BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

If I Stay

Average Rating 4
( 1830 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1054)

4 Star

(406)

3 Star

(198)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(91)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

198 out of 221 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and lea...
Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and leave everyone behind?

When a terrible accident occurs, Mia suddenly finds herself with only one choice left - should she stay?

This book is just WOW! Do not read this in public because this one will bring tears to your eyes - I'm warning you! That doesn't mean it doesn't have humor though, because there were many times I found myself laughing out loud. This is an intense story that will not only appeal to teens, but have a lot of crossover adult appeal, as well.

Gayle Forman does an excellent job going from Mia's present to Mia's past and drawing the reader in so they truly understand her love for the cello, her family, and Adam, her boyfriend. As I was reading, I felt like I really got to know Mia and her family and found myself grieving along with Mia - the writing is just that powerful.

IF I STAY is a short read, but it packs so much in and I wanted to savor every moment. At times I found myself reading slower and drinking in the words because I didn't want the story to end.

The story centers around music: Mia with her cello, Adam with his band, and Mia's dad being a drummer, and Gayle Forman's writing felt lyrical. She was able to capture music and put it into a book. I don't know how to describe it, but it was like I was reading a song - hopefully that makes sense! Music is such an important part of the book, Gayle Forman has included a playlist for the book on her website. I loved checking out the songs that went along with the story and listening to them when Mia did.

IF I STAY is a must-read. The themes of love, loss, grief, and hope are so powerful and beautifully written that this story will stay with you long after you finish the last page.

posted by TeensReadToo on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

66 out of 344 people found this review helpful.

A dissapointment

I got this book expecting It would be interesting and mature for teens, I was dissapointed to find that this book was all about switching from the present to the past on and off again. I would never reccomend this to anyone since this was one of the WORST books I have e...
I got this book expecting It would be interesting and mature for teens, I was dissapointed to find that this book was all about switching from the present to the past on and off again. I would never reccomend this to anyone since this was one of the WORST books I have ever read. There was no point to it at all. I finished it and I went "Wow. I just wasted my time"

posted by ArtisticNotations on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 23, 2012

    Although i did read this book in less than i day, i found it rea

    Although i did read this book in less than i day, i found it really predictable and just really boring. the story just keeps switching from present then to flashbacks and memories of the past which was honestly kind of draining. maybe the sequal is better but i have to admit i didnt care enough to read it.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Really, More Just of a Novella-not great

    The story jumps from past to present without creating a reason for the reader to connect with Mia. I thought the idea was interesting, but Ms. Forman's work left me disappointed. It is a short story that lacks depth while covering a very deep and interesting topic.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    ehh

    So for whatever reason i didnt like this book. the summary sounded promising but then i read it and was all what happened? I dont know if i didnt like the writing or the flashbacks or maybe just the story itself. I have no idea. I just want the author to come out with a new book so i can read that and see why i didnt like this one

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Not as good as I had hoped....

    I began reading this story thinking it would be a profound discussion of life and death and how precious life is. Instead it was 150 pages of back story and never really goes anywhere. The writing had a good flow to it and kept me interested, but left me wanting more from the story in a not very desirable way. I gave the book two stars simply because the storyline and idea was intersting but I did not feel like I was transported to another world.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Blehh.

    The sample LOOKED good.. but it only included a couple pages. This story is confusing and bland. You can't tell what point of view their talking from.. don't like this story and think its a waste of money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Boring Book.

    Read this book a while ago due to the reviews I've read. They say it was amazing, exciting and a tear jerker. Call me a heartless fool but I didn't cry once. The story was pretty much just looking into someone's past that wasn't all that intresting and that's pretty much it...nothing else. I was disapointed beyond belief, but it may appeal to others so overall I give it two stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    okay

    The book is yes very well written but it seemed to go on and on and i found myself wondering off in my thoughts as i read it. I hsve attempted to read it many times put i cant help but stop right in the middle of it. i find it slow and dont fully recomend this book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    Okay

    This book is not my favorite i don't like how in the end it cuts off the way it does and in the second book it doesn't xontinie from where it left off. It is okay but i wouldn't re-read it and i dont recomend

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    Okay

    It was really slow and a lot of flashbacks.. i onlyy liked the present

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Its pissing me off

    I spent my ten dollars on this but all im getting is the stupid sample! Its pissing ke off. I deleted it, and then bought it again but im still getting the sample. Buy it in the store not on the nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2014

    This book could have been a classic, on the level of something l

    This book could have been a classic, on the level of something like Tuck Everlasting for the next age range up. It could have been that book every pre teen and teen had to read for generations to come, a sweet story about Love, Life, & Death but the author went the direction of ghetto white trash instead. My eleven year old is an advance reader, I try to pre read as many as the books that I can, I’m glad I read this one first. Can’t tell you how many F bombs and other language is in this book, the sad part is the book would have been leaps and bounds better without it. The editors should have been a lot smarter about it , would have opened up the range of readers to a broader audience. There were two other elements I didn’t appreciate as a parent either. Just for the heck of it because it wasn’t needed for this story she throws in comments about abortion, like it’s some natural thing married people consider when the get pregnant. Not needed for this story. Later in the story she also mentions Planned parenthood. Once again not needed for this story. Would I recommend you read it? Older teen which I guess is who the author was targeting maybe but not without discussion with parent ahead of time. It just seems like a waste of a good story. I would advise the publisher to have it re-edited and re-released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Bob

    Are you there.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    I dont understand

    When I boughr the book they didnt give me the whole book. It stops at 174 instead of 234

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2014

    I love the concept and even liked how it switched back and forth

    I love the concept and even liked how it switched back and forth from the past to the present. However, the writing was, for the most part, terrible. I couldn't even finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Not What I Expected

    Before I started reading this series, I was SUPER excited to read this duology. However, it did not live up to -- did not even come close to -- my expectations. I found that it was a slow read, and it was difficult to push through a few numerous parts in this book. I felt like the conflict in this book (man vs. self/to stay or not to stay) was dull and predictable. However, I liked how this book focused on other important things, not only on love, which is a fault I find in many other books. To conclude, I would recommend this book to a contemporary lover--not because of my personal opinion, but because so many others love it. I think that you should give this book a chance, love or hate it, and like it more than I did. (I also thought that Where She Went was a tad better, so you should also read that, too.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2014

    It was just O.K. It did not hold my interest. Short story status.

    I didn't like the fact that it was what the person imagined happening - not what the person was actually experiencing .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Would not recommend

    I started this book because I heard it was very popular and I lean toward popular books because they tend to be the best. From the beginning of this book I was bored. I kept reading hoping it would get better but it never did. There was no drama, humor, or mystery to keep my attention. I personally am a fan of dialogue in books, so if you are too do not waste your money on this book. This book has long paragraphs and way way way to many unimportant details. If you like long paragraphs and flashbacks then this is the book for you. I am so disappointed I didn't like this book because the story line could have been so great with just a little more spark.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Not at all what i hoped

    This book was too short and lacked the emotional connection to characters that everyone seemed to buzz about. I did not like this book, what a disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    i feel like i wasted my time reading this book but i did enjoy t

    i feel like i wasted my time reading this book but i did enjoy the second 1 10x more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Not bad, but not for me.

    I don't know if it was because I just finished the best book I had read all summer or what, but this one just didn't do it for me. It was good; parts kept me entertained and then some parts were slow and boring. It wasn't entirely what I thought it would be. Maybe I was expecting more because they decided to make a movie of it. I also thought that the book just ended. I didn't feel the closure of the story. I get there is another book to continue the story, but I feel like this one should still end this part of the story; not have me flipping through pages to see if my nook didn't load it properly. Like I said not bad, just not for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 81 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5