Customer Reviews for

If I Was Your Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

If I Was Your Girl

This is a really good book. I would recommend If I Was Your Girl to anyone who loves a good drama filled book. The main character, Toi, has a son and she is only 17 years old. The father of her son, Noah, is the type of father that doesn't come around or try to do anyt...
This is a really good book. I would recommend If I Was Your Girl to anyone who loves a good drama filled book. The main character, Toi, has a son and she is only 17 years old. The father of her son, Noah, is the type of father that doesn't come around or try to do anything for his son. He also is the type of father that has many kids and baby-mamas that he doesn't pay attention to. He plays the girls against each other and thinks that he can just come around and pick up the relationship where it left off any time he feels like it. One day at her job at IHOP Toi meets a cute boy named Harlem. He turns out to be everything she hoped for. That is until she decides to inform him about Noah and he says he would never date someone with a child, so she decides not to tell him. This book is filled with drama and I think that anyone would like this wonderful novel.

posted by Gwen03 on April 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A well wisher

To the girl who ppsted her name, address, and email, and other private- i just want to say have u got any idea how dangerous that is?? Im a girl younger than u and even i know thats dangerous. You culd be stalked raped or murdered so please think twice before postimg so...
To the girl who ppsted her name, address, and email, and other private- i just want to say have u got any idea how dangerous that is?? Im a girl younger than u and even i know thats dangerous. You culd be stalked raped or murdered so please think twice before postimg something anyone culd see! Also while i share writing aspirations nobody can teach you how to write. You need to figure out your style and not impersonte someone else no matter how good u think they are. I hope u do well in life, i hope u r safe. - A.W.W

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    If I Was Your Girl

    This is a really good book. I would recommend If I Was Your Girl to anyone who loves a good drama filled book. The main character, Toi, has a son and she is only 17 years old. The father of her son, Noah, is the type of father that doesn't come around or try to do anything for his son. He also is the type of father that has many kids and baby-mamas that he doesn't pay attention to. He plays the girls against each other and thinks that he can just come around and pick up the relationship where it left off any time he feels like it. One day at her job at IHOP Toi meets a cute boy named Harlem. He turns out to be everything she hoped for. That is until she decides to inform him about Noah and he says he would never date someone with a child, so she decides not to tell him. This book is filled with drama and I think that anyone would like this wonderful novel.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    If I Was Your Girl, what an amazing story! It's so relatable to nower days, from the way they dress to the music we listen to. The over-all series is a necessity for your collection. Really!

    This book was so good I almost hated that I finished reading it.! It was honestly one of those stories where you just want to read it forever, but then again you crave for the end results of every situation. The story was wrenching from beginning to end, beginning of the book whole club scene made me feel like I can relate to a club scene so i read on. I really admired how the story didn't start of with the characters introducing themselves, the drama came out on the first page, first paragraph! In between the clubs and school Simone gives the reader every detail of every situation. She almost puts you in Toi's shoes, inside her head. Every thought is there which makes the book that much better. Through out this book you will see how the things that go on in you or your child's school happen in this book positive and negative. Through all the drama it's still real, you must realize and remember this. With that being said I really hope you take the time to read this book if not all the books in this series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    I lived this book I felt like I was there.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    my review

    this whud have to be the book that can relate to most teenagers.i only got to read the sample they gave you on here.and i seriously fell in love.i gotta go to barnes and noble and find this book.and a couple more QUICK!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2009

    GREAT BOOK!

    the book was great, hope to ride another book about Toi and Harlem bein a family. I'm starting to read "Shortie Like Mine" cant wait.

    thnx 4 writin a good book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    the best book

    i only read the the first chapter of the book and it was so good like 4 real i cant wait to get the book on my b-day and im going book shopin im buying all her books this book is hot and shortie like mine that is the best they should turn all her books into a movie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    I love it

    Ni ni simone i love your books. Please write more!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    Amazing

    This is the best book ever. It so detailed and realistic.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Great BOOK

    Very Good Book.Good Job ni ni Simone!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    Great Book!

    Omg! this book was one of the best books i've ever read! i love toi and harlem! plus baby noah (toi's kid) is just too cute! also seven and josiah are still together! i absolutely loved it! read it! you wont be disappointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Very interestimg

    Many ladies can relate to this.. if you cant look at your self in the mirror and see this drama in you.. read this book, it would help you learn where you stand.. seriously.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    A well wisher

    To the girl who ppsted her name, address, and email, and other private- i just want to say have u got any idea how dangerous that is?? Im a girl younger than u and even i know thats dangerous. You culd be stalked raped or murdered so please think twice before postimg something anyone culd see! Also while i share writing aspirations nobody can teach you how to write. You need to figure out your style and not impersonte someone else no matter how good u think they are. I hope u do well in life, i hope u r safe. - A.W.W

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    you should get this book its the bomb!

    I give this book 5 stars because this book is about a seventeen year old girl named Toi McKnight she has a baby and her baby daddy named quamir he is a no good father he is a lier and a cheater but when another sexy dude named harlem came into the picture he gets very angry. Quamir wanted Toi and Shanice both at the same time but Toi was not having that she wanted love things that all woman look for but he wasn't tryin to love so Harlem and Toi started talking then they loved being around each other then they started from phone calls to Harlem being so sweet by bringing Toi her favorite chinese food and them eating together in his car and talking about everything under the sun. Harlem had felt a different way about young baby mamas so she ddnt tell him yet and when she finally told him they got back together and they were going on like a family you can find out the rest but i would definally read NI-NI SIMONE books more often they are about what really happens in life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Words Cant Describe !

    This Is An Amazing Book ! I Love This Book ,, Read It Over &&'d Over Again ! Love It !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2011

    a good read

    i really liked this book. it was just like a fairy tale...urbanized of course. toi is a teenage a mom who has to face the challenges of being such. while juggling her teen life and being a mom...she relizes its her past or her sons future

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2010

    hey

    this is jasmine perry from miami florida i live in miram i would like to say that this book was ha best book i ever read and i was wondering could tha author of the book teach me how to write like that because i want to be a wirter my slef and i want to write just like that i no that may not be posible but it would be really cool if some one could make that happen im 15 and i am going to tha 9 grade im going to miram high school and in collge ui want to mager in writing....i have three sister and a step father so my email is kellyperry39@yahoo.com please emial for any questions thank u sooooooooo much i hope it will happened

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    THE WHOLE SERIES IS INCREDIBLE!

    This book was awesome, my friends and I have all 3 in rotation. We love to discuss it as well.. Please write more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book and Series

    i havent read this book yet but i have read the other 2 and they were great!!! i would definitly reccomend this to a friend!! i cant wait to read this one and i hope she will come out with some more books!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    bst buk evea

    diz book keeps u on edge

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Grate Book

    This is one of the best books that I have read. Ni-Ni is a grate author. I can realate to this book and understand what Seven is going through. This is one of the best teenage books written of all times. I can't wait until her next book comes out.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5