Customer Reviews for

If I Were You

Average Rating 3.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I've never read anything like it

    This one is something special. A great fantasy yarn in the classic pulp tradition, but as fresh and original now as it ever was. I couldn't put it down and loved every second of it. If you like cookie cutter characters and demand only the pure, handsome hero, stay away. But if you like a great adventure fantasy story, with a unique main character and a whole roller coaster of twists, I couldn't more strongly recommend this story. I loved it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    What's after Harry Potter

    I've been wondering what fantasy titles were going to come out that would captivate me as much as Harry Potter did and I think I found it. This was a great audio book. Action, adventure, good clean fun. I really like fiction stories that not only entertain me but leave me feeling like I learned something too. This new series that is out by Hubbard is really something!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book has two pulp stories by L. Ron Hubbard first published

    This book has two pulp stories by L. Ron Hubbard first published in magazines years ago.
    The first one:




    If I Were You -
    This a fantasy stories about a little person, named Little Tom, and a black magic magician at a circus.  The magic dies but Little Tom inherits his books even though the magician hated him.
    Thing of course go awry and body switching ensues.




    I enjoyed this one a little. I do like Hubbard’s fantasy more than sci fi. 




    The second story is : 




    The Last Drop-




    A bartender drinks adds a strange syrup to his drink and his head inflates and mob boss comes in.  The Mob Boss whole body begins to shrink after he drinks the syrup.  




    This one was strange and remind me of the scene in Alice in Wonderland.  I do not remember how it ends but I am sure it was strange because that is what Hubbard does well strangeness. 




    If you think of it these two stories are centered around plots that we have had in movies before and get redone after time. Like the first story we would probably think of Freaky Friday and the second story as I said Alice in Wonderland. Of course the ending is different for each. Decent stories  but stuff I have seen before. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    Very suspenseful story. Wasn¿t sure I would enjoy because I¿m n

    Very suspenseful story. Wasn’t sure I would enjoy because I’m not a big circus fan, but Hubbard made the characters all come alive and the sound effects and music definitely held my attention!



    My mom listened with me and she said as a retired school librarian, I think this would be a good story to share with middle school students because of the moral of the story….the size of your character is way more important than your actual physical size.



    I enjoyed the short story, The Last Drop, better. It was hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This pulp is so wacky and far-fetched that one has to admire Hub

    This pulp is so wacky and far-fetched that one has to admire Hubbard's imagination. This is the story of circus dwarf, Little Tom Little. The front flap of "If I Were You" states: Tom is "king of midgets, loved by crowds and carnival folks alike." The problem is Tom wants more than the recognition of being a "cute and dear" little man. Looking at people's shins all his life and being considered a freak has taken its toll. He has big dreams in his little body... he longs to be ringmaster. His life changes when he discovers ancient books that contain the "how to" secrets of switching bodies. Without giving away the conclusion, Little Tom Little craving a larger body, embarks on a naive, but brave and perilous journey that finds him center ring in a heap of trouble. It's an unbelievable and fantastical tale, but at the same time, it offers a portrait of the extent a human being will go to achieve his dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    Know thyself!!!

    Circus midget, Tom Little, is loved by friends and audiences but not by himself. He wants desperately to be "big". This is a compelling and revealing study of the importances of the size of one's body, one's spirit, one's strength of character, and integrity. While it takes place in the bawdy atmosphere of a circus, there are lessons to be learned, on a deep level, about the value any of us place in physical vs. character attributes. This is more than a shallow amusement. It is a revelation and lesson in who we really are and the value of real relationships. I'd recommend this to anyone who has a physical quality about themselves they do not like and to all pretty people as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Unlike anything I've heard before

    This one is something special. A great fantasy yarn in the classic pulp tradition, but as fresh and original now as it ever was. I couldn't put it down and loved every second of it. If you like cookie cutter characters and demand only the pure, handsome hero, stay away. But if you like a great adventure fantasy story, with a unique main character and a whole roller coaster of twists, I couldn't more strongly recommend this story. I loved it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2