Customer Reviews for

If There Be Thorns (Dollanganger Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

V.C Andrews

This is a great, but slightly creepy book. In If There Be Thorns, Christopher and Cathy have two yoing boys. Bart, the younger of the two has Riley's Day Sydrome, the inability to feel pain. This story revolves around Bart, the veiled lady, and Bart's brother (I forgot ...
This is a great, but slightly creepy book. In If There Be Thorns, Christopher and Cathy have two yoing boys. Bart, the younger of the two has Riley's Day Sydrome, the inability to feel pain. This story revolves around Bart, the veiled lady, and Bart's brother (I forgot his name) and his sweetheart Melody. While the house is being built, the boys are fascinated as to who would build a big house next to theirs, in the middle of nowhere. While the boys are watching the house being built Kathy is teaching her dance class and Christopher is at his hospital, as he became a doctor. Kathy's favorite student dies in a car crash, but before she did she gave her two year old daughter to Kathy, thus creating a new addition to the family. When the lady and her butler move in next door, things start to go awry. The lady spoils Bart, while the butler gives him a journal and the 'secrets to great sucsess.' Bart starts to pretend he is someone named Malcolm and is being cruel, with a hint of madness. Who are the people next door? Why is Bart pretending to be Malcolm? As the secrets of the past are revealed, will the Dollanganger's rise to the challenge? Be prepare for this novel in the series, as it brings death, hidden answers, people of the past, heart break, life saving, realization, and who everyone says they are and who they will become. This installment is written in the two boy's points of view. Bart carries the drama and anger, while his brother has the romance and protectivess. Will the family be torn apart by the Foxworth Hall curse? Or will love override it. The flowers have blossomed and now their seeds have too, but what do you do if the blossomed flower has thorns? V.C Andrews brings her best, so get ready and watch the flowers petals fall or blossom. Read on, to find out.

posted by 6288060 on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The most dysfunctional family series of all time!

Out of the 3 books I've read so far in this series, this one was my least favorite. I almost stopped reading at one point because I was so bothered by the animal cruelty that took place. Luckily that was only a small part in the book and I was able to push past it. Over...
Out of the 3 books I've read so far in this series, this one was my least favorite. I almost stopped reading at one point because I was so bothered by the animal cruelty that took place. Luckily that was only a small part in the book and I was able to push past it. Overall it was a decent story and a crucial element in the Dollanganger series.

posted by 9784599 on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    &starf&starf&starf&starf&starf Review!

    It was wonderful! I loved Bart POV, and l got a little bored with Jory's. And l really saw the world through Bart's eyes most.....now l feel like him. In conclusion, this is a wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Fuckclan

    At symbola

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Post here

    Post here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    A must read in the series

    A scary look into the mind of a lost, disturbed child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    Dark fury

    Howls waits for reply

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Review

    Im not sure, it could be just me, but is anyone else bothered by the fact that brother and sister are like husband and wife? Half-uncle and half-niece is "okay," but brother and sister? That passes the line for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    It was ok

    Not as good as the other two books :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Whiteash

    Whiteash appeared in Sparriwsun's vision. "You little mouse-brain," she meowed, a hint of a hiss in her voice, "Where is Velvetstar's bofy? She needs it." (She, Whiteash, is a Starclan cat. She is silver with white paws, ear tips and tail tip.)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Cloudriplw

    "Hey, it's ok." Cloudripple gently helped Sparrowsun down. "Can I help with anything?"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    TO OUTCAST

    I dont know your stage name! Post it in next result.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Fawnpaw

    No thank you. She smiles. You will be a fine med cat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Sparrowsun

    /•\ Clinging to a rockleged, the drenched Tabby shivered. "Yeah." Her blind orbitals closed tightly, and she allowed herself to slowly touch the ground at the receedibg waters. /•\

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Flowerpaw

    "I got the catmint!" She cried before taken out by the current. Her small fragile body crazily tumbled through the water. Flowerpaw hit her left ear on the entrence to the den. It started to bleed ad ring. But she swam and made it onto the shore.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    The Medicine Den

    Lying off to the side of the rocky valley is a small tunnel. A couple dips indent the ground that have been lined with moss and grooves in the stone walls make perfect shelves for storing herbs. Trickling from the back wall is a stream of water that pours into a pool. A wooden barrel rests to one side, a pleasant shelter filled with soft grass and moss. Here in this peaceful place, the medicine cats of Horseclan will heal and receive messages from their ancestors. The clan is lucky to have such skilled and gifted cats and many lives will be saved by their paws. ~ The Medicine Den - Lilywolf &hearts

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Who is bart pls explain this to me

    I confused what happened to carrie did the grandmother get them i n the second book pls explain i love spoliers so do not wory

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Poor Bart

    Such a sad tale for all the characters, but I really hate to see kids be twisted around. Glad most works out and the truth is revealed. Now if only brother n sister didn't act as husband and wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    Jet Tucker from jetpaw and silverpaw of rainclan

    Name are you blind?* race: Human but has the endurance hearing scentong ability and speed of a wolf* age: Nyki you choose* weapons: two daggers one white(Yin) the other black(Yang)*personality sarcastic, friendly, smart aleck, loyal, crazy, insane sometime, illogical, friendly* appearnce: slightly tan skin with dark brown hair and light gray eyes he wears a black hoodie with the right sleeve torn to reveal his robotic arm and torn up jean he also wears a wolf pendant that gives him the powers of a wolf

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Character applicationa here! Read!

    This is for my story, The Heros of Lyt. Now, please read my story before you put in a character application. It is at 'hero' and i skipped the third res so res fouris chapter three. Please list your race (it can be anything that is humanoid, like elves, werewolves, vampires, anything like that!), age, name, weapon of choice (anything like magic, enchanted item, anything tgat you can fight with!), looks, and anything else you can thnk of! If i dont pic you dont be to dissapointed. ~Nyki

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Awsome

    Awsome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Sad

    Wow was Bart hearing one thing and then hearing another. Although he did have his annoying moments, you felt sorry for him. The whole family is weird and that butler, yikes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9