Customer Reviews for

If You Stay (Beautifully Broken Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Dont pass up

This is a very well written story about love, pain, forgiveness & hope. The first couple of chapters are quite raw, but the rest of the book isn't quite like that. It's a fairly short (about 170pgs) but powerful read. Would recommend for young adults & older.

posted by 1534566 on February 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see w





I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see what the hype was about.  When I stared reading the first page, my jaw was slightly ajar.  It was not what I was expecting.  I don't think the cover connects with the actual darkness that this book brings to...




I bought this book because of its popularity, I had to see what the hype was about.  When I stared reading the first page, my jaw was slightly ajar.  It was not what I was expecting.  I don't think the cover connects with the actual darkness that this book brings to the table. 




This is so dark.  Pax is so messed up.  The first time Milla meets Pax, Pax is dead or about dead, from a self induced drug overdose.  She saves his life.  For me this was a struggle to connect with, perhaps from being around one to many messed up people, it was hard for me to see how she would immediately want to put herself in a relationship with Pax.




This story is well written and you definitely get some crazy things happening.  I liked it, but for some reason I had a hard time with it.  It didn't draw me in as much as I would have liked.   




There is a nice love story here, and the overall theme is love never fails.  There are some very great scenes with paint and nakedness.  I also really liked that Milla wasn't the virgin needing saving, I start to get sick of every girl being a virgin, Milla was the girl out to do the saving.  

posted by upallnightbookblog on March 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Omg

    Omg thats all i can say. I couldnt put this book down. I love pax with all his flaws like a real man and mila as a strong counterpart . Supportive, strong, open with a heart as big as a room. Just WOW!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great story

    Loved the story and the characters. I really became immersed in the story and felt as if I were right there with the characters. Great writing and I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Loved this

    It was a great,albeit short book. Wonderful characters and storyline.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    If You Stay by Courtney Cole is a gutsy and deeply emotional New

    If You Stay by Courtney Cole is a gutsy and deeply emotional New Adult Romance. If you are on the fence about the New Adult genre or this book in particular, don’t be. Go out and get this book.

    First, Pax and Mila are in their early 20s so they are old enough to appeal to more mature readers but young enough to appeal to both the New Adult and Young Adult age groups. They are also paradoxically both mature and immature for their ages which adds an extra layer to their characters.

    Second, the extremely frank look at some hard core subjects (drugs, prostitution, familial death, and psychological issues) is hard and deeply emotional all at the same time. It is reminiscent of the movie Requiem for a Dream in the way it puts it all out there in a stark, unyielding, and very messy way. There is no sugar coating or white washing going on here. The ugliness of it all is right out in the open. Frankly, at first, it was hard to take, especially since you are hit with a lot of it right up front. But, in the end, the honesty of it was far more compelling and emotional than any partially hidden view of it could ever have been. This is the strength and heart of the book.

    Pax may be 24, but he is deeply troubled and emotionally scarred in ways he does not even know or understand. Despite this, when he meets Mila, he can’t seem to stay away. Her lightness calls to something deep inside his darkness. For Mila, her kindness is both her weakness and her strength. She too has dealt with difficult situations and she chose a different path than Pax. Mila is both deeply repelled by and deeply attracted to Pax. The juxtaposition of their choices in life and their outlooks on life make this seem initially like an “opposites attract” storyline but it really isn’t. They have certain life events in common; they are more alike than either can see. Just as Mila is not too perfect and still has the capacity to complain, be catty, etc, Pax is not too troubled. He has the capacity to care, even if it is often involuntarily.

    Because this is told in first person with alternating points of view, the reader gets to see into both Pax and Mila’s heads. They have distinct voices and both voices are compelling. While Pax has a more forceful and crude voice, Mila is no shrinking violet. Her voice tempers Pax’s in the same way her presence in his life tempers him.

    There is even a surprise twist in all this – something hinted at throughout the book but even my twisted mind couldn’t come up with the answer. It’s not an implausible twist. Ultimately, that’s one of the many beautiful things about this book. Whether that reality is beautiful or ugly, it’s always still real.

    Seriously, this is not a book you want to miss.

    RATING: 5

    Heat Rating: Hot

    REVIEWED BY: Monique Neaves,Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2013

    Omigosh this was an amazing read. I love it so! Clearly one of m

    Omigosh this was an amazing read. I love it so! Clearly one of my favorites so far this year. This one is highly emotional. I both laughed and cried while reading it.

    Pax. He's sexy and comes with a lot of baggage. He doesn't deal with his problems. Instead he abuses drugs and alcohol to feel numb. He lost his mother when he was seven years old and instead of dealing with the loss he's ignored his feelings all these years.

    Mila. I loved her. When she finds Pax in trouble and on the verge of dying from a drug overdose she can't walk away. She has to try to save his life. 

    A few days later when she visits him in the hospital to make sure that he's alright, Pax finds himself fascinated with her. 

    The attraction between these two is apparent from the beginning. Both are different but they have a few things in common. I found myself wanting them to get together and give a relationship a go. 

    A relationship is something Pax has never had. It's all new to him but he tries really hard to not hurt Mila.

    If You Stay was a fast read for me and I couldn't put it down because I wanted to know how things would turn out for them. I wanted to see if Mila could help Pax deal with his inner demons and come out on the other side a better man.

    The sexual scenes were not only well written but very hot. *fans self* Pax is definitely swoon worthy.

    Up next is Madison's story and I can't wait to read it! 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Highly recommend this book

    This book was so amazing from beginning, when Pax was going down his long dark road, to the very end when he found someone to love & cherish. I highly recommend this book to anyone and everyone who's known somebody struggling with things in their past or have struggled with things in their past. This book gives the perspective that things truly do get better with time you just need to believe in yourself and those you've surrounded yourself with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    GREAT READ!

    Courtney Cole hits it out of the ballpark with this book! You're just pulling for Pax to straighten himself out from the very beginning. Can't go wrong with this read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Beautiful love story!

    This is a well written story that captivates you from the very first sentence. You'll laugh and cry through the journey these characters take. I actually find myself wanting the author to write another book about Pax and Mila.
    This book is a must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Soooo good

    Soooo good I could not put it down its a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Short but powerful.

    Short but powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great love story

    This was a great love story,Mila and Pax are so great with loving and caring for each other. I love the way she never gives up on him. This is how a love story should be it's must read for sure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Loved it

    This book is amaxing. Pax is so broken but u love him anyway. A must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    One of my favorite books of 2013 so far. Totally blew me away. I

    One of my favorite books of 2013 so far. Totally blew me away. I'll take more of Pax please!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Great book it's a must read

    Great book it's a must read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    This book was freaking amaze-balls good. Wow. I laughed, I cri

    This book was freaking amaze-balls good. Wow. I laughed, I cried, and then I was left feeling good. Bravo, Miss Cole!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Loved it

    Great storyline. Read it in a few hours.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Great book! I highly recommend to anyone who loves a bad boy tur

    Great book! I highly recommend to anyone who loves a bad boy turned good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2014

    VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    The first page, let alone the first chapter will have you hooked.. The author did a fantastic job writing about pretty traumatic issues and was also able to show humor at just the right time. Good job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 198 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 10