many times I found myself laughing out loud. This is an intense story that will not only appeal to teens, but have a lot of crossover adult appeal, as well.

Gayle Forman does an excellent job going from Mia's present to Mia's past and drawing the reader in so they truly understand her love for the cello, her family, and Adam, her boyfriend. As I was reading, I felt like I really got to know Mia and her family and found myself grieving along with Mia - the writing is just that powerful.

IF I STAY is a short read, but it packs so much in and I wanted to savor every moment. At times I found myself reading slower and drinking in the words because I didn't want the story to end.

The story centers around music: Mia with her cello, Adam with his band, and Mia's dad being a drummer, and Gayle Forman's writing felt lyrical. She was able to capture music and put it into a book. I don't know how to describe it, but it was like I was reading a song - hopefully that makes sense! Music is such an important part of the book, Gayle Forman has included a playlist for the book on her website. I loved checking out the songs that went along with the story and listening to them when Mia did.

IF I STAY is a must-read. The themes of love, loss, grief, and hope are so powerful and beautifully written that this story will stay with you long after you finish the last page.

posted by TeensReadToo on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

67 out of 363 people found this review helpful.

A dissapointment

I got this book expecting It would be interesting and mature for teens, I was dissapointed to find that this book was all about switching from the present to the past on and off again. I would never reccomend this to anyone since this was one of the WORST books I have e...
I got this book expecting It would be interesting and mature for teens, I was dissapointed to find that this book was all about switching from the present to the past on and off again. I would never reccomend this to anyone since this was one of the WORST books I have ever read. There was no point to it at all. I finished it and I went "Wow. I just wasted my time"

posted by ArtisticNotations on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1931 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 97
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and leave everyone behind?

    When a terrible accident occurs, Mia suddenly finds herself with only one choice left - should she stay?

    This book is just WOW! Do not read this in public because this one will bring tears to your eyes - I'm warning you! That doesn't mean it doesn't have humor though, because there were many times I found myself laughing out loud. This is an intense story that will not only appeal to teens, but have a lot of crossover adult appeal, as well.

    Gayle Forman does an excellent job going from Mia's present to Mia's past and drawing the reader in so they truly understand her love for the cello, her family, and Adam, her boyfriend. As I was reading, I felt like I really got to know Mia and her family and found myself grieving along with Mia - the writing is just that powerful.

    IF I STAY is a short read, but it packs so much in and I wanted to savor every moment. At times I found myself reading slower and drinking in the words because I didn't want the story to end.

    The story centers around music: Mia with her cello, Adam with his band, and Mia's dad being a drummer, and Gayle Forman's writing felt lyrical. She was able to capture music and put it into a book. I don't know how to describe it, but it was like I was reading a song - hopefully that makes sense! Music is such an important part of the book, Gayle Forman has included a playlist for the book on her website. I loved checking out the songs that went along with the story and listening to them when Mia did.

    IF I STAY is a must-read. The themes of love, loss, grief, and hope are so powerful and beautifully written that this story will stay with you long after you finish the last page.

    215 out of 238 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazingly Beautiful

    All I can say is WOW. I finished this book at 2 AM this morning and I'm still thinking about how much it moved me. I cried several times and just fell in love with Mia and all those who surrounded her, "her family". It's a truly touching and a wonderful story, when I finished I was left wanting to know more about her families past adventures. And how Forman describes the families love of music drives you to want to pick up an instrument and learn to play. I enjoy all types of music and can't wait to check out Yo-Yo-Ma, aka "Yo Mama" per Adam. This is a great read and you will not be disappointed.

    86 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    76 out of 97 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    A dissapointment

    I got this book expecting It would be interesting and mature for teens, I was dissapointed to find that this book was all about switching from the present to the past on and off again. I would never reccomend this to anyone since this was one of the WORST books I have ever read. There was no point to it at all. I finished it and I went "Wow. I just wasted my time"

    67 out of 363 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Should I Stay or Should I Go?

    I've been wanting to read this book since it first came out, but was good and waited until it came out in the cheaper paperback.

    If I Stay is about 17 yr old Mia, a talented celloist, who is in a coma following a car accident that kills her entire family. While in this coma she must make the ultimate decision: stay alive with grief and an uncertain future or join her parents and brother in death

    I have to say this book isn't at all what I expected, and because of that, I may be a little disappointed. It was a surprisingly simple story. There was nothing supernatural about it and all the conflict was an internal struggle. It went back and forth between Mia's stay in the hospital, and her memories which only seemed to complicate her decision.

    Truthfully, I didn't find it all that entertaining. Good thing it read very quickly, or else I probably wouldn't have finished it. For some reason, it never asorbed me. Perhaps it was the meandering pace. Even the question of Mia's choice couldn't make me feel interested.

    Mia's memories served the purpose to give some background to Mia and help flesh out the story. I kind of felt that they were repetitive. They didn't show anything that couldn't be guessed atfrom the first chapter. Mia's loves her little brother. Mia loves her "hip" parents. Mia loves her punk boyfriend. Mia loves music. That's about it.

    I guessed I just missed out on the genius of it all. I'm hearing that it was "beautiful" and "beautifully written, and while I admit that it had more substance than most YA literature, I still wasn't feeling it. A blurb on the front cover said it "will appeal to fans of Stephenie Meyer's Twilight", and I don't see that at all. I didn't like Twilight, but these books are nothing alike. On top of it all, I hear Summit bought the movie rights to this book. Did I miss something?

    53 out of 74 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    If I stay...

    This book was SO good. I liked the way it switched back and forth. I know some people didnt like the back and forth but I did.

    34 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing and a must read!

    Seventeen year old Mia Hall has it all. A loving family, an awesome best friend, and a wonderful boyfriend, but one mistake changes it all. Mia and her family get into a car crash with an unknown reason how. While Mia is rushed to the hospital all she is wondering is what happened to Teddy her ten year old brother . Once she figures out Teddy passed away and her parents died on the spot she can't think of a reason to stay. Of course her best friend and her boyfriend want her to stay, why wouldn't they. Mia's left fighting for her life while trying to think of a decision . Along the way she asked herself the same question that begins with "If I Stay".

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2009

    hmm.

    i skipped around a lot because it was super slow paced. the storyline was just that this girl had to decide if she wants to wake up or not. boring.

    30 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    Worst book I have ever read.

    This book was boring and slow from chapter 1, I suffered while reading it. I didn't stop because if I start any book I must finish it, weird habit I have. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    22 out of 72 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not that great

    I don't really know what I expected but this wasn't it. It wasn't a bad story, just not the story that I wanted it to be. I thought there should have been more to it and I couldn't really get into it.

    21 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    This is my absolute favorite book EVER! From page one I could NO

    This is my absolute favorite book EVER! From page one I could NOT put it down, I was obsessed. Thank God it was a shorter book because I ignored family, and friends for a full 24 hours. I never re-read books and I'm tempted to buy this so I will have it. Any one who is looking for a good book, I recommend this one, always! I raved about it for weeks. Incredible, it really sucks you in and tugs on your heart strings. You feel nothing but powerful emotion throughout "If I Stay". So well written, so memorable.

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    You would be missing out on a fantastic book if you pass this up!

    14 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    Worst book ever!!!

    Don't waste your money on this book.

    10 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    I loved this book and highly recommend it! 

    I loved this book and highly recommend it! 

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Anonymous

    If I hadn't read the reviews on the second book, "Where She Went", I wouldn't have known about this first book. I really couldn't fully grasp what the author was trying to convey to the readers, and it ended so abruptly, it left you hanging on a cliff, and thats exactly what only 120 pages will do. I guess that is this author's intent if you want to find out what happens to Mia, buy the sequel for another 10 bucks. I don't know how many pages is in the sequel, but if its another 120 pages, the nice thing to do is COMBINE both books into one. I don't think I will be paying $20 to read a short story that is divided into two books.

    9 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    If i stay

    Blahhh.

    9 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved how the past was interweaved with the present, as this a

    I loved how the past was interweaved with the present, as this allowed us to get a glimpse into Mia's life before the accident, and to really get to know her. Mia is a strong and appealing character, and one which I think a lot of people will identify with. I also have to mention Adam, Mia's boyfriend. He's caring, thoughtful and the kind of person that we should all get to meet at some point or another. In fact, I think he might be my favorite part of the whole story.  This is a great book! I read it because I like to read the book before I see the movie, so my imagination colors the characters. Thoroughly enjoyed the story and didn't want to put the book (Kindle) down! Having been in the same situation, it was fun seeing the scenario from the other side. After the accident, Mia must make some serious decisions. That is kind of hard to do if she has no recollection of the life she had before. In this peril through time, loss, and love, you get to follow Mia as she finds herself. The above is typical of Gayle Forman's creative writing skills. She also manages to write a book that jumps back-and-forth between the present day and the past without confusing the reader. The story itself is an emotional roller-coaster and sure to spur discussion on choosing to "stay" or not after tragedy. A very well written book, highly recommended.     

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Amazing

    It will keep you on your toes. You won't want to put the book down. Amazingly written!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    Although i did read this book in less than i day, i found it rea

    Although i did read this book in less than i day, i found it really predictable and just really boring. the story just keeps switching from present then to flashbacks and memories of the past which was honestly kind of draining. maybe the sequal is better but i have to admit i didnt care enough to read it.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    This novel had no life to it. I sped through many pages with bar

    This novel had no life to it. I sped through many pages with barely a glance because I was just that bored. The biggest issue I had was that, to be honest, I just didn't care if she stayed or went, which means the novel really did not accomplish what it was supposed to.

    7 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1931 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 97