Customer Reviews for

If You Lived Here, I'd Know Your Name: News from Small-Town Alaska

Average Rating 4
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    More than memoir, more than essays... just more

    On vacation in Alaska, and visiting the tiny town of Haines, I realized some places are just kinder to their local authors. In fact, maybe they're just kinder to everyone-Haines is such a small town that everyone surely knows everyone else. And every store that sells anything sells books by local authors, including Heather Lende's If you lived here, I'd know your name. After seeing that glorious moose gazing out from the cover often enough, I could no longer resist.

    Heather Lende is an essayist for National Public Radio. She also knows how to clean and smoke fish, how to live off the land, and how to comfort families left behind after tragedy. Besides writing the local paper's events column-Duly Noted-she writes obituaries, and in writing them gets to see beneath the surface of many local lives.

    Apparently Haines might be the model for Northern Exposure-a TV series I loved long ago and would love to watch again. Moose really might walk down the street, as might bears. Snow and storms might cut communications, locking down boats and helicopters alike. Children might be born without the aid of a hospital, and might survive. Meanwhile insurance (and almost everything else) costs a fortune. Life is simpler and more easily lost in this place. But simplicity takes away the veneer that hides complexity, and Heather Lende's quiet essays reveal a wealth of traditions, beliefs, relationships, religions and political persuasions, all bound together in community by the land.

    Sometimes, reading this, I wished I could live in Haines. Sometimes I knew I'd never cope. But most of all I'm glad to have had the chance to do more than just walk the street and gaze into shop windows. I'm glad so many stores carried this book; and I'm glad my husband bought it for me so I could carry it home to enjoy Heather Lende's captivating essays and wondrously different life.



    Disclosure: My husband said it was time I read something just for me, but I thought I'd still write a review anyway.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Great book!

    This is an entertaining and heartwarming book that gives you a taste of living in a small town in Alaska. I love the author's style of writing! I've shared the book with several of my friends and all have enjoyed it. Highly recommended.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Living in Alaska as a child when our folks did not own a car and we walked or hitch hiked because everyone in Juneau knew everyone.We would hike over to the ski slope. Our Mother was the first woman on Mendenhall Glacier

    A small wonderful town our Aunt owned The Record Store.Everything the Author writes has been so fun to read and our own raft trip on the Tat was fantastic leaving from Haines.
    Thank you for the great story

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Terrific read

    Heather Lende and her husband came out to Alaska on their honeymoon and stayed. She writes events and obituaries fir the small weedly newspaper. There are a couple of items from her events column interspersed with living in such a remote place. She talks of her friends and neighbors and the good times and tragedies and everything in between and why they choose to live in Haines Alaska. Moving, inspiring, all the cliches. A don't miss read.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    I loved this book. Even thought there is a huge emphasis on deat

    I loved this book. Even thought there is a huge emphasis on death, the author treated the subject with such thoughtfulness and spirituality it was not at all morbid.

    I learned so much about Alaska, the Native culture and people in general from this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Charming small town memoir

    Don't be surprised if you want to travel to Haines, Alaska after you have read this. The author makes life there sound very appealing. Her description of friends and neighbors make them sound like people you would want to know too. Kindness, generousity and survival skills abound in the citizens of this community.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    A wonderful book about small town Alaska

    The writer's chapters each cover many subjects which are of great interest to many people, especially those in small towns. Each chapter
    also has 3 to 4 articles she has written for the newspaper in Haines,
    Alaska. Anyone who has ever lived in a small town will find these
    humorous, somewhat mundane comings and goings of the people in the
    community. A great affirmation of small town America!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Great Read

    I really enjoyed reading how people in a small community live and work together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    If you lived here.....

    I absolutely loved this book! It took me back to my younger days in a small town - somehow they are the same! I sent it to friends who also expressed great satisfaction with it....

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Compelling stories.

    Ms. Lende tells compelling stories both about the people and the land she loves. There is sadness and loss but also companionship, acceptance, support, lots of work and fun. She makes the enormous work of living in Haines seem well worth the effort. She also provides a great deal of evidence to support the adjective of "quirky" so often applied to Alaskans. She is a very good writer and I enjoyed this book immensely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Wonderful

    Fantastic view inside of a small Alaskan town..I hated for it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    A great read!

    I've read Heather's articles in Woman's Day magazine so it was nice to meet more of her family and friends in Haines. She writes a great feel good book and I'll definitely purchase her other books>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    I felt like I lived there

    This book is a delightful visit to Haines where I got to know the people in town and enjoy the beauty of our 49th state. Life there is not easy but there is something to be said about a whole town of people who feel like family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Small town life!

    This is one of my favorite books and has been for years. I often recommend it, and I decided it was time to own it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Very enjoyable!

    I enjoyed this little book much more than I expected to. Ms Lende did a wonderful job exploring small town life and really brought the people and the situations that occur in a small community to life. Some sadness and some smiles, quite a little story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2