Customer Reviews for

If You Have to Cry, Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Kelly has soft side!

    I was glad to see that this successful, hard as nails women has a soft side and was willing to let us see it. The book is a memoir of sorts. I wish Kelly was my friend. We all need a friend to sit us down and tell us how it is. I'm still not sure if I could handle her as a boss. I might need to "go outside to cry" now and then. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kelly Cutrone is my hero

    My latest read was the newly released "If You Have to Cry, Go Outside" self-help book by legendary PR powerhouse Kelly Cutrone (of The Hills and The City fame).

    I finished this 200-or-so-page book in about 2 hours, on and off during my latest airport trip, and I wished it had been twice as long! I ate up (mostly) everything Kelly had to say and I really enjoyed her honesty and sense of humor.

    For those of you that now watch her new show on Bravo, "Kell on Earth" I think you would be highly surprised by her strong spirituality and peace of mind...yes, peace! Kelly believes in something called the Mother, and her main message when it comes to spirituality is to do what YOU want to do...learn about all religions, then create your own. While I'm not sure this would work for everyone, I applaud her point of view of total and complete open-mindedness.

    Kelly's beginnings ranged in everything from drug addict to a signed singing artist with a contract so to see where she is now is truly uplifting.

    During this New York Fashion Week I have been following Kelly on twitter (@peoplesrev) and she is just balls-out about everything she does...from explaining how fun it is to eat pizza with her interns to noticing who is attending her shows.

    I highly recommend this quick-read for women specifically, and also for those with an interest in PR, fashion, or just living the life of a busy working woman. I HIGHLY recommend her chapter on child birth -- I was crying with laughter! Well done, Kelly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    Namaste

    I ended up being really shocked how inspiring this book was. I love fashion and respected her on the City, however what is portrayed on T.V isn't always accurate. So, finding out that she is a yogi and has a spiritual side of her makes this book even better. It explains her thought process, which makes complete sense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly recommended - great read!

    An interesting insight into one of the leading Publicists of our time! If you want a career in PR - you must check this out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Loved!!

    This book made me feel so empowered with how I need to make changed and take control of my life the entire time I was reading it. Kelly becomes a amzing woman with so much power and drive instead of just being that "PR lady who wears black all of the time" that we all know. I love her story and the way she told it. Offical classic in my book shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Great Motivation

    The book was good. She shared her success and also failures. A tad redondant but still a good read. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I love how this book gives you a different perspective on life besides the "common" way of being successful. I definately didn't want to put this book down and finished reading it the same day I started. Im honestly not into the fashion industy, but I feel that it can help anyone who wants to be successful at their trade, fashion or not. I feel that the people who gave this book a bad review, are oppose to being open minded and thinking outside their comfortable box. Definately a MUST read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Honest and blunt

    Kelly is candid and open in this part autobiography/part inspirational self-help book. Lots of life lessons to be used in any area of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kelly is clear and to the point! A must read!

    I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to hear how things really are and bluntly. Kelly does give some great advice in this book that could benefit someone who needs some motivation to do something with their life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    If You Love To Read, Buy This Book

    I love this book so much I brought a copy for my daughter. It is a great book. I'd also suggest that you buy another book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It's an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. Given the chance, it too will change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    I really loved this book. I am a huge Kelly fan. I only wish whe

    I really loved this book. I am a huge Kelly fan. I only wish when I was younger and growing up I had this sort of push, inspirational guide if
    will. It was a great read , I enjoyed it and I will pass it on to my nyc power chick daughter .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Fantastic

    This book was incredibly inspiring to me. In telling her own journey of struggles, failures and successes she validates an ambitious women like myself to not only embrace my uniqueness but leverage it. She demonstrates there is a way to be authentic and maintain integrity in the career of your passion. Her story also changed my view of my own failures and detours in my life - these things happen for a reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Don't bother!

    Expected a motivational, insightful read.....got a shallow, narsisistic half-assed autobiography. Waste of money and time!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2011

    It had some good advice

    I was honestly expecting more. It did have some good advice but a lot of what she wrote was far out. I'd say, read it if you have time to wade through her nonsense, you may come out with a few pearls of wisdom.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    Boring!

    I'm was not impressed with this 45 year olds secrets to following your dreams. How sad that women of her generation have her as a guide to self discovery. Pitiful really!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    great book

    a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True To the Game!

    This read is everything you would expect from Kelly Cutrone. She reminds me that the most important thing is to stay true to who you are. If you do that your hopes and dreams can happen just the way you want it. This is such a wise read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    easy read

    I am 20 years old and will soon graduate college. This book is motivating on how to dream up what you want and follow it through to the end. It does not sugarcoat anything and tells you like it is. Kelly's journey of ups and downs is very inspiring and easy to relate to, even if you were not in the same exact situations as she was. I think everyone can get something out of reading this book. It's not very long, and I could not put it down because it left me wanting to find out more. There were moments that were pretty funny and it talked a lot about the importance of your inner self. I've recommended it to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Loved this book

    Wish I would have had this advice in my twenties!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 167 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9