Customer Reviews for

If Paul Were A Cyclist

Average Rating 5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    An Apostle of Faith In The God

    If Paul Were a Cyclist is the story of Charles Matthew, through his faith and his kindness, changes the lives of those he meets. Regardless of how brief their interactions might be, each instance brings both Charles Matthew and the reader closer to the joy of belief in God. Charles Matthew is fifty years old, and in good health, despite the risk of a heart problem that his doctor repeatedly warns him about. In spite of this threat to his health, he rides his bicycle as often as he can, for impressive distances. On his rides, he has some strange and extraordinary events happen to him, and the reader experiences each of these events as though they were happening in their own lives, so beautifully are they written. Charles Matthew’s faith is quiet and dignified, and largely displayed through his interactions with others; his friend Estelle, his cat Annie, and several young people he meets both at his church and while he rides his bicycle. Each time he questions an occurrence in his life, he finds himself wondering, “If Paul were a cyclist…” and answers his ponderings with a particular Biblical passage that applies to the situation. The author cleverly names the passages, but does not quote them, inspiring readers to find them for themselves and understand them as they may apply to their own lives. If Paul Were a Cyclist is a profoundly moving, truly inspirational story that gives the reader a sense of hope and encouragement, even at its most heartbreaking or saddened moments. Even though it is a short book, it packs quite a punch in the message it conveys, and the author’s subtle encouragement of goodwill towards others through the actions of Charles Matthew is both beautiful and uplifting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great read and you will be blessed. Branchfm

    Great read and you will be blessed.
    Branchfm

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    A real tugger of heart strings

    Charles Irving’s If Paul Were A Cyclist is the incredible journey of Charles Matthew, a man who lives in a historic hotel with a charming tea room. His close friend Estelle stops by daily, and gives Charles Matthew both companionship and life lessons through teachings in the Bible. She house sits for him while he takes long bicycle rides, and it is on these rides that Charles Matthew’s tale really unfolds. He meets several people on his bike rides, and each one touches his life in some way. In turn, he touches theirs through his kindness, faith, or simple presence, and each encounter is quietly beautiful and startlingly moving. Charles Matthew is a man of faith, and he attends his local church every Sunday, despite the fact that most other members of the congregation don’t seem to notice his presence in their midst. However, a little boy named Pepe, a woman named Alicia, and a young girl named Chris all notice him, since he takes time from his life to make a difference in theirs, no matter how small. He volunteers to use his passion as a cyclist to ride three hundred kilometers to help Chris go to a cancer center in another city, as she is suffering from a particularly debilitating form of the disease and is asking people to ride 10K to help her raise money to go to the center. When no one else can seem to find the time to do even the 10K ride, Charles Matthew becomes overtaken by a feeling of being touched by God, and he offers to ride from border-to-border across the state of Texas to raise money for the young lady’s cause. Much of the book leads up to this event, but along the way, numerous inspiring and interesting things happen to Charles Matthew. The author uses Charles Matthew’s story as a way to impart the message to the reader that every good deed, no matter how small, is noticed and appreciated by those around us. A truly moving and beautiful story that will have readers crying tears of both sadness and joy, If Paul Were A Cyclist is an incredible book about faith, hope, and the love of those around us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2012

    An absolutely awe-inspiring story that is written in a clear and

    An absolutely awe-inspiring story that is written in a clear and true voice, If Paul Were A Cyclist is the beautiful story of a man named Charles Matthew.

    Charles Matthew rides his bicycle religiously, despite warnings from his doctor that, although he is in good health, he needs to restrict his riding due to latent heart condition. Charles Matthew continues to ride, in spite of these warnings, because of the strange and lovely things that happen when he does. He meets several people while out on his rides whose lives he changes in some way, as they change his at the same time.

    These small stories within the story are colorful and moving, and several of them will have readers moved to tears. Many of these occurrences, along with others in his life, bring to Charles Matthew’s mind the question, “If Paul were a cyclist…” and each time, he answers with a particular Biblical passage that suits the situation.

    A very realistic and interesting character, Charles Matthew manages to uphold his faith even when it seems as though he could just let go of it. The author’s sense of faith shines through in each chapter as well, woven throughout Charles Matthew’s story in subtle and inspiring ways. More than mere coincidences, the chance meetings that Charles Matthew continually happens upon are as real, honest and awe-inspiring to the reader as they are to Charles Matthew.

    Examining the truth that sometimes bad things may happen in our lives, If Paul Were a Cyclist manages to help put these events into perspective for us, adding hope and reason to the occurrences that shape our lives, even if we don’t always understand why they happened at all. “When your spirits need lifting, look outside of yourself and help someone else”, as Charles Matthew tells his friend, and after reading this incredibly uplifting, heartbreaking and beautiful story, readers will most certainly be inspired to do exactly that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    An absolutely awesome book! Not only a wonderful story, but the

    An absolutely awesome book! Not only a wonderful story, but the author has a delightful way of making us see the characters as so real. I feel like I want to know these people! The author strives to help us see how God and the Holy Spirit enter our lives and lead us toward Him. He has a remarkable way of demonstrating how the Bible actually applies to us in our daily life. I read this book in one sitting. I could not put it down. It made me laugh, cry, and just gave me hope. When I finished reading it, I sat for the longest moment & reflected on how much power God shows in each of our lives, if we just listen. I want to thank the author for writing this book, a treasure for sure. We will come away with a feeling that this book is truly an inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Very enjoyable...Read it in one day...

    I enjoyed the book very much. It shows how everyone's life in connected to so many others through Christ. I look forward to reading more of Charles Irving's Books. (I hope this is just one of many). I looked up the Passages in the Bible that were referenced in the Bible. Charles did a very good job of connecting the Passages with the story in the book. Would recommend for a non-believer or a believer. Each person can come out of it with the same message. God is always with us!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    One of the very best novels you will ever read. It'll put you in

    One of the very best novels you will ever read. It'll put you in touch with every feeeling you have. It will definitly make you think. I hope there is a sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    This is the most amazing and inspirational story I have read in

    This is the most amazing and inspirational story I have read in a very long time. I laughed, I cried and for the first time in a very very long time I was directed to God. I have looked up every scripture mentioned in the book and drew something from each one. This is a very extradinary book and story. I hope to read more from this author. Thank you Charles Matthew for sharing this story with me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    It was a very inspirational book started reading and couldnt put

    It was a very inspirational book started reading and couldnt put it down it really made me think of my standing with god and my faith, everyone should give it a look you wount regret it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Strongly Recommended

    If Paul were a cyclist was an excellent Christian Book. It has everything that you would expect out of a book and plus some. Once I picked it up I could not put it down. I recommend this book to anyone and it would make a great gift for any family and friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1