Customer Reviews for

If I Were You

Average Rating 4.5
( 307 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(201)

4 Star

(62)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

IF I WERE YOU by Lisa Renee Jones is an erotic thrill ride. Sar

IF I WERE YOU by Lisa Renee Jones is an erotic thrill ride. Sara is a school teacher that finds herself reading erotic journals found in a storage unit bought by her friend and neighbor. The neighbor is being wisked away by her new man and leaves the contents of the s...
IF I WERE YOU by Lisa Renee Jones is an erotic thrill ride. Sara is a school teacher that finds herself reading erotic journals found in a storage unit bought by her friend and neighbor. The neighbor is being wisked away by her new man and leaves the contents of the storage unit including journal’s of a woman Rebecca’s detailed sex life to Sara. After Sara reads the haunting words in the journal she fears something terrible may have happened to Rebecca. That is when Sara devises a plan to step into Rebecca’s life and work at Rebecca’s old job. That is when all the fun begins! This book is a great read. It is a cliff hanger of a book though, but 2 more books will be out in the series along with short stories that include the journal entries.

Rating 5

Heat rating: hot

Reviewed by Rae,My Book Addiction Reviews

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

If I were.......I'de wait until......

Ok. Great book. But kind of expensive to be given only a third of the story! When will the next one be out? This really sucks. It's like reading a really great book and then you find that a BIG portion is missing! It's agrivating! I'm sure there must be a method to this...
Ok. Great book. But kind of expensive to be given only a third of the story! When will the next one be out? This really sucks. It's like reading a really great book and then you find that a BIG portion is missing! It's agrivating! I'm sure there must be a method to this author's madness. Maybe make you forget that by the time the next portion of the book is released you will forget that you paid over $7 for only part of the story! That's a pretty expensive book!!! So.....I suggest you wait until they all come out so you can figure out if the entire story is worth over $20!!! I'm giving it one star because i shouldn't be feeling so agrivated when i get to the "end" of the book. Don't think i'll be buying the other part of the story......

posted by daba82 on November 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    If I were.......I'de wait until......

    Ok. Great book. But kind of expensive to be given only a third of the story! When will the next one be out? This really sucks. It's like reading a really great book and then you find that a BIG portion is missing! It's agrivating! I'm sure there must be a method to this author's madness. Maybe make you forget that by the time the next portion of the book is released you will forget that you paid over $7 for only part of the story! That's a pretty expensive book!!! So.....I suggest you wait until they all come out so you can figure out if the entire story is worth over $20!!! I'm giving it one star because i shouldn't be feeling so agrivated when i get to the "end" of the book. Don't think i'll be buying the other part of the story......

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    IF I WERE YOU by Lisa Renee Jones is an erotic thrill ride. Sar

    IF I WERE YOU by Lisa Renee Jones is an erotic thrill ride. Sara is a school teacher that finds herself reading erotic journals found in a storage unit bought by her friend and neighbor. The neighbor is being wisked away by her new man and leaves the contents of the storage unit including journal’s of a woman Rebecca’s detailed sex life to Sara. After Sara reads the haunting words in the journal she fears something terrible may have happened to Rebecca. That is when Sara devises a plan to step into Rebecca’s life and work at Rebecca’s old job. That is when all the fun begins! This book is a great read. It is a cliff hanger of a book though, but 2 more books will be out in the series along with short stories that include the journal entries.

    Rating 5

    Heat rating: hot

    Reviewed by Rae,My Book Addiction Reviews

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!

    My oh my!!! Hot, Steamy, Suspenseful!!! I am already aching for book 2. This book is a MUST READ!!! The characters are well developed and the story line just gets better as it progresses. I loved Sara and Chris and I'm praying they make it! CAN'T WAIT FOR BOOK 2 and I'm glad there will be a book 3. Be warned, Book 1 is a cliff-hanger! It does leave you hanging...for more!!!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Must read!

    Great! You will not be disappointed. Sexy & Suspenseful! Wish we didnt have to wait so long for the next.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wow, just wow. This novel is "50 shades of Gray" meets

    Wow, just wow. This novel is "50 shades of Gray" meets suspense. The characters are very well written. I like that both the main characters are damaged, they seem more realistic. The book definitely grips you. I've been wanting to read this novel for quite some time, I'm glad that I finally picked it up. I could barely put the novel down, it's a roller coaster ride through the seasons. You have the red hot summer, the simmering down of fall, the dead ice of winter, and the laughter of spring. You get to experience everything in this novel. It is quite interesting. The ending is definitely a cliff hanger. If you are one of those individuals who demand closure, do not read this book until the next novel is out.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Love the characters. Love the intrigue. Can't wait for the series to continue

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Lisa Renee Jones, and her publicist.)
    When Sara’s friend dumps a storage unit full of crap on her and elopes, the last thing Sara expects is for this to lead to a job opportunity. Reading some erotic diaries found in the storage unit though, Sara sets about trying to find the owner of the stuff in the storage unit in order to return it, and gets more than she bargained for.

    When the owner (Rebecca) turns out to be on a limitless leave of absence from her job at an art gallery, Sara sees a way in and offers to step in for Rebecca over the summer while she herself is on summer holidays from her teaching job. Her degree is actually in art, and this kind of job would be a dream come true for her.

    Another thing that Sara wasn’t counting on is Chris – a famous artist whose work is sold at the gallery where Sara begins to work. He seems to take a shine to Sara, and makes an effort to spend time with him.
    Is working at the gallery really what Sara needs? What does Chris want with her? And what happened to Rebecca?


    Let’s start by saying that this was a very naughty little story, and definitely an adult one!

    Sara is a great character, who goes out of her way to try to find Rebecca, but is also intrigued as to who it was that Rebecca was having such a steamy affair with. She’s pretty conservative, but at the same time doesn’t shy away from the fact that she finds Rebecca’s erotic diaries a turn on.
    It is difficult to really know where Sara’s passion is going to flow in this story, as not only does she have the tortured artist Chris taking an interest in her, but also the gallery owner, who certainly seems the type to dominate a relationship!

    The Love scenes between Chris and Sara are very steamy, with the perfect amount of heat and teasing, and a tasty hint that things could develop further! The relationship is not 100% what Sara expected, but things progress and satisfy her immensely, and Chris manages to maintain his sexy, dark horse appeal throughout.

    There is both drama and intrigue in this book, and quite a few suspense-filled moments. The ending leaves us with a bit of a cliff-hanger unfortunately, but gives plenty of excitement and suspense for the next instalment! I can’t wait to find out what happens to Sara and Chris in the next instalment, as well as getting just a bit closer to finding what happened to Rebecca!

    Overall; a naughty, erotic romance, with a hint of mystery, and plenty of excitement!
    8.5 out of 10.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Good Read

    Cant wait for the next one :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Good story

    A friend recommended this book. SHe was right, better story line than 50 shades.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Gripping

    Well developed story and characters. This was a difficult book to stop reading. You just had to find out what happened next. The male characters quite sexy. Weeks after finishing the book still thinking about the story. The ending horrible; it's difficult having to wait a year for the sequel! On the same level as 50 Shades of Gray but written for a mature, educated audience.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2014

    Fantastic! Love the idea that a simple storage unit can change

    Fantastic! Love the idea that a simple storage unit can change the lives of these characters. Very sexy, romantic, heartbreaking at times and full of suspense. I could not put this book down. I kept putting off reading this book because I wasn't quite in the mood for a Fifty Shades themed series. What a mistake that was! This series really holds its own and is very different than FS . I dare to say that I liked it even more. As soon as I finished, I purchased the next book because I needed to know what had happened next. This is a must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Plot spoilers

    Too many plot spoilers. One named lisa lou even went so far as to quite passages. Really? I mean, come on...giving away the entire plot is bad enough, but quoting complete passages is too much. Bn, something has to be done to these plot spoilers. People are sick and tired of the entire book being destroyed by these rude ppl. Cant they be banned and their posts be deleted????

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Loved it.

    I recommend this book. Can't wait for book 2.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Fun idea

    I really enjoyed first part of this story. It has everything; well developed likeable characters, mystery, & passion. I am really intrigued by the idea of reading the compimentary journals to help figure out the mystery!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    LOVED IT!!!!!!!

    WOW not at all what i expected! I love that it is not predictable and a lot of twists to keep you reading and guessing. The ending though!!!! Cant wait for book 2. Needs to get here like ASAP!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Great Novel!!!

    I truly enjoyed this book. Although its compared to Fifty, I found it more similar to Bared to You...since they both are 'broken'. I can't wait for next book... I wish this one was longer..... and I can't wait to find out who's Rebecca's boyfriend!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I took a gamble with If I Were You. I was given the opportunity

    I took a gamble with If I Were You. I was given the opportunity to review book 4 of the Inside Out series for free-so in order to be able to do that I needed to catch up and read the first three. I purchased all three in the hopes that I would not be disappointed. I was a little nervous but I was very pleasantly surprised. I like this book on so many levels. First of all the drama isn’t too over the top. In so many romance novels the two main characters seem to have an endless amount of obstacles to overcome-most of them seem so insignificant but are built up to epic proportions. I didn’t want to roll my eyes once. I also found it refreshing that there wasn’t a lot of heat in the beginning, but once it started it was smoldering. Finally this was more than just a romance novel there is true mystery and intrigue and the ending will have you saying… What!!!! The characters are all complex. You have Mark the powerful and commanding boss that seems to have a hidden agenda. There is Chris the tortured artist with a dark side, who wants to be a white knight. You have Sara, the school teacher who feels a kinship to a mystery woman and in trying to help her, is realizing that she could make her own dreams come true. And finally, there is Rebecca, the mystery woman whose words are haunting and whereabouts are unknown. There are several references to Sara feeling like Alice in Wonderland, but to me it seems more like she’s opened Pandora’s Box. This is a must read for anyone tired of traditional romance novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Confusing and Not A Trilogy

    I really wanted to like this book but it was too confusing. First, Sara gets flustered reading an erotic passage from a journal but later the author hints at her having been in a submissive physical relationship. Is she or isnt she a naive scool teacher? Seems like that changed partway through the story.

    Other confusing parts were about her family: she tells Eric she never talks about her dad but why? Is it because of the abuse that is hinted at or because he is controlling? I get that the character won't talk about it but it seems like author should have developed that part of the story so the reader could understand.

    Also confusing was the jumping between current action, passages from the journals and dreams.

    Finally, somebody needs to explain to the author and/or publisher just what a trilogy is. A trilogy can stand on its own - it does NOT stop mid-story so that you have to buy the rest of the books at $8 a pop to find out what happens. Imagine that the movie Titanic stops when Rose is still hanging off the side of the boat as Jack is trying to pull her back up. That's pretty much what happens in this story.

    I stopped reading this halfway through and skipped to the end. I gave it 2 stars because it was initially interesting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Excellent!

    Great book. This is the first of a trilogy involving Sara and Chris. Sara is a school teacher on summer break who becomes obsessed with journals written by a possibly missing woman. These journals are very erotic and provocative and hint at something dangerous that could possibly be responsible for her disappearance. Sara follows her trail and ends up working at the same art studio as Rebecca, the missing woman. This is where she meets Chris, an artist, and they immediately are strongly attracted to each there. As they explore this attraction, they realize that they have both been damaged by past events and are kindred spirits. Chris has some big dark secrets, and Sara has a history of running when things get too tough. This book ended with a cliffhanger, and I can hardly wait for book 2. The plot and character development of this book were excellent and the steam was 4+. Great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    I'm in love with this Trilogy

    WOW! This is my first Lisa Renee Jones book and I LOVE it. Always on the edge of your seat. Can't wait foe theSecond book Being Me and Thirs book Revealing Us. SaraMcMillian is a woman who needs a good man, but has she found the rifht one? And if so, whichone is it? Sara's life is making a drastic turn but which way wil it go?

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 307 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16