Customer Reviews for

If These Walls Could Talk

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2008

    READ THE FINE PRINT ALWAYS.

    This book was very informative. Sometimes we want something so bad that we don't take the time to research & investagate all of the pros and cons, before we make a move. Somethings are easy to get into but hard to get out of 'house, marriage, etc). But if you have determination and will power no matter what is thrown your way, you will be able to waether the storm. Read this book and get your learn on. I must say this was a nice read. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    I really enjoyed this book and the various characters throughout. I found it difficult to put the book down until I came to some conclusion as to what was going on with the characters. I also just really like the way the author writes. It's clear and not mucked up with furious passages describing nonsense. There's a great flow to it - I giggled, I frowned and when I put the book down, I found myself thinking about the characters afterwards. I wonder if the author would ever consider writing a sequel. I want to know where they are now. All of these things, I believe, make up a great story. Final words: Buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    A reviewer

    Three families, Reuben and Camille Curry their son and daughter, Milo and Dawn Young and their son, Veronica and Norman Lee and their girls, each with the same dreams owing a home outside of New York. Providing a new and different life style where their children can play, they can have parties, and simply just relax. Each family sets out to make their dreams come true, the Curry¿s and Young¿s dive head first in to buying their dream home, communication, and love dissolve into hatred, and distrust becomes the word of the day. Can they survive the changes in their lives? On the other side of the fence the Lee¿s research, the ins and outs of owning their dream home, made sound decisions becoming the center of the these families. In If These Walls Could Talk, Ms Bettye Griffin dealt with the daily lives of families how they each handle problems in different ways, teaching us no matter the problems you may be having in your family, trust, communication, faith in God, and love will see you through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    Wow, If these walls could really TALK. . . .

    I found Ms. Griffin lastest novel to be very informative as well as entertaining. The three couples in her book could be your next door neigbors or someone you've known for a long time. I saw myself in a few of the characters, and I also saw myself making those same mistakes. One thing I did learn from this book is 'LOOK BEFORE YOU LEAP'. It just goes to show how unscrupulous some people in the real estate business can be and do your homework before you go house hunting. Just remember this 'Caveat emptor' 'Let the buyer beware' before making any major purchases. This book is not only about home buying, it also delves into the relationships of three couples 'Norman & Veronica', 'Rueben & Camille' and 'Milo & Dawn'. I would recommend this book as a must read, because I truly enjoyed it. I will definitely bring it up to my book club. Thank you Ms. Griffin for another knockout novel. V. Simmons--Sistah Girls Book Club-Miami Chapter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2007

    Moving Up

    In Bettye Griffin¿s newest novel, If These Walls Could Talk, she takes the reader inside the world of three first-time homebuyers. What these couples endured in their quest to get a piece of the American dream, a house in the suburbs, is nothing short of amazing. With the housing market in New York being out of range, they all jumped at the opportunity to own a home in Pennsylvania at what seemed to be affordable prices. They had to deal with shady real estate agents, contractors, jealous family members and broken promises. This novel could have been a manual of the dos-and-don¿ts of home buying. The Youngs, a family of three resided in a New York rent controlled apartment. Since they were not paying much, they could afford to delve into some luxuries, like vacations every year and designer clothes. When they purchased their home, they found their budget did not stretch as far as they imagined and the stress of trying to keep up with the bills, put a strain on their marriage. The Curry family also bought a home in the suburbs. With both parents working, they enjoyed their new roles as homeowners. However, their families were not as pleased with their upward mobility. Even with all the negative remarks, the Currys continued to host the family on holidays and allow relatives to stay at their home. Everything seemed to go well until unemployment struck. The job market in Pennsylvania was just not as good as in New York and after a long stint of unemployment the couple had to make desperate changes. The Lee family was the only family to really stop and learn about home ownership, mortgages, and budgeting. While they also left New York for Pennsylvania, they made decisions that may have seemed odd to the other couples, but it was best for them. They bought an older house and slowly fixed it up. Their family members found their housing situation to be a home away from home and until they put their foot down, they were hosting relatives every weekend. Once I got through the first 60 pages, this book really picked up and I found myself enjoying reading about the antics of the families and their family members. It also made me think as a first-time homebuyer of all the things that could have happened if I did not do as the Lees did and researched and asked many questions. Which was something the Currys and the Youngs failed to do. I would recommend this book to those who are contemplating buying a home. While this is a fictional account, there are many truths in this novel. Also, fans of Bettye Griffin will enjoy this one. Jeanette APOOO BookClub

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    Buyer Beware- What You Don't Know Can Hurt You

    Bettye Griffin takes us inside the world of three first-time homebuyers. What these couples endured in their quest to get a piece of the American dream, a house in the suburbs, is nothing short of amazing. With the housing market in New York being out of range, they all jumped at the opportunity to own a home in Pennsylvania at what seemed to be affordable prices. They deal with shady real estate agents, incompetent contractors, jealous family members and broken promises. The Youngs, a family of three reside in a New York rent controlled apartment. Since they were not paying much, they believe that they can afford some luxuries. However, when they purchased their home, they found their budget did not stretch as far as they imagined and the stress of trying to keep up with the bills, put a strain on their marriage. The Curry family also decides to buy a home in the suburbs. With both parents working, they enjoyed their new roles as homeowners. However, their own families were jealous their opportunities. Even with all the negative comments, the Currys continued to host their families on holidays and put them up in their new home. When unemployment struck and the job market isn't good, the Currys make desperate changes. The Lee family was the only family who took the time to get educated about home ownership, mortgages, and budgeting. They too left New York for Pennsylvania, and made decisions that may have seemed odd to others, yet best for the Lees. They decided to buy a `fixer-upper¿ and gradually made improvements. Their family members behaved as it the Lees home was a vacation retreat until the Lees agreed to stop hosting relatives every weekend. This book had a nice introduction of all the families. I enjoyed reading about the antics of the families and their family members. The novel also makes you think about what possible mistakes you can make if you don't do your homework like the Lees did. While a fictional account, I recommend this book to anyone thinking about buying a home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    Be Careful What You Wish For

    I've been a fan of Bettye Griffin's for years, and I have finally found a book that tops my fave of hers (for those who want to know my PAST fave, it's STRAIGHT TO THE HEART): the latest fave is If These Walls Could Talk. This is a story about having dreams and pursuing them, but not seeing the devastating consequences of your pursuit until it's too late. The novel centers around three New York families who all have one dream, an American dream: having a home of their own. Each family has its reason for wanting a home: more space for their children the appearance of moving upward, of succeeding safety affordability. Enter Pennsylvania's Pocono Mountains, a community where families can come and buy newly developed homes, affordably, and live the American dream. Two of the families are drawn to the shiny brightness, newness to the community and are quickly lured into buying homes in the development the other family opts to buying an older, less expensive home in the area - all three of the families, as they move into their journey of being home owners, are in for a rude awakening as they realize that sometimes dreams can turn into nightmares. This is a novel that I think will resonate with readers of all kinds. It's a book that teaches patience because none of the characters had it they wanted their dream, and none of them took heed to the WHAT IFs of home ownership. I liken this book to that old saying, 'Your eyes are bigger than your stomach.' These characters' eyes are wide to the positive possibilities of owning a home. Their eyes are bigger than the WHAT IFs, bigger than the consequences, sometimes negative ones, that can occur because of home ownership. None of them thinks their relationships will end, or their homes were built shabbily, or they will have to foreclose, or they will gain weight, or they will lose their jobs, or they will have to live - for a while - without their children with them. Don't understand how some of these things can happen? Then you need to read If These Walls Could Talk because as a future homeowner, it opened my eyes to what can happen if your dreams block your common sense. Griffin did a great job in taking a serious issue and planted it within solid, credible characters that you feel for, that you want to see succeed. I truly enjoyed this story on several levels: it's a great story, it has good characters, it has great subject matter, and just as important as these, it taught me something. When a book can do that, I'm sold. I hope you are, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1