Customer Reviews for

If You Stay

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Dont pass up

This is a very well written story about love, pain, forgiveness & hope. The first couple of chapters are quite raw, but the rest of the book isn't quite like that. It's a fairly short (about 170pgs) but powerful read. Would recommend for young adults & older.

posted by 1534566 on February 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see w





I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see what the hype was about.  When I stared reading the first page, my jaw was slightly ajar.  It was not what I was expecting.  I don't think the cover connects with the actual darkness that this book brings to...




I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see what the hype was about.  When I stared reading the first page, my jaw was slightly ajar.  It was not what I was expecting.  I don't think the cover connects with the actual darkness that this book brings to the table. 




This is so dark.  Pax is so messed up.  The first time Milla meets Pax, Pax is dead or about dead, from a self induced drug overdose.  She saves his life.  For me this was a struggle to connect with, perhaps from being around one to many messed up people, it was hard for me to see how she would immediately want to put herself in a relationship with Pax.




This story is well written and you definitely get some crazy things happening.  I liked it, but for some reason I had a hard time with it.  It didn't draw me in as much as I would have liked.   




There is a nice love story here, and the overall theme is love never fails.  There are some very great scenes with paint and nakedness.  I also really liked that Milla wasn't the virgin needing saving, I start to get sick of every girl being a virgin, Milla was the girl out to do the saving.  

posted by upallnightbookblog on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    I'm a bit short on words in how I want to explain this book. Ove

    I'm a bit short on words in how I want to explain this book. Overall it was a great read. The writing style is very easy to fall into and the pace was perfect. The author took her time in making sure that each character was developed with care and that the story line moved in a sensible direction without being melodramatic or too over the top. Nothing irks me more than these "twists" where suddenly someone's a zombie or their magically inheriting money from a relative who suddenly died. Let's be real here - and she was. Much appreciated. The look at substance abuse and the reality behind it was nice to see, but this is where I felt a little lacking. From having prior experience with those who abused drugs and alcohol, it seemed like he just gave it all up a little easily for her and barely had any withdrawal or anything. Even if he wasn't addicted it wouldn't that simple - I don't think. I would have much preferred to see him experience the real pain of giving all that up for someone - feeling his body reel from the sudden lack of exposure to drugs, alcohol, and sex. Again, overall the book was a great read. I certainly was in no way disappointed for investing my time. The language read easy and the dialogue was perfectly done. I felt like I really knew the main characters and the story was inviting and interesting. I'm only now realizing this is #1, curious what #2 will hold or where the story will go from there. I'll definitely pick up the next read - and you should pick this one up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    A good read

    It was short but a good read. I love Pax's character. Hes strong, troubled, passionate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    really good book

    this book was amazing, i loved it, if your into a drama, love, trust kind of book then this book is for you!!!! you will get into it that you cant put the book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Wow, gritty and real

    The story is vivid from the beginning! Gritty and real. A little HEA, but after everything I wanted it for Pax. It is really his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Good book!

    So glad I bought it, very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good!

    Nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    This is my first book by Courtney Cole and I have to say I'm pre

    This is my first book by Courtney Cole and I have to say I'm pretty picky. I thought the book was "real" enough to hit home for anyone who feels like sometimes they're just not good enough. Most people have had a downward spiral in their life and Pax shows hes know different. I think my favorite part of this book is that the characters seem real. Its not overly fluffy with random mushy words that I skim over and roll my eyes. They talk like we talk, they do as we do and at the end of the book I feel like they're friends. Great introduction to a new author for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Nice

    Definitely kept my interest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    A good book and super read!

    Sexy and fun! Definately worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Good read

    I really liked this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am so happy to have read this book! I loved the story from sta

    I am so happy to have read this book! I loved the story from start to finish. It was a sad and beautiful story and it felt very real. I loved Pax and Mila's characters. I loved the story. I loved just about everything! I finished this book in just 2 days because it was one of those stories that I couldn't put down without wanting to know more. I loved how the author wrote about Lake Michigan and that she is from Lake Michigan as well. This is the first book of Ms. Cole's that I have read and it will not be my last. I would love for this book to be the start of series and to hear more about Mila and Pax. I have recommended this to many friends and would recommend to everyone.You will not be disappointed! Thanks Ms. Cole for this incredible book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    "Love never fails, Mila. And I'll never fail you again. Tha

    "Love never fails, Mila. And I'll never fail you again. That's a promise.” 

    If You Stay is such an incredible book. So much depth, so much emotion. I'm kind of in a New Adult phase right now, so I devoured this book in a day. And man, did I love it! Pax and Mila are both such amazing characters, and I really connected with them in this book. I loved being inside their heads, even if it was just for a day!
    From the first chapter itself, I knew this was a book that would stand out to me. Courtney Cole doesn't shy away from serious issues or anything that others may find slightly uncomfortable. I loved the raw and honest feeling that this book gave me. If You Stay is definitely for mature readers, though, so if you're below 15, I don't recommend reading it right now :P
    Initially, Pax is just not the kind of guy I'd like. His life mainly revolves around drugs and sex, and he doesn't seem to care about who he's becoming or what he does with his life. I didn't like the way he treats women, and I didn't like the way he treats himself. But along the way, after meeting Mila, he began to change. We get to find out a lot about Pax's past, a lot of shocking revelations. And trust me, they were probably the most shocking things I've ever read in a book! There are heavy issues addressed in this book, and they're not to be taken lightly.
    I grew to love Pax, though. How could I not? He can be so incredibly romantic. I love his determination to prove to Mila that he can be a good guy for her, the right guy for her. I love how protective he is of Mila. He really, really doesn't want to hurt her. But he doesn't know if he can stop himself from doing that. Pax is a heartbreaker, but deep down he's just a misunderstood guy with a dark past. I know that's a bit cliched in New Adult, but Courtney's writing just makes this book so different from the others.
    I also really liked Mila's character, even though I have a couple of issues with her. Mila is sweet, kind, and selfless - basically, everything Pax is not. At first, anyway. In Mila's first encounter with Pax, she saves his life. Pax sees the goodness shining through her, and is attracted immediately. Mila knows Pax isn't good for her, but she can't seem to stay away. her sister, Madison, isn't helping either, by telling her to stay away from him. I loved how Mila never gave up on Pax. She believed in him from start to finish, and that's part of the reason why he was able to face his past. She lent him strength when he needed it, and reassurance too. What I didn't like about Mila was that she doesn't get that Pax needs his space. When he regains his memories of his past, he needs time to let it all sink in. It's normal to shut people out, because they can't really help you. But Mila doesn't get that, and she resents Pax for shutting her out. Enough that she decides the relationship isn't worth it! I wanted to go into the book and smack her, but thankfully it worked out.
    Another thing I really love in this book is Pax and Mila's relationship. They're just so sweet and hilarious together! They tease and joke with each other a lot, and the banter was a nice break from the darker parts of the novel. Oh, and their relationship is seriously hot. Like, sizzling. Every time they're alone together, holy hell, it's enough to make you sweat! The scenes are so, so steamy. Which is another reason this book is for mature readers! The romance is so deep and intense, and every second left me begging for more.
    If You Stay really is a fantastic novel, and the emotion in it as well as the depth of the characters make it even more amazing. I honestly can't wait to read the companion novel, If You Leave, which follows Mila's sister, Madison. I know it's going to be just as good, and Courtney will blow me away with it, like she did with If You Stay. If you guys love New Adult, you HAVE to read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    Great read

    Couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Love this story

    This book was emotional and touching. Can't wait for the second installment!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    Good book

    This was a good love story. Love the fact that it was complete story with it ending a year later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If You Stay is an intense and dramatic love story that unfolds i

    If You Stay is an intense and dramatic love story that unfolds into one of the most shocking books I've read in a while. It tackles serious issues throughout the story and builds, it was hard to put down, but sometimes more than I could handle. Courtney Cole will have any reader reliving the intense emotions that she instills in her characters, crying for them and laughing with them. The drama in this book rivals most and is the perfect mixture of truth, hurt, and love.
    When we meet Pax he's completely broken, he's at the end of a dark road and he's drowning in the abuse that has existed for him. He's alone, even when he's not, and while financially he's doing well we all know that money can't buy everything. When his life takes a dramatic turn he meets Mila, who saves his life in more ways than one. And, the physical attraction between them is something neither can ignore. From here not only do their emotions escalate but so does the story. The past that Pax is so desperately running from (even not entirely knowing why) catches up to him and it's time he faced his demons. The thing I loved about this story was the fact that the characters tried working things out, they sought help, and things don't get better over night.
    My favorite thing about If You Stay is Mila. She's supportive and brave; probably one of the most loyal characters out there; but, she stands up for herself. She's strong, not only for Pax but for herself. I loved the fact that she thought of herself as the girl and not just the heroine, she's fragile herself and coping with her own life and she realizes that and knows that she's only human. This book is a prime example of why alternating POVs should be in all books. Going back and forth between the characters draws me into both sides of the story. It made Pax and Mila's romance three dimensional and a heart palpitating read.
    If You Stay is a powerful and riveting account of the horrible sides of human nature and the best sides. It's dark, grimy, and all-consuming, a book that fans of this genre will not want to overlook. It contains drug use, violence, alcohol use, sex, and more adult themes. I do not recommend this read to anyone under 17. I haven't read anything else by Courtney Cole but I will be definitely be checking more of her work out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Bea Beautiful!!!!!

    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    This was a good one. Really enjoyed it and even though it is a s

    This was a good one. Really enjoyed it and even though it is a shorter book, it really held my attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was great.  I love how Courtney told you how it is wit

    This book was great.  I love how Courtney told you how it is with Pax right out of the gate!  Pax is the type of guy you are supposed to not like b/c of how she makes him but you grow to love him!  I  loved this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down until I finis

    I really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down until I finished it. I liked how brutually honest the two were with each other, unlike other books where they don't say what they feel. Its very honest and raw. I really liked it. Def worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3