Customer Reviews for

If This World Were Mine

Average Rating 4.5
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2003

    HOOKED

    I was HOOKED when I first turned on to E. Lynn Harris. I can't remember which book I read first but I have read them all except A Love of My Own but it's in my TBR pile. My favorite being Any Way The Wind Blows.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2002

    TOP OF MY LIST

    I THOUGHT THAT THIS BOOK ALONG WITH THE OTHERS WAS VERY INTERTAINING. I THINK THAT HE IS A VERY GOOD WRITER AND THAT HE SHOULD MAKE MOVIES OUT OF HIS FILMS. HIS BOOKS ALWAYS KEEP ME WANTING MORE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2003

    IOnce you start you wont be able to put it down

    The book is full of suprises and events. I enjoyed the book especially becasue it was African American gay lititure andthat is always great! I also belive that the formatin which the author writes the book keeps you reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    The value of friendship...

    A true tale of trust, friendship, and understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2002

    Worth Movie Making......

    This book could have been called the Real World like the MTV sitcome. It deals with life to life bases and I really loved it. Lynn used his great talents to create a beautiful book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    Blazin Story!!!!

    I Loved it. All of E. Lynn Harris' novels are the best. He really makes you feel for the characters even if you hate them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2000

    A GREAT BOOK TO READ!!

    I really enjoyed this book especially since the ending was very heart warming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2000

    DICEY & SPICY AS USUAL

    I somehow missed this book when it first came out although I had read the books precending and a few after. However, as with the others, it held my attention until the end. Still filled with juicy characters and Mr. Harris's 'G-flavor', all I can say is that Mr. Harris truly has a gift for storytelling. One thing bother's me however, and that it that his books seem to glorify premiscuity -- can anyone spell HIV AND AIDS?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2000

    Outstanding A Work Of Art - Harris Rules

    This book touched a hot spot in my mind,it is an Outstanding work of art, E Lynn Harris is my weakness today, and everyday from this moment after. He has given me so much joy, created so much laughter. I think of this book and begin to smile, because I now know what my heart's been after. Filled with natural adventures to boggle one's mind.Tears of joy pour because this book hit home,Mr. Harris left foot-prints under the sheets.I strongly recommend this book and all of E.Lynn Harris's work. I like his style,' It was like Mr. Harris knew my life story' .This is why he is my forever weakness, I love his work, I am his greatest fan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2000

    A real real real good book

    This is the best book. I laughed and I cryed. This book was all that. I hope there is going to be a part II.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2000

    AS GOOD AS ALL HIS OTHERS

    E. Lynn Harris is a wonderful author. I have read all but two of his latest books (one hasn't been released yet) and can't wait to start them. He has opened the minds of so many of my 'narrow-minded' friends. They all laughed and made fun of me when I told them what his books were about, now they're beating me to BN and buying them before I am. Keep up the good work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2000

    A Real Approach to Black Sexuality

    'If This World Were Mine' provides a new meaning for black sexuality, particularly the black male. The dynamics of E.Lynn Harris' ability to communicate truth and honesty is amazing. It has been over a year since I have read the text, but the joy of reading such an accurate depiction of many gay black lives, straight ones too, has allowed me to reflect upon new possibilities and limitless opportunity. As our society continues to depict men who 'become' gay as nasty and disgraceful, Harris introduces us to this as more of a mystery. Indeed, being gay is a mystery. Especially, when we began to think spiritually and the interconnected characteristics that no longer serve as stereotypes but commonalities. Harris has his finger in this book and his other texts also pinpoint the dynamic of this long, lost, and sometimes unavailable mystery of black sexuality.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1