Customer Reviews for

If I Stay

Average Rating 4
( 1825 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1050)

4 Star

(406)

3 Star

(198)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(90)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

198 out of 221 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and lea...
Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and leave everyone behind?

When a terrible accident occurs, Mia suddenly finds herself with only one choice left - should she stay?

This book is just WOW! Do not read this in public because this one will bring tears to your eyes - I'm warning you! That doesn't mean it doesn't have humor though, because there were many times I found myself laughing out loud. This is an intense story that will not only appeal to teens, but have a lot of crossover adult appeal, as well.

Gayle Forman does an excellent job going from Mia's present to Mia's past and drawing the reader in so they truly understand her love for the cello, her family, and Adam, her boyfriend. As I was reading, I felt like I really got to know Mia and her family and found myself grieving along with Mia - the writing is just that powerful.

IF I STAY is a short read, but it packs so much in and I wanted to savor every moment. At times I found myself reading slower and drinking in the words because I didn't want the story to end.

The story centers around music: Mia with her cello, Adam with his band, and Mia's dad being a drummer, and Gayle Forman's writing felt lyrical. She was able to capture music and put it into a book. I don't know how to describe it, but it was like I was reading a song - hopefully that makes sense! Music is such an important part of the book, Gayle Forman has included a playlist for the book on her website. I loved checking out the songs that went along with the story and listening to them when Mia did.

IF I STAY is a must-read. The themes of love, loss, grief, and hope are so powerful and beautifully written that this story will stay with you long after you finish the last page.

posted by TeensReadToo on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

66 out of 342 people found this review helpful.

A dissapointment

I got this book expecting It would be interesting and mature for teens, I was dissapointed to find that this book was all about switching from the present to the past on and off again. I would never reccomend this to anyone since this was one of the WORST books I have e...
I got this book expecting It would be interesting and mature for teens, I was dissapointed to find that this book was all about switching from the present to the past on and off again. I would never reccomend this to anyone since this was one of the WORST books I have ever read. There was no point to it at all. I finished it and I went "Wow. I just wasted my time"

posted by ArtisticNotations on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1050 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 53
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Mia has a lot to love in life. She is a cellist who could be on her way to Julliard. She has a wonderful, loving, and supportive family. And she has a boyfriend who is perfect. But as wonderful as Mia's life is, she has choices to make. Should she go to Julliard and leave everyone behind?

    When a terrible accident occurs, Mia suddenly finds herself with only one choice left - should she stay?

    This book is just WOW! Do not read this in public because this one will bring tears to your eyes - I'm warning you! That doesn't mean it doesn't have humor though, because there were many times I found myself laughing out loud. This is an intense story that will not only appeal to teens, but have a lot of crossover adult appeal, as well.

    Gayle Forman does an excellent job going from Mia's present to Mia's past and drawing the reader in so they truly understand her love for the cello, her family, and Adam, her boyfriend. As I was reading, I felt like I really got to know Mia and her family and found myself grieving along with Mia - the writing is just that powerful.

    IF I STAY is a short read, but it packs so much in and I wanted to savor every moment. At times I found myself reading slower and drinking in the words because I didn't want the story to end.

    The story centers around music: Mia with her cello, Adam with his band, and Mia's dad being a drummer, and Gayle Forman's writing felt lyrical. She was able to capture music and put it into a book. I don't know how to describe it, but it was like I was reading a song - hopefully that makes sense! Music is such an important part of the book, Gayle Forman has included a playlist for the book on her website. I loved checking out the songs that went along with the story and listening to them when Mia did.

    IF I STAY is a must-read. The themes of love, loss, grief, and hope are so powerful and beautifully written that this story will stay with you long after you finish the last page.

    198 out of 221 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazingly Beautiful

    All I can say is WOW. I finished this book at 2 AM this morning and I'm still thinking about how much it moved me. I cried several times and just fell in love with Mia and all those who surrounded her, "her family". It's a truly touching and a wonderful story, when I finished I was left wanting to know more about her families past adventures. And how Forman describes the families love of music drives you to want to pick up an instrument and learn to play. I enjoy all types of music and can't wait to check out Yo-Yo-Ma, aka "Yo Mama" per Adam. This is a great read and you will not be disappointed.

    79 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.

    72 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing and a must read!

    Seventeen year old Mia Hall has it all. A loving family, an awesome best friend, and a wonderful boyfriend, but one mistake changes it all. Mia and her family get into a car crash with an unknown reason how. While Mia is rushed to the hospital all she is wondering is what happened to Teddy her ten year old brother . Once she figures out Teddy passed away and her parents died on the spot she can't think of a reason to stay. Of course her best friend and her boyfriend want her to stay, why wouldn't they. Mia's left fighting for her life while trying to think of a decision . Along the way she asked herself the same question that begins with "If I Stay".

    28 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    This is my absolute favorite book EVER! From page one I could NO

    This is my absolute favorite book EVER! From page one I could NOT put it down, I was obsessed. Thank God it was a shorter book because I ignored family, and friends for a full 24 hours. I never re-read books and I'm tempted to buy this so I will have it. Any one who is looking for a good book, I recommend this one, always! I raved about it for weeks. Incredible, it really sucks you in and tugs on your heart strings. You feel nothing but powerful emotion throughout "If I Stay". So well written, so memorable.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Anonymous

    You would be missing out on a fantastic book if you pass this up!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    I loved this book and highly recommend it! 

    I loved this book and highly recommend it! 

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Amazing

    It will keep you on your toes. You won't want to put the book down. Amazingly written!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved how the past was interweaved with the present, as this a

    I loved how the past was interweaved with the present, as this allowed us to get a glimpse into Mia's life before the accident, and to really get to know her. Mia is a strong and appealing character, and one which I think a lot of people will identify with. I also have to mention Adam, Mia's boyfriend. He's caring, thoughtful and the kind of person that we should all get to meet at some point or another. In fact, I think he might be my favorite part of the whole story.  This is a great book! I read it because I like to read the book before I see the movie, so my imagination colors the characters. Thoroughly enjoyed the story and didn't want to put the book (Kindle) down! Having been in the same situation, it was fun seeing the scenario from the other side. After the accident, Mia must make some serious decisions. That is kind of hard to do if she has no recollection of the life she had before. In this peril through time, loss, and love, you get to follow Mia as she finds herself. The above is typical of Gayle Forman's creative writing skills. She also manages to write a book that jumps back-and-forth between the present day and the past without confusing the reader. The story itself is an emotional roller-coaster and sure to spur discussion on choosing to "stay" or not after tragedy. A very well written book, highly recommended.     

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    This book was truly amazing. its one of my favorite movies. I ju

    This book was truly amazing. its one of my favorite movies. I just saw the movie which was also really wonderful, but I would definitely recommend reading the book first before seeing the movie. all in all the book and movie are both truly awesome! I also loved the writing style how it went from memories to her being in the hospital, and choosing if she wants to stay.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    Heart poundingly right

    If I Stay is a phenominal novel that shows us that there is more to life than want and greed and teaches us to appreciate everything. Every leaf and petal, every ray of sun or drop of rain. It teaches us to not take everything for granted and not be be unhappy when we dont always get everything we want.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    GREAT BOOK!

    I loved this book! I saw the trailer at the movie theater and I knew that i just had ti read it! I finished it in one day, and it was fantastic! I even cried, and that coming from a person who doesnt cry AT ALL! This book is worth it, and is an amazing story.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is a sad book, but very well written. It's especially sad because you find yourself connecting with Mia's family, but in the flash backs she has after you know they are gone. I do not regret reading this, and if you are considering this book, you should definitely read it. It is amazing.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    Movie?

    Is this the book thats becoming a movie? The trailer for the movie looked really cool and i want to read the book before hand but is it worth it?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Natalia G.

    For you THE LOVELY BONES lovers,this is the book for you. Mia is a beatuliful character who opens up her love life as she watches herself barely hanging on in the hospital. As she painfully discovers the death of her family, her tale is being told. Of love and hanging on. She is uncertain about her future, and if she should stay with her boyfriend and friends and family, or simply let go and be reunited qith her mother, father, and little brother Teddy.

    This story made tears stream down my cheeks. I really enjoyed this book and finished it in a couple of hours. I don't regret reading it!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2014

    If i stay

    Amazing book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Great read

    I really enjoyed reading this book in my late teens.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    from missprint.wordpress.com

    "Everyone thinks it was because of the snow. And in a way, I suppose that's true."

    When Mia and her family go out for a drive that snowy morning, none of them realize everything is about to change in If I Stay (2009) by Gayle Forman. It was a freak accident. A random act. But suddenly, a truck swerves into their car. The next thing Mia knows she is staring down at the dead bodies of her mother and father. She can't find her younger brother, Teddy. What Mia does find is her own broken body being rushed to a hospital.

    Before the accident Mia had a lot of decisions to make about her future. Should she follow her first love--music--to Juilliard in New York? Should she stay on the West Coast to be with her boyfriend? But after the accident, Mia only has one choice. Should she stay?

    Readers learn about Mia's past while she tries to make this impossible decision. Present scenes of Mia watching her body at the hospital are interspersed with snapshot flashbacks of the life Mia used to have: discovering the Cello, meeting her best friend and her boyfriend, and memories of her idyllic family. Separated from the "current" story of the plot these segments could almost be jewel-like short stories on their own.

    Mia's relationship to music adds another dimension to the story and makes it a likely choice for musicians. The romantic aspect of the story is another strong point. Finally, it's probably a really good choice for anyone who has found themselves waiting for good news outside and Intensive Care Unit.

    I barely have enough words to say how much I loved If I Stay. Everything about this book is beautiful from the cover to last line. There was an authenticity to the hospital side of things that was simultaneously jarring and comforting. At the same time, this is also a wonderful story. Forman's writing is lovely, evoking all of the characters in vivid detail throughout the story. While Mia's loss is devastating, the story ultimately also has a calming quality that only helps to underscore the beauty of the writing and comfort readers that, no matter what her decision, Mia will find peace.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2009

    good book

    I really enjoyed this quick read. It's a young adult book, however as a 32 year old it's a story that transcends age. Very endearing characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2014

    I saw the movie and .....

    I cried my eyes out but it was amazing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1050 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 53