Customer Reviews for

If You Give a Girl a Viscount

Average Rating 3.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Has my life turned out the way I expected it would?

Daisy Montgomery has a huge problem that needs someone to show up and rescue her white horse and all. Daisy¿s nightmare of a step family has decided to use the secrets they know about her to steal her holdings, and keep her working as a servant not the mistress of the ...
Daisy Montgomery has a huge problem that needs someone to show up and rescue her white horse and all. Daisy¿s nightmare of a step family has decided to use the secrets they know about her to steal her holdings, and keep her working as a servant not the mistress of the manor. What her family does not know is Daisy will not be kept down and will save her family home by contacting the best reinforcements she has her godmother to help her out. Instead of the person Daisy expected, Charles Thorpe, Viscount Lumley shows up. Charlie is her godmother¿s grandson who apparently has come to help her on a bet which so far has turned into a nightmare he did not expect. The man has no money nor any ideas on how to help her do anything especially keep the property and get rid of the step-monsters. The upside is he wants to try and Daisy is desperate enough to drag him into her plans which seem far fetched but something is better than nothing. The two toss around ideas, plot aggressive tactics, and dance around an attraction that is growing more intense every moment they are together. The question for Daisy is why is Charlie so willing to help, Daisy has nothing to offer but he certainly seems willing to be part of her aggressive tactics. If she were a betting woman she might think there were alternative motives, but whatever could they be since his goal is to get back to London as soon as possible. Daisy and Charlie are a creative and inventive team of creative with the ability to make something out of nothing. They learn to trust each other to venture past the line of appropriate society in their bid to save Daisy¿s home and preserve her virtue with one being a tad more difficult than the other. As time progresses and they are drawn more into each other arms they know that trust is not the issue, but letting go of past pain is. When you have made mistakes it is difficult to know who you can lean on and be the person that you should not let get away. This fourth book in The Impossible Bachelors series with its enchanting characters and whimsical touches of romance is a great way to wrap up the series. I have a weakness for female characters named Daisy as they are always strong, smart and know what they want. Combine that with Charlie and you have a match made of legendary proportion.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on November 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Read it at the library!

I was sadly disappointed in this conclusion to the series. I enjoyed her three other Impossible Bachelors books, but could not make it past the first four chapters of this one. The characters and their actions make no sense and it gave me the same feeling as watching a...
I was sadly disappointed in this conclusion to the series. I enjoyed her three other Impossible Bachelors books, but could not make it past the first four chapters of this one. The characters and their actions make no sense and it gave me the same feeling as watching a bad play. It felt very forced and unnatural. So, read it if you must finish the series. But I would look for it at the library and not waste your money.

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Has my life turned out the way I expected it would?

    Daisy Montgomery has a huge problem that needs someone to show up and rescue her white horse and all. Daisy¿s nightmare of a step family has decided to use the secrets they know about her to steal her holdings, and keep her working as a servant not the mistress of the manor. What her family does not know is Daisy will not be kept down and will save her family home by contacting the best reinforcements she has her godmother to help her out. Instead of the person Daisy expected, Charles Thorpe, Viscount Lumley shows up. Charlie is her godmother¿s grandson who apparently has come to help her on a bet which so far has turned into a nightmare he did not expect. The man has no money nor any ideas on how to help her do anything especially keep the property and get rid of the step-monsters. The upside is he wants to try and Daisy is desperate enough to drag him into her plans which seem far fetched but something is better than nothing. The two toss around ideas, plot aggressive tactics, and dance around an attraction that is growing more intense every moment they are together. The question for Daisy is why is Charlie so willing to help, Daisy has nothing to offer but he certainly seems willing to be part of her aggressive tactics. If she were a betting woman she might think there were alternative motives, but whatever could they be since his goal is to get back to London as soon as possible. Daisy and Charlie are a creative and inventive team of creative with the ability to make something out of nothing. They learn to trust each other to venture past the line of appropriate society in their bid to save Daisy¿s home and preserve her virtue with one being a tad more difficult than the other. As time progresses and they are drawn more into each other arms they know that trust is not the issue, but letting go of past pain is. When you have made mistakes it is difficult to know who you can lean on and be the person that you should not let get away. This fourth book in The Impossible Bachelors series with its enchanting characters and whimsical touches of romance is a great way to wrap up the series. I have a weakness for female characters named Daisy as they are always strong, smart and know what they want. Combine that with Charlie and you have a match made of legendary proportion.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Read it at the library!

    I was sadly disappointed in this conclusion to the series. I enjoyed her three other Impossible Bachelors books, but could not make it past the first four chapters of this one. The characters and their actions make no sense and it gave me the same feeling as watching a bad play. It felt very forced and unnatural. So, read it if you must finish the series. But I would look for it at the library and not waste your money.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    Still Disappointed.

    I enjoyed Kramer's other books in this series, but this one barely even made sense. The supposed hero would rather have the woman he loves lose her home and the only people she's ever loved just to keep from losing a bet to his friends? The heroine has the ability to make the evil stepmother and stepsisters (who are beyond horrible to her) leave, but just chooses not to...even when they threaten others?Weird. Sadly, these are not the only examples of unexplained strangeness in this book.

    The whole premise was farfetched and not in a cute, Regency-ish kind of way. I am still shaking my head over this one. Do yourself a favor and pick up Julia Quinn or Lisa Kleypas if you want an escape to ballrooms and the Ton. If You Give a Girl a Viscount will leave you disappointed, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable

    In crumbling Castle Vandemere in Scotland Daisy Montgomery lives a horrific life due to her cruel Cheapside London stepmother Mona and malevolent stepsisters (Perdita and Cassandra). She dreams of a Prince Charming coming to her rescue, but knows that inanity only occurs in fairy tales not for someone like her. When she finds a note that says she has a Godmother Lady Pinckney, she writes in hope of a recue. Instead of her Godmother responding, the grandson Viscount Charles Thorpe does.

    Cut off from his family funds and after a bet with his now married Impossible Bachelors pals (see Cloudy with a Chance of Marriage) Charles travels to the Highlands hoping for an adventure of a lifetime. She wants to save her home but he lacks the funds to do so. As they fall in love, the pair persuades a neighbor to use his estate to host a gala for outsiders to experience the Highlands.

    The latest Impossible Bachelor historical romance stars a Cinderella heroine and a not so charming Prince Charming. Filled with jocularity yet containing a deep poignancy as the lead couple finds they are more than just a victim and a wastrel, fans will appreciate the tale of a Godmother giving her goddaughter a viscount to love and be loved in return.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2014

    If You Give A Girl A Viscount was a good book, just not as good

    If You Give A Girl A Viscount was a good book, just not as good as the other books I've read by Kieran Kramer. Which probably
    influenced my rating on this book quite a bit. This book did have its unique spin on the Cinderella fairy tale with Daisey waiting for her
    godmother to rescue her. However Charlie came instead, a very cynical man at that. 
    I have to admit I almost gave up on reading If You Give A Girl A Viscount about halfway through, but am glad I finished it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    If you give a Girl a Viscount by Kieran Kramer is an historical

    If you give a Girl a Viscount by Kieran Kramer is an historical romance set in
    Regency England. This is this first book that I read by this author. The story is
    almost based on the Cinderella tale. I liked her characters Daisy Montgomery
    and Charlie Thorpe . I won this book and this is a new to me author. When I
    received this book, I noticed that it is the 4th book in her series. It would
    would been better to have read the first ones first to better understand the
    story behind The Impossible Bachelors. It's a charming and funny romance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    confused

    The furst three books were so well written. I dont understand wyat happened here. I have so mant questions but by page 50 i cant connect to the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Confused

    I love to read but I have to agree with a couple of the other reviewers, I could not finish this book. It was a confusing, hot mess. The hero, wasn't a hero. He shows up without money and expects room and board. The heroine was weak and disappointing and the plot, premise and even dialogue did not suit the time period. I do not understand the high ratings other reviewers gave this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    This is the 4th book in the Impossible Bachelors series, and I could say the author ended the series with a wonderful fairytale-like story. “If you give a girl a viscount” is a stand-alone story with a feisty, witty and determined heroine, and a seductively handsome viscount.

    The characters are enchanting and each of them really stands out in the story, the stepmother, stepsisters, godmother, the friendly housekeepers, the prince and Cinderella of course… it’s a big twist but the Cinderella story can be found represented in the story. It’s quite funny how Charlie did his best to avoid the shackles of marriage but at the end, he ends up with a very different highland lass, one that could match up to his wills and could even make his mind go crazy..:D

    What makes this story outstanding, is because the Prince Charming, isn’t really an ideal one, well, except for his money, besides being a playboy, and constantly thinks he can always rely on his money. Meanwhile, Daisy the heroine here, thinks about money (his money) to repair her home and kept the people she cared for.

    Together, they grow and learn to trust each other, and slowly realize they’re falling in love! I loved the fact that they please each other with Charlie not taking Daisy’s virtue, but you could still feel the sensuality..:)

    I love the poems, the witty and straightforward remarks, it especially made me laugh, Perdita’s cross-dressing, actually there are a lot of funny things in this book. Ms. Kramer also has this wonderful ability to turn evil characters in the story to something readers won’t expect, the good and lovable ones, I happened to love Daisy’s step-sisters..

    The ending was a little unexpected for me, I got a little confused a bit, though I can’t tell you why..:)… but I later realized it though…it’s a cute ending, guess I just want to read about their wedding..hehe

    I usually loved series, don’t get me wrong I loved this one too, I just felt guilty since I hadn’t read the 3 books yet..:)… and it seems like each of them had his share of good romance too…:) The book is full of sizzling romance, shocking revelations, funny scenes, and a little drama.

    I can't wait to see what Ms. Kramer has next in store for readers. :D
    A must read for any historical romance readers who enjoys a few laughs along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2