Customer Reviews for

If Walls Could Talk: An Intimate History of the Home

Average Rating 3.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Entertaining.

This book isn't intended to be a scholarly dissertation on the history of living. Instead, it is a enjoyable amble through the rooms that we all still occupy today. As such, I had a great time reading the trivia of days gone by. Good read! Now I'm off to watch the BBC t...
This book isn't intended to be a scholarly dissertation on the history of living. Instead, it is a enjoyable amble through the rooms that we all still occupy today. As such, I had a great time reading the trivia of days gone by. Good read! Now I'm off to watch the BBC television version that's still offered its website...

posted by 16981092 on January 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Bill Bryson's book "At Home" is MUCH Better!

I was very disappointed in this book, given the employment position of its author. If one knew absolutely nothing about the history of the development of the modern house, it would be passable; however, a cursory Google search on "history kitchen" or of any other room i...
I was very disappointed in this book, given the employment position of its author. If one knew absolutely nothing about the history of the development of the modern house, it would be passable; however, a cursory Google search on "history kitchen" or of any other room in a modern home would yield as much, if not more, information, fairly quickly. Ms Worsley also had an annoying habit of attempting to make a joke at the end of each chapter - a joke that, to my mind, fell flat and often was colored by her political beliefs and opinions. Frankly, the book read like a tv script. Not surprising, I guess, because the BBC produced the tv series with Ms Worsley as the announcer before she set fingers to computer typewriter.

Only get this book if it is free.

posted by Sophy0075 on April 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Entertaining.

    This book isn't intended to be a scholarly dissertation on the history of living. Instead, it is a enjoyable amble through the rooms that we all still occupy today. As such, I had a great time reading the trivia of days gone by. Good read! Now I'm off to watch the BBC television version that's still offered its website...

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Informative

    I found this book to be very interesting and informative. I do not understand why it does not have a higher rating. It is well organized and filled with historical tidbits. There is also a photo collection at the end that is also referenced with links throughout the book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2012

    Bill Bryson's book "At Home" is MUCH Better!

    I was very disappointed in this book, given the employment position of its author. If one knew absolutely nothing about the history of the development of the modern house, it would be passable; however, a cursory Google search on "history kitchen" or of any other room in a modern home would yield as much, if not more, information, fairly quickly. Ms Worsley also had an annoying habit of attempting to make a joke at the end of each chapter - a joke that, to my mind, fell flat and often was colored by her political beliefs and opinions. Frankly, the book read like a tv script. Not surprising, I guess, because the BBC produced the tv series with Ms Worsley as the announcer before she set fingers to computer typewriter.

    Only get this book if it is free.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Buyer Beware!!!

    This book is poorly written. The chapters need structural overhauls as the points jump around without a clear line of development in the chapter or in the paragraphs.

    Even more distressing, this book contains historical inaccuracies. I wish the author had done some research rather than pepper each chapter with random anecdotes, some of which are not accurate. The chapters do not contain footnotes!! The author does not cite her sources!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Interesting but

    Each chapter is about a specific subject about the home, which makes it very organized. However, the insertion of the author's comments on modern life disrupts the reading and push one to question the historical quality of the book. Overall, it was entertaining and I learned a few things.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Whats with the price change?

    This book is advertised at $3.99 but when i go to purchase it B&N is charging $9.49. Both a great deal but very misleading.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    good read

    i enjoyed the history and the humor

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Forget it!

    I got through about half and didn't find it worth finishing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Boring

    Total wadte of time, money and nook space. Minus stars.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    An Interesting History

    I found this book very interesting and enjoyed the history and learning of how the rooms and other stuff came about.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Main camp 3rd res

    Pink fluffy unicorn (fluffle puff.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Price finly fixed

    Yay!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Pikacnu

    Pikacnu

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Ekg

    Ggg

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2