Customer Reviews for

If You Give a Pig a Pancake

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Hey, Pigs Can't Climb Trees!

    My 4 yr old niece and her 3 yr old brother adore this book. The story is fast, fun and they love to jump in at the best parts, while laughing at the pictures. My nephew loves the picture of the pig climbing the treehouse cause 'he looks so silly!' It is never read just once at a sitting, wanting it 'again and again'. I look forward to getting more books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    Fun for Child and Parent

    What a fun read. Even though so much happens each page is only at most 2 sentances. This makes it easy to involve the child in 'following along'. My son loves the fact that I show the 'decline' of the little girl with changes in my voice becoming overrought about the never ending things to do to keep the pig happy. I can't wait to find the other If you.. books. Best Birthday present my son recieved. Thanks Grandma Nessie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Recommended

    Entertained and held the attention of an active 4 year year old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Timeless and for all ages

    I remember reading this book when I was in kindergarten and falling in love with it. The illustrations are cute and the story is amusing to children. I read it with my parents along with the other "If you give a..." books. Reading to children is so important because not only does it help the child become a better reader, but it creates a special bond between parent and child. The books I read as a child definitely have sentimental value to me. I am thankful that my parents took the time to introduce me to literature as a child. I am now entering high school and looking forward to reading it with my nieces and nephews and someday my own kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Great Book

    Love this book and so do my students!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute Addition to Favorites Collection

    A wonderfully entertaining read. Kids love the mischief. It's a short and sweet read that is funny and memorable. For the little ones, the similar structure to the "If You __________, A _________" allows for memorization. Great read. Highly recommended. Our family favorite of all the Numeroff/Bond books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    IF YOU GIVE A PIG A PANCAKE.

    I ACTUALLY BOUGHT THE BOOK FOR MY WIFE.SHE HAPPENDS TO ENJOY PIGS AND ANY THING THAT HAS TO DO WITH THE CHARARTER OF PIGS.THE DRAWING WAS EASY TO ENJOY AND THE STORY-LINE WAS GOOD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My 7 year old loves these

    She will read it over and over till she memorizes the book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2007

    Really funny and interesting

    A very funny and incredibly habit-forming read in the sense that while reading you can hardly wait to find out what this pig will request next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Great Book

    This book is halarious!!! I read it with my four year old daughter and we both laughed out loud! (Mostly me!) The islarstartions are fabulous!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2006

    Makes me hungry just reading the title

    I love the style of this book and how one thing leads to another. Everything the character does leads to another event or action until it all comes full circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    My sons favorite book

    This is my sons favorite book. I have been reading it to him since he was three, he is now five years old and it is still his favorite. We make up our own 'if you give shawn a pancake' story and he LOVES it. I would highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    This is a wonderful book!!!

    This is one of the cutest books I have ever read to children. It really is funny and keeps their attention. I would recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2001

    Excellent

    This is an excellent book for all children. I have read this book numerous times. It is a great book for young children since it is predictable. Children find humor in the pig always wanting more. I highly recommend this book for anyone with children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    Peripheral Vision Run Rampant!

    In Peripheral Visions, Mary Catherine Bateson argues successfully that we see ourselves best from a different cultural perspective. Laura Joffe Numeroff understands that concept well, and applies it brilliantly in this hilarious, modern version of an Aesop's fable. The role reversal begins with a young girl eating a pancake in her kitchen. A friendly piglet looks through the window and nicely inquires about the possibility of acquiring a pancake as well. As you can see, this is a pretty unusual beginning for a story. Few of us associate girls and pigs. Now, pigs will eat anything, so it's unusual to think of them as being discriminating. Also, have you ever seen a piglet hanging on a window sill? How did she get there? All of these changes quickly set up the story to create new perceptions. Adults will appreciate the humorous, indirect reference to that classic dish in pancake houses everwhere of 'pigs in a blanket' (pancakes wrapped around long sausages). The delicious incongruities are piled on, one after another. When the piglet gets sticky from eating syrup with the pancake, the piglet decides she wants to take a bath. Piglets and baths create a hilarious image, because pigs usually like to wallow in the mud. This piglet has many cultivated tastes. She gets interested in tap dancing, and needs a costume. She also gets homesick, and wants to write to her friends. She takes Polaroid pictures to send to them. On the way out to mail the letters and photographs, she spots a tree and wants to build a tree house. Naturally, this requires some serious decorating, with wallpaper and paste. Yup, pretty soon she's sticky. That reminds her of syrup. Now wouldn't a pancake go nicely with that? As you can see, the role reversal continues by making the child in the story into the caretaker (parent, older sibling, or baby sitter). While the piglet is full of energy, the girl becomes quite tired. Also, notice that the piglet does nothing for the girl. This gives the perspective of what it is like to be with someone who is demanding, and not considerate in return. There are no pleases, thank yous, or gifts. A hint of the regular world peeks in through the mess that the piglet is making with the girl's help. Someone is not going to be pleased to see all of this. Your child will instinctively pick up on that problem. As a result, your child can learn from this book lessons like -- how demanding it can be to be a care provider -- how ceaseless a child's demands can be -- how spontaneity can create the opportunity for many interesting activities that would not otherwise occur -- the benefits of having everyone help keep things neat and tidy as you go (clean up one thing before starting another) -- how all things are ultimately connected in many ways (this stimulates creativity and problem solving) -- how things can be different than they are now . . . if only we focus our attention and efforts on them. Beyond the lessons, this is a delightful book for a beginning reader. The humor draws their attention, so that the book will soon become a

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1