Customer Reviews for

If You Give a Mouse a Cookie

Average Rating 4.5
( 85 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Read along friendly for toddlers

    This book as well as every book in the series is great for reading along with your toddler. I read it with my toddler and leave off the last word on every page and he finishes the sentences. He loves it and I love seeing him so engaged and having fun with reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    My kindergartener (now first grader) LOVES this book!!!

    This is one of the cutest books I've found for my little one. He really enjoys it, and it was on his school's Reading Counts list, so it required him to think more than usual as well. The little mouse in the story is so cute, he's unforgettable!!! A definite MUST for any young reader's library (or, in my case, too, a future kindergarten teacher's library!)!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    Fun book!

    My grandsons enjoy this book a lot. It's usually included in the ones they pick out for me to read to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another hit from LJ Numeroff

    This little series provides children and adults who read aloud with a bit of silliness, delightful illustrations and gentle humor, great for ending the day or taking a little one's mind off something less pleasant. The mouse begins with a cookie, and in small increments the story expands page by page. An easy read that children will want to hear again and again. If you're only buying one, though, consider "If You Give a Moose a Muffin" first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Great Book!

    Daughter is only 22 months old, but loves for you to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    College Student

    I purchased this book to write a report about it for my human relations class. Excellent lessons in it for both children and adults no matter what your age. My only complaint is that it was a bit expensive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very cute and memorable stories for little ones

    I began reading this book to my youngest son 15 years ago and now I am reading the series to my granddaughter. A big smile came across my 16 year old's face when he saw I was reading these books to his 2 year old niece. He loved the stories then and Natalie loves them now. We can even recite some of the books! They are silly and great fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    This book has become a family tradition.

    This is just a fun book to share. Each of our children read it to the new "baby" in the family. Now it's being read to thier children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    Great book

    I have loved this book ever since I was little. I give it to any friend who has a baby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    It Starts With A Cookie

    Of course, in the the series "If You Give", one event sets off a chain reaction of fun and chaos. The best of the series in my opinion, although I enjoy them all. That mouse is so cute!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2007

    What next?

    Just like with the 'If you give a pig' books, a mouse always needs that one extra thing. Annoying but quite funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Chain of Events

    A cute story about how one event sets off a chain of other events. Colorful illustrations that keep the child's attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2006

    My Favorite Children's Book!!!

    I fell in love with this story when my daughter was in preschool (she is now in her 4th yr. of college) and it has remained my all-time favorite children's book! There is also an adorable mouse doll that can be bought to accompany this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Life Lesson in a Picture Book

    'If You Give A Mouse a Cookie' is a colorful children's book that is creatively illustrated. It teaches children in a unique way how to learn to not be greedy and to accept what you have. It's adorable characters and silly plot allow kids to absorb the message in an inadvertant way. This book is great for parents and kids to read together. It is definitely a kid's classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2005

    i love this book

    this book is so cute every one loves it i can't imagene any one who doesn't love it Laura Joffe Nummeroff has really outdone herself with this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2004

    Can't wait to read it again...

    My boys love this story, as do I. They never tire of hearing what happens next, and I never tire of reading it to them! This book is a great example of cause and effect at a humors, somewhat silly level. Everyone parent's library should include it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    THIS BOOK IS SO CUTE!!!!

    Every time I go to babysit this book comes right with me! The kids I read it to love it ans always ask me to bring it with me when I go to sit them. THIS IS A MUST READ!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2004

    If You Give a Mouse a Cookie

    My favorite character in this book is the mouse because he is very funny like when he asked for milk with his cookie. Then he's ask for another thing, and then another thing and didn't stop asking for things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2003

    My Favorite Book When I was a Kid

    I remember when my mom first read this book to me and I just read it again and it was as good as it was the first time. I love this book and the illustrations make it that much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2003

    Adorable!!!!!!!

    This adorable book is a good easy read for all young children! You would never have known that a mouse and his cookie could be so much trouble!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 85 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5