Customer Reviews for

If Loving You is Wrong

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Love is never wrong!

True love comes once in a lifetime, and it's rare and precious to find such faith. Even after her prison sentence, they got back together - that's love. Regardless of age, and yes, they should've waited, but it's true love, plain and simple. If she didn't really love hi...
True love comes once in a lifetime, and it's rare and precious to find such faith. Even after her prison sentence, they got back together - that's love. Regardless of age, and yes, they should've waited, but it's true love, plain and simple. If she didn't really love him, she would've aborted his babies. A slow and painful death to all you narrow-minded, predjudiced, unsympathetic, shallow people - they have every right in the world to be together. Just leave them alone - let them get married and raise their kids, and they'll do it as a team. If they're in love, nothing should keep them apart. It's that simple.

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

I have read and enjoyed Olsen's Abandoned Prayers and hoped that the Letourneau book would have the same impact. The beginning was interesting but halfway thru the book there was too much jumping around from year to year. Also, too many characters with too little inpu...
I have read and enjoyed Olsen's Abandoned Prayers and hoped that the Letourneau book would have the same impact. The beginning was interesting but halfway thru the book there was too much jumping around from year to year. Also, too many characters with too little input. Wanted to know more about Vili. I was speed reading the last quarter of the book, just picking up pertinent info. Disappointed.

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Love is never wrong!

    True love comes once in a lifetime, and it's rare and precious to find such faith. Even after her prison sentence, they got back together - that's love. Regardless of age, and yes, they should've waited, but it's true love, plain and simple. If she didn't really love him, she would've aborted his babies. A slow and painful death to all you narrow-minded, predjudiced, unsympathetic, shallow people - they have every right in the world to be together. Just leave them alone - let them get married and raise their kids, and they'll do it as a team. If they're in love, nothing should keep them apart. It's that simple.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2000

    Unreal and Stunning!

    Gregg Olsen has done his homework on this one and no true crime addict will be disappointed at what he presents in this book. Just as shocking at what a 34-year-old school teacher did to her sixth-grade student, is what the teen and his family tried to do as well. It is difficult to fully comprehend what both sides said and did in this web of crime and deceit. The author lays it on the line in this smoothly written book of this most famous of criminal cases.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Disappointed

    I have read and enjoyed Olsen's Abandoned Prayers and hoped that the Letourneau book would have the same impact. The beginning was interesting but halfway thru the book there was too much jumping around from year to year. Also, too many characters with too little input. Wanted to know more about Vili. I was speed reading the last quarter of the book, just picking up pertinent info. Disappointed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    OLSEN AND DRESS ARE HILARIOUS!!!

    I saw these two authors on Northwest Afternoon, in Seattle...what a hoot! They seem to know the REAL MARY KAY LETOURNEAU...and I've read Gregg Olsen's book AND the 'Dress' book: Mass With Mary...and they are both just super! You've got to read them both!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Interesting read, but kind of dragged at the end

    This is the most messed up woman I have ever read about. I cannot believe she fell in love with a child, and just her whole way of being as a person was repulsive to me. I didn't finish it as I just got tired of reading about her, she is a mess.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    recommended

    slow moving, hard to keep names and facts in order.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    A lot of background I wasn't aware of when the story hit the news. A very strange person to be sure sure & although many people close to her were convinced she was really in love her actions were truly bizare.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Misguided and Unloved

    This well written book tells of a sad tale of Mary Kay, who never found love at home; bellittled by her own Mom, ignored by her father; she resorts to promiscuity even before high school. She lashes out her anger and disappointments by going from boyfriend to boyfriend; often breaking the hearts of those who truly care for, and love her. She thinks she's found consolation and adoration when she gets involved with a minor (one of her own students), only to end up in hot water with the law and causes untold shame and embarrassments to rain down on family members and friends. Must read, especially for students of human behavior.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2004

    She's Definitely in the News!

    I went back and read my old copy of this book now that Ms. Letourneau is constantly in the news again with her upcoming release from prison. I also ordered another book about her life since she's been in prison called 'Mass With Mary: The Prison Years' --- this 2nd book gave me a closer look at who she is and what she's about as a person. I'm not so sure I feel the same about this case. 7 years is a long time - Celine Dion's husband is no different! Mass with Mary, written by Christina Dress WITH Mary Letourneau is close and personal about women in prison - women we forget about and forget what it must be like. It made me laugh and made me cry. Mr. Olsen's book is a good background of what happened before Mary went to prison. The 2nd book takes it from there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Needed more meat

    This book was searing enough...but the excitement only lasted until Mary's arrest. After that it turned into a story about reporters chasing to get the hottest and latest story, which tabloid paid the most money to get the inside pictures of the baby who was born out of this scandalous affair. I felt that Olsen did not have to spend too much time on whether the lawyers or Mary's friends had made a substantial amount of money from this rather low down dirty episode involving a teacher and her 12 year old student. That was irrelevant. I wanted to see more imput..more into who Mary and Vili really were..what made them fall so deeply for another....I had enjoyed the book but the gratification only lasted for 150 pages..after that it was yawn-a-yawn. Olsen's style is simple yet consequential and probably with more resources he would have been able to produce better.I felt that at the end he had reached a certain hitch so he had to include all the trivial stuff.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2000

    Astounding!

    If Loving you is Wrong is a book that you can't put down till you're done. You will be led to sympathize with the schoolteacher, Mary Kay Letourneau, who never had happiness in her marriage, a marriage that was forced upon her by her parents. When she finds her feelings growing for her student, Villi, you can't help but wish that things could be different for them. Instead, she is caught in a tangle of growing emotions that is leading her further and further into trouble with the law. This is a book that must be read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Very entertaining

    Very interesting. Discusses her family history and his. Really explains how it all happens. I don't want it to be my son, and they went about it the wrong way, but I wish then happiness in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Real Life Can Be So Interesting

    Worth the read if you are a non-fiction reader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Boring

    While the author really did his homework, which I can appreciate, there is just way way too much junk and unneccessary info in this book! This book seemed to me to be more about Mary Kay's friends than about the affair itself! I wanted a story about the affair and the direct players involved, instead this was a story about friends and neighbors and coworkers. Very dissappointing, and a complete waste of my time to read! How it got sooo many 5 star ratings is beyond me!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    I'm not an adult

    Um hey are all you guys adults cause i'm not i am 9 and almost 10 . So what are you peeps doing. Tell me what you up to by having your letter tittle be ...Hey peep

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    So interesting!

    Really goes into the lives of all involved. I was up all night reading. Good book!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2