Customer Reviews for

If You Love It, It Will Grow: A Guide To Healthy, Beautiful Natural Hair

Average Rating 5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend - Best Book for Natural Hair...

    I have ready a large amount of books, blogs, etc. regarding natural hair do's and dont's... This is by far the best book I've read by far! Instead of receiving some high level overview that basically covers the topic, it gets right down to the nitty gritty. The book was thorough, well thought out and understandable. I wish I had this book in October 2009 when I decided enough was enough and went on my natural journey. Dr. Austin ROCKS!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    Empowering

    Having been diagnosed with early alopecia, I tried many hair growth products including hair transplant with little to no results. Needless to say, I came to the realization that I needed to go natural but hesitated because I lacked the knowledge and the courage. However, after reading Dr. Austin’s book, I now feel empowered with the knowledge to finally go natural. In her book, Dr. Austin sets aside the sometimes confusing jargon frequently found in some books and takes you on a personal journey of the transition process. But most important, she teaches you “how to” care for your hair from the inside out. If you are looking for a book written with authority and sensitivity on the topic of hair growth, this is the book. I would recommend this book to anyone interested in a holistic approach to growing and caring for healthy beautiful natural hair from the inside out. Dr. Austin, thank you for sharing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT!

    This is the BEST book I have ever read on Black hair care. As a person that practices holistic living and looks to hair care advice from reputable professionals, I must say that I am very impressed with Dr. Austin's expertise on Black hair care. Furthermore, I was even more impressed with her stunning head of hair. I truly enjoyed this book and it's very rare that you find health professionals that can communicate with readers (let alone patients) on a very personable level. This doctor does just that. She approaches the subject of Black hair care from a professional, as well as a personal perspective. Her writing style is down to earth and even beautiful at times (especially when she talks about her previous hair and self-esteem struggles). I especially loved how she delved deep into topics like alternative medicine treatments and nutritional supplements for hair growth. I would absolutely recommend this book to any and everyone who is looking for a comprehensive guide to growing healthy and long Black hair!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2012

    Fantastic Resource!

    I bought this book to help me figure out how to take care of my natural hair. Her system is simple, and easy to follow; it gives you a lot of options. I found the right olis for my hair, and my curls are hydrated, healthy and happy. This book is excellent; I highly recommend it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2012

    I should have read this book first! Unfortunately, I read a dif

    I should have read this book first! Unfortunately, I read a different book first and was left with more questions than answers. Dr. Austin has given us so much practical "take away" value. This is not just a book for women with natural hair. This is a book for anyone who desires to have healthy long hair. Whether you have chemically processed hair or natural hair...you will find valuable information here. This book covers the whole ball of wax; how to nurture the body, the mind and the soul for overall good health. Dr. Austin isn't just speaking to our hair. I anxiously look forward to her next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    A great resource

    I loved this book! The whole philosophy of loving your god given hair is the best approach! I bought the book for information on Aryuvedic hair care, but i got so much more from it! A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly recommend this book. I love the hair recipe.

    I agree If you love it, It will grow. Great book !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1