Customer Reviews for

If You Want to Write: A Book about Art, Independence and Spirit

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding

I love this book, it's very inspirational and has induced me to write again. Writing has become a joy and not a chore and I hate the times when I don't get to write.

This book is a must read for anyone who feels they need to be more creative and self doubt holds you ...
I love this book, it's very inspirational and has induced me to write again. Writing has become a joy and not a chore and I hate the times when I don't get to write.

This book is a must read for anyone who feels they need to be more creative and self doubt holds you back.

posted by Andy_Thornton on May 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended by some, painful reading to me!

The author, a lifelong writer, journalist, and writing teacher, has written a cheerleading book on how to find your authentic voice as a writer, and, by extension, how to live an authentic life in whatever you do. But I found her style annoying, repetitive, disjointed, ...
The author, a lifelong writer, journalist, and writing teacher, has written a cheerleading book on how to find your authentic voice as a writer, and, by extension, how to live an authentic life in whatever you do. But I found her style annoying, repetitive, disjointed, and surprisingly unengaging. Occasional sparks of erudition emerge here and there. But one can get the essence of the book by reading its final few pages.

posted by MKM11 on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    Outstanding

    I love this book, it's very inspirational and has induced me to write again. Writing has become a joy and not a chore and I hate the times when I don't get to write.

    This book is a must read for anyone who feels they need to be more creative and self doubt holds you back.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    Highly recommended by some, painful reading to me!

    The author, a lifelong writer, journalist, and writing teacher, has written a cheerleading book on how to find your authentic voice as a writer, and, by extension, how to live an authentic life in whatever you do. But I found her style annoying, repetitive, disjointed, and surprisingly unengaging. Occasional sparks of erudition emerge here and there. But one can get the essence of the book by reading its final few pages.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    Hidden Gem

    I checked out this book from my local library and bought my own version right after I returned it. It may have been published in the 30's but you would be silly to dismiss a good read just because it is old. Inspiration is never outdated.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    If You Want To Write: More than just a writer's guide.

    I first read this enthralling book in a creative writing class at Texas A&M University. As it was a required text, I had little hope that it would be applicable to more than my personal writing skills. Therefore, I was pleasantly surprised by the author's unique musings on not only writing, but on life. Ueland does not bore the reader with stale writing exercises; instead she urges the reader to become 'idle' by taking the time to let thoughts flow freely and form completely. She explains that without this 'idle' thought process one's writing will be bland and meaningless. She insist that everyone has a story to tell, which she demonstrates through excerpts from her students' writings. She describes in detail what she believes to be the imagination, as well as what she believes stifles it. The entire book is a series of Ueland's creative perspectives, which I found captivating. I will reference this book in the future not only when writing, but also when searching for ways I can become more passionate about life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Brenda Ueland¿s book: If You Want to Write, supports reality wr


    Brenda Ueland’s book: If You Want to Write, supports reality writing. From pupils thoughts, adventures, failures, rages, villainies and nobilities; they’re encouraged to write what is seen, for their writing to come alive through description. Creativity is directed with the technique of first understanding what is learned instantly. Or by linking following contemplation to understand the first at that time. This allows working creative power to flow and reinforce without time consuming repetition. She gives different examples of this process, and when to notice different ideas. She advises writing (as in drafts) and then knowing what is needed to change, adapt, cut, and expand a story. She increases creativity and imagination without boundaries, in examples of herself and students. Her technique can help in the writing exchange with readers. From awareness in writing to publishing a book she explains how not to be daunted by the written expression of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    Great book for a beginner

    I'm glad to see this book still in print. Its one of my staples; a part of my writing roots. My creative writing professor made it required reading. This book is permanent in my library and filled with notes, underlines, highliter, and dog eared pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    Disappointed

    First published in 1938, it may have spoke volumes. Today, it simply isn't relevant--pure babble.
    I'll never buy another e-book with out first sniffing the sample.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you feel bogged down when you write, read this book!

    Barbara teaches by example that less is indeed more! An easy, quick and very engaging read that compels one to not get bogged down with verbosity. I dreaded writing before reading this book, yet was compelled to write because I had things to say. I now cannot wait to write! She's taught me how to "color" with few words, drawing the reader in with ease to "feel" my writing. I think good writing makes you forget you're reading. This book does just that, and it aims to compel you to accomplish the same in your writing! GREAT BOOK I first read years ago and look forward to picking up again after lending to a friend who asked to pass on to another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    Inspires you to be not only a Better Writer but a Better Person.

    This book was one of the textbooks required for my ENGL 235 creative writing class. The more I read it the more I become inspired to be a better writer. To try harder in the way I live my life and to have an outlook on life that inspires people. Brenda Ueland manages to convey, in writing, all the necessary tools one most posses to become a well rounded and well respected writer. I would read this book even if I had no desire to be a writer because her writing is just pure inspiration for everyday life. It is a great book and I applaud my professor for recommending such a book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    the joy is in the journey

    I had read this book about a year ago and yet I refer back to it regularly. This book is full of inspiration. Ueland defines the reasoning behind letting go and writting what simply feels right. This book brought me to realize the importance of useing talents to show others and to think of others when useing my talents. After all the joy is in the journey an the results are secondary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2000

    Great, if not the BEST

    This book grabs you by the shoulders and makes you sit upright and realize what is inside of you. It helps you realize what you can do for yourself by releasing your writing grimlins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2