Customer Reviews for

If There Be Thorns

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(87)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

V.C Andrews

This is a great, but slightly creepy book. In If There Be Thorns, Christopher and Cathy have two yoing boys. Bart, the younger of the two has Riley's Day Sydrome, the inability to feel pain. This story revolves around Bart, the veiled lady, and Bart's brother (I forgot ...
This is a great, but slightly creepy book. In If There Be Thorns, Christopher and Cathy have two yoing boys. Bart, the younger of the two has Riley's Day Sydrome, the inability to feel pain. This story revolves around Bart, the veiled lady, and Bart's brother (I forgot his name) and his sweetheart Melody. While the house is being built, the boys are fascinated as to who would build a big house next to theirs, in the middle of nowhere. While the boys are watching the house being built Kathy is teaching her dance class and Christopher is at his hospital, as he became a doctor. Kathy's favorite student dies in a car crash, but before she did she gave her two year old daughter to Kathy, thus creating a new addition to the family. When the lady and her butler move in next door, things start to go awry. The lady spoils Bart, while the butler gives him a journal and the 'secrets to great sucsess.' Bart starts to pretend he is someone named Malcolm and is being cruel, with a hint of madness. Who are the people next door? Why is Bart pretending to be Malcolm? As the secrets of the past are revealed, will the Dollanganger's rise to the challenge? Be prepare for this novel in the series, as it brings death, hidden answers, people of the past, heart break, life saving, realization, and who everyone says they are and who they will become. This installment is written in the two boy's points of view. Bart carries the drama and anger, while his brother has the romance and protectivess. Will the family be torn apart by the Foxworth Hall curse? Or will love override it. The flowers have blossomed and now their seeds have too, but what do you do if the blossomed flower has thorns? V.C Andrews brings her best, so get ready and watch the flowers petals fall or blossom. Read on, to find out.

posted by 6288060 on January 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The most dysfunctional family series of all time!

Out of the 3 books I've read so far in this series, this one was my least favorite. I almost stopped reading at one point because I was so bothered by the animal cruelty that took place. Luckily that was only a small part in the book and I was able to push past it. Over...
Out of the 3 books I've read so far in this series, this one was my least favorite. I almost stopped reading at one point because I was so bothered by the animal cruelty that took place. Luckily that was only a small part in the book and I was able to push past it. Overall it was a decent story and a crucial element in the Dollanganger series.

posted by 9784599 on September 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    V.C Andrews

    This is a great, but slightly creepy book. In If There Be Thorns, Christopher and Cathy have two yoing boys. Bart, the younger of the two has Riley's Day Sydrome, the inability to feel pain. This story revolves around Bart, the veiled lady, and Bart's brother (I forgot his name) and his sweetheart Melody. While the house is being built, the boys are fascinated as to who would build a big house next to theirs, in the middle of nowhere. While the boys are watching the house being built Kathy is teaching her dance class and Christopher is at his hospital, as he became a doctor. Kathy's favorite student dies in a car crash, but before she did she gave her two year old daughter to Kathy, thus creating a new addition to the family. When the lady and her butler move in next door, things start to go awry. The lady spoils Bart, while the butler gives him a journal and the 'secrets to great sucsess.' Bart starts to pretend he is someone named Malcolm and is being cruel, with a hint of madness. Who are the people next door? Why is Bart pretending to be Malcolm? As the secrets of the past are revealed, will the Dollanganger's rise to the challenge? Be prepare for this novel in the series, as it brings death, hidden answers, people of the past, heart break, life saving, realization, and who everyone says they are and who they will become. This installment is written in the two boy's points of view. Bart carries the drama and anger, while his brother has the romance and protectivess. Will the family be torn apart by the Foxworth Hall curse? Or will love override it. The flowers have blossomed and now their seeds have too, but what do you do if the blossomed flower has thorns? V.C Andrews brings her best, so get ready and watch the flowers petals fall or blossom. Read on, to find out.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    More like 3.5 stars, original style

    I didn't enjoy this book as much as the first two in the series. I really liked Jory's point of view but didn't care for Bart's. It was a little too religiously fanatic for me, probably the whole point though. The juxaposition of the two sons with their opposite perspectives was original and the best part of the book. It was like looking at a glass half full then alternating to looking at it half empty. I liked what the boys represented/symbolized but my heart and mind weren't as attached to the characters nor story very much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    It's interesting to see the next generation fall apart due to th

    It's interesting to see the next generation fall apart due to the actions of Chris & Cathy. The plot thickens with the neighbor... Good series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    There Will Be No Thorns--Just Stars!

    A seemingly perfect family of four, an extremely well-guarded secret, and a long-lost, and unwanted, relative are only a few of the things that contribute to the overwhelming intensity of V.C. Andrews' If There Be Thorns. The third saga in a series of four, published by Vanda General Partnership, Andrews continues the dark and forbidden tale of the 'Dollanganger' family with incredible detail and imagery. As with the two previous novels, Andrews draws her readers in to a sense of reality with her excellent storytelling and inspiring creative skills. If There Be Thorns was made into an exceptional novel because of Andrews' intense and twisting plots, her imaginative and exaggerated use of language, and her outstanding sense of realism she brings to all of her works.
    In the previous novels in the series, Flowers In The Attic and Petals In The Wind, the four Dollanganger children move from their home in Greenglenna to their estranged grandparent's mansion, Foxworth Hall, with their newly widowed mother. Once there, the children are confined to the attic because of their mother's secrecy with her dying father. They are promised that, once the grandfather dies, they will be allowed to come down from the attic and relish in an extravagant Foxworth life full of glory and riches. Andrews shows through her words distinctly how painful and full of suffering their three years of confinement were. After coming to many terrible realizations about their mother and grandparents, and the loss of their younger brother Cory, the children manage to escape the mansion, and the two eldest children, Chris and Catherine, strive to find happiness, while Carrie still suffers the hardships of the attic.
    Over the next years, Catherine marries twice, resulting in two children: Jory and Bart (the son of her mother's husband), and an adopted daughter named Cindy. They all suffer many losses, including that of their sister Carrie, and Catherine's first and second husbands. In If There Be Thorns, Andrews continues the tale of the two remaining Dollanganger children and the family that they have built with each other. Posing as Jory and Bart's step-father, Christopher continues to protect Catherine and her children, especially when an old woman, who is very interested in Bart, moves into the mansion next to their home. As time goes on, the children begin to realize that their parents have a secret, and the woman next door slowly begins to reveal her true identity...
    Although the basis of this story seems like a highly unlikely (bordering on impossible) story, Andrews creates a very realistic atmosphere in the small town of Fairfax, California. Though the series was first published in the late 70's ( this book in particular in 1981), she finds a way to relate the characters to her readers, enables readers from present-day connect, and let them find some common ground with the things and situations that she writes about. Throughout the series, it was easy to imagine the scenarios her characters found themselves in and put yourself in their shoes, such as the way Bart acts towards his adopted sister Cindy, or how scared the family is when they cannot find Catherine . Andrews manages to keep her characters right alongside all the twists and turns her intricate plots take, and use the imagery necessary for her readers to make themselves a part of the world of the Dollanganger family.
    Imagery is one of the most important factors V.C. Andrews brings to the Dollangang

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2015

    Good Read

    Not the quality as the original V C Andrews' books, but a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2014

    Review

    Im not sure, it could be just me, but is anyone else bothered by the fact that brother and sister are like husband and wife? Half-uncle and half-niece is "okay," but brother and sister? That passes the line for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    It was ok

    Not as good as the other two books :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Sparrowsun

    /•\ Clinging to a rockleged, the drenched Tabby shivered. "Yeah." Her blind orbitals closed tightly, and she allowed herself to slowly touch the ground at the receedibg waters. /•\

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Poor Bart

    Such a sad tale for all the characters, but I really hate to see kids be twisted around. Glad most works out and the truth is revealed. Now if only brother n sister didn't act as husband and wife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    pretty good

    its hard to get used to the bouncing back and forth between Bart and Jory,but other than that it was great! once you get past the first 3 chapters the book really engrosses you in it and you cant stop reading...GREAT BOOK!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2005

    if there be thorns

    In contrast to the other reviews Ireally enjoyed this book. It is different from the others, but it's uniqueness was the best part about it. I was deeply engrossed in this book and I especially loved the twisted character of Bart, finding him immensly amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2004

    Slow but Important!

    I thought this book was important, because it gave you the personality of Cathy's two sons. Which I find very important in the 4th book- Seeds of Yesterday. I have not yet finished that book..but so far I have found it helpful to know both Jory and Barts personalities! Even though If There Be Thorns seemed to go by a lot slower then the other books I still liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    a very good book

    It may not be the best book in the Dollanganger series but you need to read it to know all about Bart. I thought it was really good. I hated and felt sorry for bart at the same time. It is a very good book. my favorite Dollanganger book is Petals On The Wind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    This is the best series

    The Dollanganger series is awesome. One of the best! The book can get confusing at times because both Jory and Bart tell the story. Be patient though. It's a good'n!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2000

    interesting

    the story was a bit dull in the beginning but it did pick up and it was very enjoyable. i think maybe it was hard to match the book right before this one which is still my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2