BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

If You Stay

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Dont pass up

This is a very well written story about love, pain, forgiveness & hope. The first couple of chapters are quite raw, but the rest of the book isn't quite like that. It's a fairly short (about 170pgs) but powerful read. Would recommend for young adults & older.

posted by 1534566 on February 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see w





I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see what the hype was about.  When I stared reading the first page, my jaw was slightly ajar.  It was not what I was expecting.  I don't think the cover connects with the actual darkness that this book brings to...




I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see what the hype was about.  When I stared reading the first page, my jaw was slightly ajar.  It was not what I was expecting.  I don't think the cover connects with the actual darkness that this book brings to the table. 




This is so dark.  Pax is so messed up.  The first time Milla meets Pax, Pax is dead or about dead, from a self induced drug overdose.  She saves his life.  For me this was a struggle to connect with, perhaps from being around one to many messed up people, it was hard for me to see how she would immediately want to put herself in a relationship with Pax.




This story is well written and you definitely get some crazy things happening.  I liked it, but for some reason I had a hard time with it.  It didn't draw me in as much as I would have liked.   




There is a nice love story here, and the overall theme is love never fails.  There are some very great scenes with paint and nakedness.  I also really liked that Milla wasn't the virgin needing saving, I start to get sick of every girl being a virgin, Milla was the girl out to do the saving.  

posted by upallnightbookblog on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Dont pass up

    This is a very well written story about love, pain, forgiveness & hope. The first couple of chapters are quite raw, but the rest of the book isn't quite like that. It's a fairly short (about 170pgs) but powerful read. Would recommend for young adults & older.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    U will fall in love

    There are few books that make you cry and laugh and hope. And this book had it all. It was beautifly written and an amazing strory. A must read.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    5

    What a sad and beautiful story! I really enjoyed the love story, but the backstory was great, too-sad, but great. I kept expecting Pax to screw up in all the usual ways, and I'm glad he didn't. I'm getting so tired of the whole ' boy cheats, but the girl forgives him because he really loves her' crap. And even though he got dark for a bit, we never doubted his love for Mila.
    This story is so unique because Pax was always brutally honest, even when he was scared of his dark side and the repercussions. And once Pax committed, he was in 100%, even though he was messed up emotionally.
    I will definitely read more from this author. I loved her first book, My Favorite Mistake. And this book was even better, by miles.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Anonymous

    Wow loved Mila and Pax! What a wonderful heartfelt story. I laughed and cried and could not put it down! Waiting for the next one!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    This has to be one of the most amazing books I have had the plea

    This has to be one of the most amazing books I have had the pleasure of reading!

    From start to finish I was enthralled and I couldn't put it down. I mean, WOW, what a way to introduce us to sexy, bad-boy, Pax Tate. And poor Mila, she deserves a medal for what she had to go through in the beginning.

    The story is well paced and jam-packed with emotion. There wasn't a second that my heart wasn't in my throat. I loved the development of Pax and Mila's relationship, and boy, oh boy, are there some scorching hot scenes in this book! I especially loved the tantalising second date. It really upped the ante on the sensuality of this story...and it made me want to start painting!


    Underneath it all, there is a really beautiful love story. One in which two people learn to accept, and love each other – as well as themselves. Everything about this couple felt real. They faced many hurdles but they also shared many beautiful tender moments.
    I cannot express enough how much I loved the characters. Pax is flawed in so many ways. All he's ever known are bad habits, trashy people and the dark void that fills his soul. He doesn’t apologize for being a bad-boy. In fact, he quite clearly puts it out there that he has problems, take it or leave it. And I admired him for his brutal honesty. But his bad-boy side was clearly a shield and I was intrigued as to why he’d become that way. So when the truth was revealed, my heart shattered into tiny pieces.

    Mila on the other hand, although more grounded and stable, really seems to be missing something. It felt like she was holding back and only started to live again after meeting Pax. She is such a wonderful, strong female MC, and I think we can learn a lot from her. She is independent, and even when she starts a relationship with Pax, she holds her own. She doesn’t become needy and clingy. She has doubts about him but they are all within reason, and when it does get to breaking point, she takes a step back. It takes all of her willpower but she does it, and I felt a sense of pride that she took the risk of letting go for the sake of their love.

    These days it’s too easy for people to make promises and then break them without a thought, so I loved that Pax didn’t promise Mila the world, he only told her that he would try to not hurt her. And because of his love for her he turned that try into a lasting promise, proving that Love Never Fails.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Luv This Book!

    Luv This Book!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see w





    I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see what the hype was about.  When I stared reading the first page, my jaw was slightly ajar.  It was not what I was expecting.  I don't think the cover connects with the actual darkness that this book brings to the table. 




    This is so dark.  Pax is so messed up.  The first time Milla meets Pax, Pax is dead or about dead, from a self induced drug overdose.  She saves his life.  For me this was a struggle to connect with, perhaps from being around one to many messed up people, it was hard for me to see how she would immediately want to put herself in a relationship with Pax.




    This story is well written and you definitely get some crazy things happening.  I liked it, but for some reason I had a hard time with it.  It didn't draw me in as much as I would have liked.   




    There is a nice love story here, and the overall theme is love never fails.  There are some very great scenes with paint and nakedness.  I also really liked that Milla wasn't the virgin needing saving, I start to get sick of every girl being a virgin, Milla was the girl out to do the saving.  

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Awesome!!!!

    This is such an good book! I loved Mila and Pax. This book is in my top 5 favorites!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Only okay

    Disappointing....all these books are all starting to run together....bad boy and good girl....they break up and make up....nothing original.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    I love Pax and Mila, what a great love story.  I love their char

    I love Pax and Mila, what a great love story.  I love their character and the way the author build it up.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Love!

    Love, love, love this book. It is so well written. It reminds you no matter how dark your world seems the light will find you if you let it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I'm a bit short on words in how I want to explain this book. Ove

    I'm a bit short on words in how I want to explain this book. Overall it was a great read. The writing style is very easy to fall into and the pace was perfect. The author took her time in making sure that each character was developed with care and that the story line moved in a sensible direction without being melodramatic or too over the top. Nothing irks me more than these "twists" where suddenly someone's a zombie or their magically inheriting money from a relative who suddenly died. Let's be real here - and she was. Much appreciated. The look at substance abuse and the reality behind it was nice to see, but this is where I felt a little lacking. From having prior experience with those who abused drugs and alcohol, it seemed like he just gave it all up a little easily for her and barely had any withdrawal or anything. Even if he wasn't addicted it wouldn't that simple - I don't think. I would have much preferred to see him experience the real pain of giving all that up for someone - feeling his body reel from the sudden lack of exposure to drugs, alcohol, and sex. Again, overall the book was a great read. I certainly was in no way disappointed for investing my time. The language read easy and the dialogue was perfectly done. I felt like I really knew the main characters and the story was inviting and interesting. I'm only now realizing this is #1, curious what #2 will hold or where the story will go from there. I'll definitely pick up the next read - and you should pick this one up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    GREAT READ!

    Courtney Cole hits it out of the ballpark with this book! You're just pulling for Pax to straighten himself out from the very beginning. Can't go wrong with this read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Beautiful love story!

    This is a well written story that captivates you from the very first sentence. You'll laugh and cry through the journey these characters take. I actually find myself wanting the author to write another book about Pax and Mila.
    This book is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Soooo good

    Soooo good I could not put it down its a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Short but powerful.

    Short but powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great love story

    This was a great love story,Mila and Pax are so great with loving and caring for each other. I love the way she never gives up on him. This is how a love story should be it's must read for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Loved it

    This book is amaxing. Pax is so broken but u love him anyway. A must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11