BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

If You Hear Her

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    an exciting over the top of the Black Mountain romantic suspense thriller

    in Ash, Kentucky, Lena Riddle while walking her dog Puck hears a frightening scream of "help me" from the woods just beyond her house. She calls the cops, but they find nothing in the woods to confirm her assertion that a woman is in trouble. Still she knows how her acute hearing compensates for her being blind and how stoic Puck normally is but he reacted too.

    Six months ago Kentucky State Police officer Ezra King took a bullet in his leg; he walked away limping from law enforcement as more than just his leg was injured. In Ash, he is attracted to Lena so he decides to insure she is safe by investigating the screams she has reported she has heard in the nearby woods.

    If You Hear Her is an exciting over the top of the Black Mountain romantic suspense thriller that rotates perspective between a gleeful serial killer and the lead couple. With a cliffhanger ending, the story line contains several subplots that add action, but detract from the prime theme of a heated romance between the cop and the chef while a psychopath continues a nearby killing spree.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If You Hear Her by Shiloh Walker is an exhilarating start to a

    If You Hear Her by Shiloh Walker is an exhilarating start to a pulse pounding series.

    Lena Riddle is woken up during the night by a faint cry for help in the dark. Lena’s home is surrounded by woods and she can sense an evil that chills her to her bones. When no proof is found by the police Lena’s claims are dismissed. But Lena knows what she heard and is terrified.

    Ezra King has come to Ash, Kentucky to recoup and reevaluate his life’s work. He is haunted by the death of his partner on the job with the state police. Ezra certainly wasn’t prepared for his reaction to Lena. His first meeting he is drawn to her but is afraid to get close to anyone anymore.

    Ezra believes Lena’s story and is determined to protect her. Seems there is someone lurking in the woods near Lena and they are getting bolder by the minute.

    Lena and Ezra slowly begin to fall in love but will the menace in the woods cut that love short?

    If You Hear Her is a pulse pounding tale of the danger you can only feel but can’t see. You will be drawn into the story and it will keep you in its grip till the end. The story continues in If You See Her, looking forward to watching the mystery unfold.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Holy goodness. First, I would not advise starting RIGHT before b

    Holy goodness. First, I would not advise starting RIGHT before bedtime, because there is some scary dark sh*t here. Had horrible, horrible book-related nightmares that night/morning.

    Second, if you hate cliffhangers, make sure you have the other two books in hand (library, whatever) before starting this one. While it DOES end in a HFN (happily For Now), there are many loose end to tie up in future books, including some scary perv kidnapping and torturing women.

    What I loved: Lena, the heroine is blind, and yes, it affects her life, but she is not "disabled," there are simply issues she has to work around. In fact, it wasn't until several chapters in I realized she WAS blind. (That said, there was a reference to her lights being on, that we needed a reason for that - solar lights in case of guests, timers, etc., because obviously a blind woman ain't running around turning on lights when it's dark.)

    Besides the raping, torturing perv, there is also a theme of domestic violence/gaslighting. If any of these things are triggering for you, you probably won't like this series.

    This is/was not my usual genre, but had me riveted to the page. Ezra (first time I've ever found a male named Ezra sexy) is semi-disabled physically, due to being shot in the leg during his time as a cop, and now, emotionally. He tries to stay away from Lena, but the attraction is too strong.

    Condom use/discussion - five stars on this!!

    The sex is INCREDIBLY hot, and believable in development. The friendships/relationships and development of the B story is wonderful. Also, though it is set in a rural Kentucky town, there isn't catering to stereotypes of small town Southern yokels (though the town doesn't seem to be real integrated, either); some people are dumb, most people are fairly intelligent and empathetic.

    Will definitely be reading the rest of this trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2012

    Shiloh Walker's If you hear her

    Great book! When I finished it at first I was disappointed because I didn't think it tied up all the loose ends...instead I was delighted to find there was a sequel, if you see her, that finished what I wanted to know. I read both of these books in one weekend, page turners!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    You won't be able to put this book down!

    Shiloh Walker is an absolute favorite of mine. I have a feeling with this new trilogy, a lot more fans are going to be coming out of the woodwork to follow this very talented author.

    Ezra King has come to Ash, Kentucky to recuperate in both body and spirit. His grandmother left her home to him, so he’s healing amid a bit of grief and nostalgia. He’s been content to piddle around the place – until he meets Lena Riddle. The woman not only shoots lust through his system, but she demands respect and admiration for her determination and love of life.

    Finally living on her own with no one to tell her how to do it, Lena is happy in every aspect of her life – she’s a chef for the local B&B and she’s surrounded by loving friends. When a man with a sexy voice shows interest in her lasagna, his interest in her piques even further after they share a meal or two together. But then Ezra puts on the brakes, and for a little while is one of those men who says he’ll call but doesn’t. He has his reasons, and once you learn of them you can understand why he’s so hesitant to start up a relationship with this fascinating and beautiful woman. Lena tries to forget the man, even when they run into each other in town, but after so many meetings and too much temptation, Ezra gives in and pursues Lena into a wonderful blossoming relationship.

    What brings them together finally is the scream Lena hears one night outside her home at the edge of the forest. The only people who believe her are Ezra and Law, one of Lena’s best friends, and the local sheriff. But on investigation, no evidence is found of anything untoward. Lena can’t let it rest, however, and makes a trip to the sheriff’s office, where Ezra is making his own unrelated complaint. While the deputy helping Lena doesn’t believe a word she says, it’s Ezra who gets things moving to further investigate the matter, but everyone is baffled at the lack of evidence.

    The reader knows exactly what’s happening, though, and sees what an evil villain lives and breathes in these pages. What he does to the women he kidnaps slowly weakens and breaks them until they’re praying to die. It’s his latest victim who Lena hears from her bedroom this fateful night that changes life for all concerned – including our villain. And from this point on, you are immersed so deeply in both the romance between Ezra and Lena and the deceptive and evil mind of a madman whose identity is kept from you the entire book. And the second book. You won’t know who it turns out to be until the last book. Talk about tension!

    I love Ezra and Lena. Their romance is swift and sure. Ezra turns into the typical alpha cop he is when danger is unveiled around them and their friends. Lena is a sassy, smart, and independent woman, but she knows when to let go and do as she’s asked so everyone survives whatever situation is going on at the moment. Their lovemaking is vintage Shiloh Walker – steamy, intense, and loving. We also meet Remy and Hope, who are featured in the next book, and you love them on sight just as much as you do Ezra and Lena.

    Pins and needles having nothing on this storyline. Tenterhooks is more apropos for all the goings-on, especially the suspenseful aspects of the story. If you’re ready for an edge-of-your-seat read that you can’t put down until it’s read, this is it. And do be sure to read this trilogy in order. They’re tied too closely together and left open ended to start in the middle or, heaven forbid, with the

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast, action, romantic thriller

    The latest romantic thriller from author Shiloh Walker begins with a scream, literally and doesn't let up until the end. Set in small town Kentucky, where everyone thinks they know everyone else, Lena Riddle hears a scream echo through the night. Calls to police are worthless as law enforcement can't find any evidence of a crime. But Lena knows what she heard. Her only saving grace is Ezra King, a cop on leave after dealing with his own demons. His cop instinct knows Lena is in danger, his heart's instinct says she is the woman his soul seeks. There is mystery surrounding both characters as they deal with their own issues and pasts that come colliding together in this fast paced page turner. The sleepy town seems too "Mayberry" to ever have anything bad happen, but very bad things do and Ezra must unravel the puzzle. Their hearts fight the attraction they feel for each other and just as they finally start to heal, start to relent to their feelings the killer..well, I won't spoil for readers. If you are looking for a fast-paced thriller, laced with romance and tension - this book was written for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Electrifying

    CAN YOU HEAR HER was an electrifying tale, keeping me on the edge of my seat as I followed all the twists and turns this story took. There was never a mundane moment in the entire tale, as I tried to piece together the great mystery of who the killer was.

    The chemistry between Lena and Ezra positively sizzled from the moment they first met. They both had their vulnerabilities that made me root all the more for their HEA (happily ever after). I loved how Lena strove to keep her independence and admired Ezra for not taking anything away from her, sure there were a few times he was tempted to, but he was smart enough to know when and where the line was drawn.

    The only problem I had with this book was the TO BE CONTINUED aspect of the end of the story. I hate hate hate having to wait to find the answers to all the questions that are fresh in my mind. I'm going to have to do a reread when the next book comes out, but that will be no hardship, because I absolutely loved Lena and Ezra's story. There are certain clues throughout the book that I will have to refresh in my mind when the next two books come out to see if I can correctly guess the identity of the killer. Right now I have NO clue if it's someone we've already been introduced to, someone who was discussed or if the killers name wasn't mentioned at all.

    I can't wait to read the next books in the series, and am especially eager to see what other complications shall arise for our couples as they seek a killer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1