Customer Reviews for

If You Come Softly

Average Rating 4.5
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Black Boy, White Girl

Jeremiah Roselind is an intelligent black teenage boy who has to attend a fancy prep school. He bumps into Ellie Eisen, a white girl, in the hallway, and they are immediately attracted to one another. Disapproving glances, whispering voices, snide remarks -it isn't the ...
Jeremiah Roselind is an intelligent black teenage boy who has to attend a fancy prep school. He bumps into Ellie Eisen, a white girl, in the hallway, and they are immediately attracted to one another. Disapproving glances, whispering voices, snide remarks -it isn't the reactions from other people that tear this young couple apart before their relationship has a real chance to grow, but a tragic event. This is an interesting, well-written story about interracial dating. I was saddened by the ending.

posted by KLBCHOICES on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

okay read

the story was short but it was a good book.

posted by 5589217 on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Love this book

    This is an amazing book. It really touched me. I strongly recommend this book to any young readers in search of a fantastic read. As a 12-year-old, I cam say this is one of my personal favorites

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Black Boy, White Girl

    Jeremiah Roselind is an intelligent black teenage boy who has to attend a fancy prep school. He bumps into Ellie Eisen, a white girl, in the hallway, and they are immediately attracted to one another. Disapproving glances, whispering voices, snide remarks -it isn't the reactions from other people that tear this young couple apart before their relationship has a real chance to grow, but a tragic event. This is an interesting, well-written story about interracial dating. I was saddened by the ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2000

    Touching Romance

    If You Come Softly in my opinion is the best book I have ever read. It explains a 'true love' and is written beautifully. My friends and I gave it ' 8 thumbs up.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Truly Touching

    The book If You Come Softly really touched me. I was bawling like a baby when I finished this book. Thinking about the innocence that was so alive throughout the description of Ellie and Miah's romance gives me the chills. It was an amazing read that really stuck a cord in me, because it was just two people that were in love and the serious things about their romance weren't overpowering and unrealistic but perfectly put in.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Best book!

    I loved this book so much. Its is a quick read and worth every second. My copy is ripping apart I have read it so many times. A great book about love and loss. Amazing writing, amazing plot line, an amazing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    One of my all time favs <3

    I read this book more than 10 years ago when I was a preteen. I loved it! I have lost track of how many times I have read it over the years. I for sure recommend this to young girls!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    Excellent Book!

    If you come softly is a wonderful book which is written by Jacqueline Woodson. This book is about an African American whose name is Jeremiah, who used to go to a public school somewhere in Brooklyn. He is pretty courageous and satisfied about how he is doing so well in basketball. His father is an African American filmmaker, who makes Jeremiah attend a professional private school, which is an All-White School for wealthy kids. His mother is a unique novelist writer. Ellie, who also attends the private school named Percy, is a Strong and is very less trustful to her mother. Her mother had left her and the rest of her family to go to "explore" and also says that she needs to be by herself. Ellie is a little heartbroken who learns to let go of that situation. They both have some sort of problem in their family. Ellie and Jeremiah bump into each other in the Percy Hallway and both of their eyes meet at the same time. They fall in love, instantly. They think that they are both almost close to perfect together. Even though Jeremiah is black and Ellie is white, they don't let that effect their relationship. They don't care what people think and that's what I absolutely like about it. The bad thing is there is a tragic event that happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    okay read

    the story was short but it was a good book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Amazing book

    This is probably my favorite book and as an avid reader that's saying a lot. This was such a sad book for a couple of reasons. One being the ridicule miah and ellie receive from people because they aren't the same race. The end of the book absolutely breaks my heart. It was also very well written. Go percy sledge!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Best book

    So touching

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Good book but sad

    It was well written but kinda sad. Worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Amazing and touching book :)

    This book is the first book I read for summer reading, and I am in love with it. The story itself was so different and inspiring, I couldn't stop reading it. The ending was so sad too... the book is so well written. I definitely reccomend reading this book, especially to teen and preteen girls like me :) definitely read it! It's worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2009

    My review of If You Come Softly

    If you come softly was not the best book i have ever read. it was okay. I understood the interracial concept of the book, but i feel the writing didnt truly and fully captivate the message. A big issue i had with the book was the writing. The author switched first person and third person quit often throught the book, in which made me confused. Another issue was the ending of the book- it didnt make sense. Did Miah die or what? the book is about two young teenagers who falls in love at first site despite the color of their skin. Both Miah and ellie semmed so in love. At the end of the book in chapter 24, both ellie's family and miah's family come together has if Miah died or something. The last few sentence of chapter 23 says "Again, just like that day, Jeremiah felt a sudden, terrible sadness. And the nothing at all." On chapter 26 it reads- "There is a plaque outside the gym at Percy. It reads In Memory of Jeremiah Roselind. Somewhere someone will always be calling your name." What happened to Jeremiah did he kill himself. If he did, it doesnt make sense because why would someone who loves someone with their every being in their body want to end their life. Plus the author doesnt seem to convey Ellie's fellings towards the lost of Jeremiah, if that is what happened. After finishing this novel I anticipated i was left disappointed and confused!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    excellent read

    I would recommend this book to adults and teens. I read this for a YA lit class I am taking for my teaching program. I couldn't put it down. Written in first and third person provides to perspectives of the same story. Book could also be bridged loosely to Romeo and Juliet. Great read for teens to lead to discussions of race, stereotypes, family expectations and identity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2008

    Love & Interracial Relationships

    Miah and Jeremiah. Both teenagers. Miah is Jewish. Jeremiah is black. They meet at their private school in New York. Love at first sight. It brings up the tough question about interracial relationships. I recommend it for those young ones who love romance novels.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    A great book for sure. Kind of got confused at the end when he saw a sudden light but other than that is was a great book. Kept the tension throughout the book making the reader wish that there was a sequel. Amazing writing strategy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    I really enjoyed it.

    I really liked the book and enjoyed how they made it relate to students my age. I would like to read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    love

    I love this book it's so interesting it keep's you reading no matter what. It had me up all night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Beautiful Book

    'If You Come Softly' is a beautiful story. It follows Ellie, a white girl, and Jeremiah, a black boy, as they meet and fall in love. Their relationship is made complex by outside forces-mostly because of race. I was able to relate to Ellie because she feels the same kind of emotions I do, such as fear, uncertainity, and yet a hope for the future. I loved Jeremiah because he was such a strong,sweet character. He was srong but he also had insecurities. Jacqueline Woodson uses clear, piercing prose that reaches deep inside you. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a little romance but also a read that makes them think and stretch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    If you come softly is a book that grabs the reader and keeps them wanting to read, no matter what is going on. I know. I began reading it at work and nearly snuck off from my job to finish it. I finished it in the dentist office, in the chair, waiting for the meds to take effect. It totally put the usual dread of the dentist out of my mind. The story of Elli, a beautiful Jewish girl of fifteen, and Miah, a high school basketball star, son of a talented writer and genious movie producer, 'who just happens to be black', is completely believable and heart warming, till the tragic end. The book is a reminder of the ugliness and unfairness of racism and prejudice and how it effects young peoples lives, especially when they find love. But, it also captures a romance between two young people magnificently. The author handles the subject superbly. Her poetic style is intransive and fills the heart and mind of the reader with emotions. I loved this book, though the end was harsh. But, it was a fitting way of showing us all how much change is needed in society towards interracial unions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7