Customer Reviews for

If Wishes Were Earls (Rhymes with Love Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Story If Wishes Were Earls by Mrs. Elizabeth Boyle is

Enjoyable Story If Wishes Were Earls by Mrs. Elizabeth Boyle is funny , romantic. I was looking forward to read Harreit and Roxley story. Like all Mrs.Elizabeth's book this one too was enjoyable with smart , fun characters and adventures.

posted by zeeba on January 22, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

If Wishes Were Earls is the third book in the Rhymes With Love S

If Wishes Were Earls is the third book in the Rhymes With Love Series by Elizabeth Boyle, a terrific, terrific author. I read this book as a stand-alone and didn’t have any problem except when some of the back story between the couple was mentioned and felt myself lost...
If Wishes Were Earls is the third book in the Rhymes With Love Series by Elizabeth Boyle, a terrific, terrific author. I read this book as a stand-alone and didn’t have any problem except when some of the back story between the couple was mentioned and felt myself lost, but only for a moment. I would recommend that the first two books be read first but only because the couple has known each other almost all their lives and are mentioned in the previous books. This book also mentions characters from the previous books. However, regardless of the references to earlier books, this book can be read alone and it is still a great read.
Being friends with the heroines brothers the hero in If Wished Were Earls has been aware and has known the heroine for many years. The heroine, Harriet, is a head-strong, clever, intelligent, straight speaking, making her own decisions piece of glorious work. She has loved the hero, Earl of Roxley, for as long as she can remember and she sets her mind on having him. But nothing is as smooth as it should be and there are obstacles to be overcome before they can be together.
The couple spend a scandalous night together after which Harriet expects a proposal of marriage, as it should be. However; because of problems in Roxley’s life, he leaves the next morning with no notice whatsoever and doesn’t see or talk to her for months. Then it seems he is close to marrying someone else. The good thing is Harriet, in no way, sits still for such as this. She is determined to take care of any problem keeping them apart as she has worked to hard to make him hers. He is hers and she isn’t taking no for an answer as she knows he would not simply treat her as if she was of no importance. She feels someone is out to get him and therefore ruin her future so she puts her experience from being raised with several older brothers to use and attempts to save them both.
The author combines humor, suspense, blackmail, romance, steamy charisma, adventure, danger, and mystery within this one book and makes it work. The flirty dialogue throughout keeps the reader enthralled with each turn of the page. Throw in hilarious banter between two aunts in the mix of everything else and you have a keeper. I would definitely recommend not only this book but based on this book the others in the series.
When you wish upon an earl . . .
Harriet Hathaway has only ever wanted one man: the Earl of Roxley. After a passionate interlude at a house party, Harriet is convinced Roxley will do the right thing and propose. But when she returns to London, she finds the roguish earl on the verge of proposing to another.
Yet Harriet refuses to believe that her hopes of a happily-ever-after are completely lost—for she can see the desire still flickering in the earl’s eyes when he looks at her from across the dance floor. And when they are alone . . . there is one wish neither can deny.
. . . the most extraordinary things can happen
The Earl of Roxley is in a dangerous fix—and to keep Harriet safe, he must hold her at arm’s length. He won’t entangle her in the murderous mystery that is threatening to destroy his family and his future. But keeping Harriet Hathaway out of his troubles proves as impossible as it is to keep the determined beauty from stealing his heart.

posted by Gypsyrfk on March 21, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Shade

    The clan gently mewed to each other, made a line, and as they each passed, they dropped a flower on the grave. They padded back to the camp, dipping their heads to Flower.<p>'Now you must understand why you cannot have kits.'<p>Kielion camp was in front of her. Flower felt unsually heavy, and padded into the camp. A cat ran up to her and mewed urgently,"Flower, why were you out of camp? You know your kitting is today!" The orange tom shook his head and padded back in, Flower following. Suddenly, Flower fell over, writhing, as pain laced through her body. A kit cried out in the nursery, and coughing was heard.'You cannot help it. Instead, you will see what happens. Your kitting has begun.'

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    The last of the series and finally Harriet and Roxley. They pla

    The last of the series and finally Harriet and Roxley. They played such great parts in the first two stories I was glad they had their happily ever after. Having a curse on the town was interesting throughout the three books. This story having an unseen enemy was a great way to end the trilogy. Loved all three books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    If Wishes Were Earls is the third book in the Rhymes With Love S

    If Wishes Were Earls is the third book in the Rhymes With Love Series by Elizabeth Boyle, a terrific, terrific author. I read this book as a stand-alone and didn’t have any problem except when some of the back story between the couple was mentioned and felt myself lost, but only for a moment. I would recommend that the first two books be read first but only because the couple has known each other almost all their lives and are mentioned in the previous books. This book also mentions characters from the previous books. However, regardless of the references to earlier books, this book can be read alone and it is still a great read.
    Being friends with the heroines brothers the hero in If Wished Were Earls has been aware and has known the heroine for many years. The heroine, Harriet, is a head-strong, clever, intelligent, straight speaking, making her own decisions piece of glorious work. She has loved the hero, Earl of Roxley, for as long as she can remember and she sets her mind on having him. But nothing is as smooth as it should be and there are obstacles to be overcome before they can be together.
    The couple spend a scandalous night together after which Harriet expects a proposal of marriage, as it should be. However; because of problems in Roxley’s life, he leaves the next morning with no notice whatsoever and doesn’t see or talk to her for months. Then it seems he is close to marrying someone else. The good thing is Harriet, in no way, sits still for such as this. She is determined to take care of any problem keeping them apart as she has worked to hard to make him hers. He is hers and she isn’t taking no for an answer as she knows he would not simply treat her as if she was of no importance. She feels someone is out to get him and therefore ruin her future so she puts her experience from being raised with several older brothers to use and attempts to save them both.
    The author combines humor, suspense, blackmail, romance, steamy charisma, adventure, danger, and mystery within this one book and makes it work. The flirty dialogue throughout keeps the reader enthralled with each turn of the page. Throw in hilarious banter between two aunts in the mix of everything else and you have a keeper. I would definitely recommend not only this book but based on this book the others in the series.
    When you wish upon an earl . . .
    Harriet Hathaway has only ever wanted one man: the Earl of Roxley. After a passionate interlude at a house party, Harriet is convinced Roxley will do the right thing and propose. But when she returns to London, she finds the roguish earl on the verge of proposing to another.
    Yet Harriet refuses to believe that her hopes of a happily-ever-after are completely lost—for she can see the desire still flickering in the earl’s eyes when he looks at her from across the dance floor. And when they are alone . . . there is one wish neither can deny.
    . . . the most extraordinary things can happen
    The Earl of Roxley is in a dangerous fix—and to keep Harriet safe, he must hold her at arm’s length. He won’t entangle her in the murderous mystery that is threatening to destroy his family and his future. But keeping Harriet Hathaway out of his troubles proves as impossible as it is to keep the determined beauty from stealing his heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    High Rock

    All annoucements and ceremonys are made from the top of this rock. Smaller rocks lead to the top and the leaders den is hidden behind this rock. The rock can be scene from anywhere in the came besides the nursery

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Very Nice

    This is a very nice story for Harry. Nice to see her finally get her man. It was also nice to see the depth of Roxley; he is not just another great looking rogue.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2014

    Enjoyable Story If Wishes Were Earls by Mrs. Elizabeth Boyle is

    Enjoyable Story
    If Wishes Were Earls by Mrs. Elizabeth Boyle is funny , romantic. I was looking forward to read Harreit and Roxley story. Like all Mrs.Elizabeth's book this one too was enjoyable with smart , fun characters and adventures.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Ok

    It was just ok nothing more or less.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Flower

    Looked at her greifing clan. She sat with them while meowing, "Its ok. He wouldn't want this."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Enjoyable Book

    I really enjoyed this book. It was funny, witty and romantic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book. I got a little frustrated with Roxley at times.
    An okay read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Another pleaser

    I've enjoyed this series very much. I just wish Roxley had a little more back bone, he seemed ok with being blackmailed. As always, Harriet kept me laughing & the story interesting. Looking forward to the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Harry's story (LVR)

    I'm not a fan of series. But I am just obsessive-compulsive enough to have to read them all. Had to find out what happened to Harriett, but didn't like the "flashback" style of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE &amp; posted at Under the Covers Book Blog
    Harriet Hathaway has been in love with the Earl of Roxley since she can remember and after a scandalous night with him, she fully expected him to ask for her hand. Instead when she sees him again he is almost engaged to another woman. But Harriet can sense all isn’t what it seems; the man she loves wouldn’t callously discard her in that way and there is something not quite right about his supposed intended. Roxley is in trouble and fully intends to help him put things right again.
    It isn’t very often that it is the hero of the tale that puts me off a book, but in this case that is exactly what happened, it wasn’t that Roxley was cruel or stupid he was just rather tepid. It isn’t that I expect a big bad alpha hero in every book I read but I do like a hero to have some backbone, but Roxley seemed perfectly content to allow himself to be blackmailed and forced into a marriage he didn’t want, that is until Harriet came along and decided to stir things up.
    Harriet I liked, she was feisty and intelligent and never gave up on the man she loved, she saved me from giving up on this book entirely. Romantically, they did have some chemistry together, there had shared history, but for me it all just fell a bit flat as I never really warmed up to Roxley.
    Unfortunately I just didn’t enjoy this book as much as I would have liked to and definitely not as much as other books I have read by Elizabeth Boyle, perhaps I will like the next book in the series more.
    *ARC provided by publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    IF WISHES WERE EARLS by Elizabeth Boyle is another exciting Hist

    IF WISHES WERE EARLS by Elizabeth Boyle is another exciting Historical Romance. #3 in the “Rhymes With Love” series, but can be read as a stand alone. See, “And the Miss Ran Away with the Earl” and “Along Came a Duke”. Follow the Earl of Roxley and Harriet Hathaway on a dangerous journey of love, passion and danger. Someone is trying to destroy Roxley. With betrayal, suspicion, danger and passion how can you go wrong. I believe this is by far by favorite of this series. It is fast paced and filled with suspense and action. A must read if you enjoy historical romance, the strong,protector type hero and a heroine who is determined to help her beloved Roxley. Received for an honest review from the publisher and Above the Treeline.

    RATING: 4

    HEAT RATING: MILD

    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Loved it

    I love the fact that sh kept the personalities the same over the books. I really liked harriet. I am not sure I could understand her boldness but she was the same in all the books. Very good series. The flashbacks some times got a little boring but it came togethet nicely in the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1