Customer Reviews for

If You Take a Mouse to the Movies

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Another great mouse book. My daughter, who learned to read with these books, is now getting them for her kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Completed our collection

    This book completed our collection of "If you ..." books. My 2.5 year old was ecstatic when it arrived in the mail. It is charming, perfect for the holidays and illustrations are (as always) full of detail and whimsy (makes it a lot more interesting to the parent!). The repetitive nature of all of these books is a bonus for a toddler. He started inventing similar stories of his own with the same template and centered around, for instance, going to the playground or going to daycare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    Great addition to the series - we loved it!

    Glad to have a holiday-themed book in Numeroff's collection! Great book - our 2 year old loves it and we don't mind reading it over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Winter Book

    This book takes place in the winter with great seasonal pictures, therefore I think it is a super book for the month of December. The little mouse is so demanding and the boy is very patient. The friendship between the two characters is an interesting one. One demanding and one accomidating.This series of stories are great and show cause and effect in an extreme manner. This book was fun and a page turner. I think that readers will want to find out what could possible happen next. This book entices readers to want to read the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2002

    4 of 4

    I liked this story. It was good to see the infamous mouse return to the series, but for some reason it didn't have the same feel as a Give series. Maybe I just miss the home-feel to it, but I wouldn't say no to another Take book though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2001

    A Worthy Christmas Variation of If You Give a Moose a Muffin

    Children benefit from stories with predictability. They also need stories that expand their imaginations. If You Take a Mouse to the Movies provides plenty of both. If you have read the other wonderful stories that precede this one by Felicia Bond, you will quickly recognize the theme. One thing leads to another . . . and pretty soon you are back at the beginning. In this case, the sequence is from movies to popcorn, to strings of popcorn as an ornament, to a Christmas tree, to snowman, to carrot, to fort, to snowball fight, to being cold, to blanket, to Christmas carols, to radio, to singing along, to making Christmas tree ornaments, to popcorn strung as an ornament, . . . and on to a movie. The beauty of these stories is that they take the perspective of a parent, older sibling, or other older person. This is a hard perspective for a child to appreciate . . . except in these stories. Intuitively, your child will recognize her or his many demands and how they build up on the provider. The result may be to help create a child's perception with a better sense of self-imposed limits. The long-suffering expression on the boy's face as he helps the mouse surely will create sympathy. I also like the way this book helps children see the connections among things, ideas, and actions. Learning to identify natural systems is a good thinking skill to develop. The repetition is desirable from another perspective. There are fewer words to learn as a beginning reader. The humor makes it fun to reread the book, which can lead to memorizing it faster, which leads to learning to read it sooner. The illustrations are particularly fine in their color and clarify. They set a wonderful mood of positive adventure for your child. After you have finished enjoying the story for about the 100th time, I suggest that you and your child or grandchild try your hand at writing and illustrating a similar kind of story. The challenges of extending a string of actions and items to reconnect with the beginning will enhance the perceptual benefits that can be gained from this fine book. What goes around, comes around. Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    This book is great

    My two year old son loves this book..the rhythm of the story and the pictures...he received If You Give a Mouse a Cookie last year for Christmas and we just had to run out and pick up the other 2 books too. When I ran across this new one in the bookstore I snapped it right up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1