Customer Reviews for

If You Have to Cry, Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You

Average Rating 4
( 168 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Loved it

    Great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Highly recommended - great read!

    An interesting insight into one of the leading Publicists of our time! If you want a career in PR - you must check this out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2011

    Great Motivation

    The book was good. She shared her success and also failures. A tad redondant but still a good read. I enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    Honest and blunt

    Kelly is candid and open in this part autobiography/part inspirational self-help book. Lots of life lessons to be used in any area of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    True To the Game!

    This read is everything you would expect from Kelly Cutrone. She reminds me that the most important thing is to stay true to who you are. If you do that your hopes and dreams can happen just the way you want it. This is such a wise read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    Great Book

    I have always been a fan of Kelly from The Hills, to The City, and her own tv show. You really get a better understanding of who she really is and why she is the way she is. Her book is inspiring, enjoyable and motivating and would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    A great motivator

    I purchased Kelly's book after hearing her on the radio and loving the optimism she had and the fact that she spends a lot of her time being a mentor and helping the people around her.

    I really enjoyed her book, and being a professional woman in my upper 20's, found so many of her antidotes and pieces of advice inspiring. She's so right - we are in a culture right now that tells us we all "deserve" something. We don't. You have to go out and fight for what you want. BUT, most importantly, you have to know yourself and be yourself in that fight. Woman spend so much time picking each other apart, we only damage our own image. Kelly's message of finding youself, loving yourself, and never letting anyone else dictate your standards and your view of yourself is the best message women young or old could get right now. You don't have to follow the path of high school, college, husband, family if that's not where your heart is. You make your path.

    Sometimes Kelly rambles a little and her stories seem too crazy to be true (though they are!) so it does make it hard to connect but she finds great ways to take her stories and prove that you can take the lessons from them and apply it to your boring Midwestern life just as much as your hip New York life. At only 200ish pages, it's a quick read, and one that's worthwhile. Buy for your daughter or your niece starting college - they'll appreciate it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Witty & Entertaining

    I had a certain idea of what i thought Kelly Cutrone was all about - tough, mean and probably someone I would never want to work for. This book shed some light on Cutrone in a witty way and I was fully entertained. Although a little repetitive at times, Cutrone shared personal experiences that many of us may or may not relate to, but shed light on the fashion industry - good and bad. She shares advice that "your mother never told you" but probably should have. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in the fashion industry or simply to any woman trying to get ahead in the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3