Customer Reviews for

If You Could See Me Now

Average Rating 4
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great read!

    It was hard to get into at first, but as soon as Elizabeth and Ivan met it was hard to put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2009

    What a great read!

    This book captured my attention from beginning to end. It's a touching story that has a lot of small lesson incorporated in the plot and dialogue. I will probably read it again and again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    The Perfect Novel!

    I love Cecelia Ahern novels. She gives such originality in all her novels and If You Could See Me Now is my absolute favorite. I have read this book almost 10 times and I still cry everytime I read it! It is my ideal novel and it is very touching and it has a subtle moral to the novel. I give this book a perfect score and I would recommend it to everybody!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A LITTLE FANTASY A LOT OF ENJOYMENT

    Readers who found much to like in Dublin author Cecelia Ahern's 'P.S. I Love You' and Rosie Dunne' will be pleased with the different road she takes in her third novel 'If You Could See Me Now.' This time out rather than a happy ending romance with an Irish lilt we find a wee spirit. Not so wee after all, his name is Ivan, and he's invisible - to everyone but 6-year-old Luke. His tightly wound aunt, Elizabeth Egan, fears Luke is imagining things just as his mother does and her mother did. Fantasy is fearful according to Elizabeth whose childhood was spent trying to make up for a mother who disappeared from the small village in which they lived. Life was simply too dull there, and she left in search of adventure. Elizabeth's sister, Saoirse, is her mother's daughter, one more 'free spirit' who doesn't let parenthood hold her back. Thus, it is left to Elizabeth to care for Luke. After a sad childhood and a less than satisfactory adulthood, adventure, enjoyment are not a part of Elizabeth's existence order, control, practicality are her mainstays. However, she had not counted on Ivan. According to him there was 'nothing imaginary about him whatsoever.' It was simply that people couldn't see him. He has everything Elizabeth does not - a sense of fun, spontaneity, and a lusty love of life. Ivan arrived to bring a little cheer to Luke but soon discovers that Elizabeth could also use a new lease on life. It is not too long before she is able to see Ivan, too, which is where the fun begins. After all, Ireland is the home of leprechauns, elves, and other magical creatures. So, what better setting for this imaginative story of a man who may or may not be real? It is belief in him that brings about change. For those who doubt, Ivan speaks of imaginary friends, '...we're here to help and assist those who need us, who believe in believing, and who can therefore see us.' 'If You Could See Me Now' is a bit of a fantasy, a lot of enjoyment, and soon to be a musical starring Hugh Jackman. - Gail Cooke

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Favorite story

    This book warms my heart every time i read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Keep with It

    So, I'm a avid reader who truly has enjoyed each and every one of Cecelia Ahern's novels. If You Could See Me Now was the last of her books that I read and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The novel starts out slow and I had intentions of not continuing. I decided that I must finish it and surprisingly this book was wonderful. The message is so delightful and inspiring. This is definitely a book I'd recommend to peers. ENJOY!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Great book!

    A sweet novel about learning to accept your family, past, and things you can't change, while cultivating your imagination; enjoying - and believing in - the simple things life has to offer. Be prepared to laugh and cry along with Elizabeth as she learns what it really means to live.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Excellent

    Captivates the imagination and is an easy and very good read. Cecelia Ahern does it again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    LOVE THIS BOOK!!

    This is my favorite book by far! I love the imagination that you get to use and remember using as a child. It makes imaginary friends become so real and makes a parent rethink how they are going to handle when their child has a friend they might not be able to see. Such a great book I have been recommending this to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    THIS IS BOOK TO GET!

    very good! i recommend to everyone that i know to get this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    Great read just like all her books. Funny and heartfelt.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    Great!!

    This is an absolutely beautiful book, I laughed and cried reading it and felt better the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    REview of IF YOU COULD SEE ME NOW

    THIS IS A WONDERFUL BOOK THAT TAKES YOU BACK TO YOUR CHILDHOOD, FILLED WITH INNOCENCE AND WONDER. IT IS A GREAT ESCAPE AND A GLIMPSE INTO ANOTHER'S TRANSFOMATION. DON'T BE FOOLED, THE MAIN CHARACTER IS NOT THE ONLY ONE TRANSFORMED. JUST SIT BACK, READ, BREATHE, AND ENJOY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    Absolutely loved it!

    The point of view from which the book was written is very clever - I'm hoping the movie is in the works. This novel gives some real life drama to some far fetched imagination, but Ahern tells the story in an almost believable tale. Stories of family beliefs vs. reality, the anticipated romance and a tale of true unselfishness and love - this book has it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Fun Story to read

    This is a good book. It pulls you into the story early and keeps you captivated. I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An amazing read. Cecelia Ahern is an amazing author.

    I really loved this book, it was a good storyline with characters that make you like them right away. This book like all of Cecelia's was one that I couldn't put it down, every page pulled you in, making it impossible to not turn the next page and put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    This is a great book! I was a little hesitant to read this based on other reviews, but I'm glad that I read it anyways. At first I was a little confused about Ivan, the imaginary friend and his relationship with Luke and Elizabeth. As I continued to read I found them all to be a very interesting characters. This book was very different from the other Cecelia Ahern books that I've read, but still had the Irish charm to it. I enjoyed this book very much and could not put it down. This was a nice easy read that puts the reader in an imaginary world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Glad I bought it on sale.

    I loved 'Rosie Dunne' and decided to give this a try despite the lukewarm reviews but was thoroughly disappointed. I found the whole 'Ivan' bit just a touch creepy. A child-like personality in an adult body falling in love with a grown woman while befriending children is not my idea of a romantic love story. Skip this one or borrow from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    Not the best, but not bad

    I don't understand why no one really liked this one, I myself found it pretty darn good, and I loved how Ivan just let Elizabeth's life unfold and helped her throughout everything. I found it touching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2007

    it was alright

    This book was....interesting. It held my attention throughout, and it was touching during the serious parts, but other than that it was sort of silly and pointless. I was quite surprised that I didn't find it in the children's section of the bookstore...despite the few cuss words in it, that's where it rightfully belongs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6