Customer Reviews for

If You Come Softly

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Black Boy, White Girl

Jeremiah Roselind is an intelligent black teenage boy who has to attend a fancy prep school. He bumps into Ellie Eisen, a white girl, in the hallway, and they are immediately attracted to one another. Disapproving glances, whispering voices, snide remarks -it isn't the ...
Jeremiah Roselind is an intelligent black teenage boy who has to attend a fancy prep school. He bumps into Ellie Eisen, a white girl, in the hallway, and they are immediately attracted to one another. Disapproving glances, whispering voices, snide remarks -it isn't the reactions from other people that tear this young couple apart before their relationship has a real chance to grow, but a tragic event. This is an interesting, well-written story about interracial dating. I was saddened by the ending.

posted by KLBCHOICES on January 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

okay read

the story was short but it was a good book.

posted by 5589217 on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Black Boy, White Girl

    Jeremiah Roselind is an intelligent black teenage boy who has to attend a fancy prep school. He bumps into Ellie Eisen, a white girl, in the hallway, and they are immediately attracted to one another. Disapproving glances, whispering voices, snide remarks -it isn't the reactions from other people that tear this young couple apart before their relationship has a real chance to grow, but a tragic event. This is an interesting, well-written story about interracial dating. I was saddened by the ending.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Good book but sad

    It was well written but kinda sad. Worth the money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Amazing and touching book :)

    This book is the first book I read for summer reading, and I am in love with it. The story itself was so different and inspiring, I couldn't stop reading it. The ending was so sad too... the book is so well written. I definitely reccomend reading this book, especially to teen and preteen girls like me :) definitely read it! It's worth the money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    A great book for sure. Kind of got confused at the end when he saw a sudden light but other than that is was a great book. Kept the tension throughout the book making the reader wish that there was a sequel. Amazing writing strategy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2008

    I really enjoyed it.

    I really liked the book and enjoyed how they made it relate to students my age. I would like to read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    Great Read At Any Age!

    This book is just not for teens. I am not a teenager and enjoyed this book. It is very true to life and many people could benefit from this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2006

    Truly Touching.

    I really really thought this was an amazing book. It touched me and its very rare that a book can make me cry but this one had me crying my eys out as if I'd just finished watching Titanic or something. I stronly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    Amazingly Beautiful

    I loved this book! Some of the phrases were almost poetic. It is so sad though I cried. The only reason I deducted a star is that I didn't see the necessity in the lesbian sister. That was just a bit over the top. But other than that it was awesome. Definitely a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2005

    This is a Very!, Racialy ispiring book

    This is a very good ispiring book. I think it was a nice touch to see an author use the racial issues of today and put them into a book of such inspiring power. I think i would recommed this book to anyone because it is a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    A good book

    This was a very good book. It was depressing in some parts, but that's just the way Miah's and Ellie's lives were. Depressing. And the relationship, the romance, the friendship that Miah and Ellie shared lifts you up. This book isn't all romance, it's deeper than that. I would recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1