Customer Reviews for

If You Have to Cry, Go Outside: And Other Things Your Mother Never Told You

Average Rating 4
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Kelly has soft side!

    I was glad to see that this successful, hard as nails women has a soft side and was willing to let us see it. The book is a memoir of sorts. I wish Kelly was my friend. We all need a friend to sit us down and tell us how it is. I'm still not sure if I could handle her as a boss. I might need to "go outside to cry" now and then. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Kelly Cutrone is my hero

    My latest read was the newly released "If You Have to Cry, Go Outside" self-help book by legendary PR powerhouse Kelly Cutrone (of The Hills and The City fame).

    I finished this 200-or-so-page book in about 2 hours, on and off during my latest airport trip, and I wished it had been twice as long! I ate up (mostly) everything Kelly had to say and I really enjoyed her honesty and sense of humor.

    For those of you that now watch her new show on Bravo, "Kell on Earth" I think you would be highly surprised by her strong spirituality and peace of mind...yes, peace! Kelly believes in something called the Mother, and her main message when it comes to spirituality is to do what YOU want to do...learn about all religions, then create your own. While I'm not sure this would work for everyone, I applaud her point of view of total and complete open-mindedness.

    Kelly's beginnings ranged in everything from drug addict to a signed singing artist with a contract so to see where she is now is truly uplifting.

    During this New York Fashion Week I have been following Kelly on twitter (@peoplesrev) and she is just balls-out about everything she does...from explaining how fun it is to eat pizza with her interns to noticing who is attending her shows.

    I highly recommend this quick-read for women specifically, and also for those with an interest in PR, fashion, or just living the life of a busy working woman. I HIGHLY recommend her chapter on child birth -- I was crying with laughter! Well done, Kelly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    Namaste

    I ended up being really shocked how inspiring this book was. I love fashion and respected her on the City, however what is portrayed on T.V isn't always accurate. So, finding out that she is a yogi and has a spiritual side of her makes this book even better. It explains her thought process, which makes complete sense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Loved!!

    This book made me feel so empowered with how I need to make changed and take control of my life the entire time I was reading it. Kelly becomes a amzing woman with so much power and drive instead of just being that "PR lady who wears black all of the time" that we all know. I love her story and the way she told it. Offical classic in my book shelf.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2011

    LOVED THIS BOOK!

    I love how this book gives you a different perspective on life besides the "common" way of being successful. I definately didn't want to put this book down and finished reading it the same day I started. Im honestly not into the fashion industy, but I feel that it can help anyone who wants to be successful at their trade, fashion or not. I feel that the people who gave this book a bad review, are oppose to being open minded and thinking outside their comfortable box. Definately a MUST read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kelly is clear and to the point! A must read!

    I'd recommend this book to anyone who wants to hear how things really are and bluntly. Kelly does give some great advice in this book that could benefit someone who needs some motivation to do something with their life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    If You Love To Read, Buy This Book

    I love this book so much I brought a copy for my daughter. It is a great book. I'd also suggest that you buy another book called "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It's an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. Given the chance, it too will change your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    I really loved this book. I am a huge Kelly fan. I only wish whe

    I really loved this book. I am a huge Kelly fan. I only wish when I was younger and growing up I had this sort of push, inspirational guide if
    will. It was a great read , I enjoyed it and I will pass it on to my nyc power chick daughter .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Fantastic

    This book was incredibly inspiring to me. In telling her own journey of struggles, failures and successes she validates an ambitious women like myself to not only embrace my uniqueness but leverage it. She demonstrates there is a way to be authentic and maintain integrity in the career of your passion. Her story also changed my view of my own failures and detours in my life - these things happen for a reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2010

    easy read

    I am 20 years old and will soon graduate college. This book is motivating on how to dream up what you want and follow it through to the end. It does not sugarcoat anything and tells you like it is. Kelly's journey of ups and downs is very inspiring and easy to relate to, even if you were not in the same exact situations as she was. I think everyone can get something out of reading this book. It's not very long, and I could not put it down because it left me wanting to find out more. There were moments that were pretty funny and it talked a lot about the importance of your inner self. I've recommended it to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    Loved this book

    Wish I would have had this advice in my twenties!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    I Love This Book!

    I love a book that can take no prisoners and offer practical advice that anyone can use. When a book gives the reader a chance to laugh and nod their head, you know you have a winner on your hands. I love this book.

    I also recommend "When God Stopped Keeping Score." I thought that the book was just about forgiveness, I soon learned, it was about so much more. Having read it, I feel like a better person. Maybe because this book spoke to me and not down to me. I have read a lot of books that was written like I didn't know anything. What the author of "When God Stopped Keeping Score" does is talk to you like a friend. I needed that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    A Straight Up Tale of How To Navigate Life & How To Do It Successfully!

    Shes a great writer! Though at times the story seems a little hard to believe, the story is extremely entertaining and lessons are absolutley valuable. She gives a really straight up account of women in the business world and what is needed to achieve success. Her "no nonsense" style makes this book an easy, fun read. I couldnt put it down. Cant wait to see what she does next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect gift for a college grad!

    I recently graduated college and have soon found out that the real world is tough and crushing! This book helped me remember what I love and regain control of my own dreams. She is a spectacular woman from whom you can definitely learn a lot. I would recommend this book to anyone who knows where they are going but are struggling to get there... this book will give you the inspiration needed to get where you want to go!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    If you want a good read, get this book

    Can a book change your life? Probably. Can a book get the gears in your mind begin to move? Yes absolutely. Kelly Cutrone's If you have to cry, Go outside is the one-size-fits-all book that can get you to really start looking at how YOU are going toward the things you want. The beauty of this book is that you can be starting into your career or all ready be in mid career and want to change. Cutrone experinces provides a no nonsense and straight forward reality of breaking into the industry with a determinded mentality and attitude. And the industry is not limited to PR or fashion but just about any kind of profession, which Cutrone points out. Cutrone serves as the mentor that guides you to establishing your brand, your tribe, your personal belief systems, she pushes you out to real world to evaluate yourself in a practical and realistic way. An enjoyable read that you don't want to put down and can read cover to cover over and over again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    Didn't know what to expect

    I have seen Kelly on TV and did not know what to expect from this book...but it was GREAT!! Honestly one of my all time favs. She is so real and tells you about her life as it applies to you. It gave me the motivation to get out there and not be afraid of the "what ifs" in life!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Inspirational Book

    Kelly Cutrone's book was extremely motivational and very eye opening. Definitely recommend this to girls age 20+

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Fantastic!!

    I have followed Kelly Cutrone from the hills with Lauren Conrad (one of my now favorite designers) to the City to her famously loveable new show on Bravo, "Kell on Earth". This woman inspires me like no one else. She has got such a passion for her work and what she does it's more than motivating and empowering for the "everywhere" woman. Thank you Kelly for opening up and sharing. I am more motivated to do everything I have ever felt I was designed to do and now have the balls to go out and do it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4