Customer Reviews for

If You Want to Walk on Water, You've Got to Get Out of the Boat

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't Be A Pew Potato!

I've been a John Ortberg fan ever since I heard him speak several years ago. Since then, I've read all his books, but this one really challenged me to stop being a 'pew potato' and go where God is calling me without insisting I know where that is first. Ortb...
I've been a John Ortberg fan ever since I heard him speak several years ago. Since then, I've read all his books, but this one really challenged me to stop being a 'pew potato' and go where God is calling me without insisting I know where that is first. Ortberg's style is not at all 'preachy,' and you know he is writing directly from his own experiences. I love that he is so transparent and genuine about his own shortcomings. You know he grapples with every issue himself that he writes about. His writing can make you laugh out loud one minute, then turn and lay something deeply profound on you in the next paragraph. A treasure of a book that I plan to keep and read at least once a year!

posted by Anonymous on August 27, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pleasant book

While this was a "pleasant" book to read and the message was quite true, the reader got all they needed to know in the first two chapters. After that, it was a lot of redundancy. I probably wouldn't recommend this to a friend.

posted by lou-baby on February 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Oh My God...

    Oh My God....I felt as if this book was written expressly for me! Of course, that is not true...it was written expressly for those of us who are trying to hear God's voice. I wish I could send a copy to everyone I know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Don't Be A Pew Potato!

    I've been a John Ortberg fan ever since I heard him speak several years ago. Since then, I've read all his books, but this one really challenged me to stop being a 'pew potato' and go where God is calling me without insisting I know where that is first. Ortberg's style is not at all 'preachy,' and you know he is writing directly from his own experiences. I love that he is so transparent and genuine about his own shortcomings. You know he grapples with every issue himself that he writes about. His writing can make you laugh out loud one minute, then turn and lay something deeply profound on you in the next paragraph. A treasure of a book that I plan to keep and read at least once a year!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended Christian Study Guide

    Again John Ortberg does not disappoint . A thought provoking message with much to discuss and meditate about . The material is interesting and well written. Good for a group study.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Makes you think!

    I enjoyed this book, so did our sunday school class!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    FAITH FAITH FAITH

    If there is anything on your heart that GOD is callin you to do, share, be then do it. GET OUT OF THE BOAT AND WALK ON THE WATER, Where is ur FAITH READ THIS. Then step out and see that GOD IS"""""""""""""""""""""" THEN YOU FILL IN THE SPACE_________________.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good for small group studies.

    This study is good for an intellectual conversation between friends who would like to grow closer to God by improving their walk. Our group consisted of 6 married couples who were committed to help each other get out of the boat and do God's work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2003

    Inspirational and humorous

    John does a good job of inspiring you to take risks while at the same time making sure you understand that there will be difficulties and fear when you do. He shares funny personal events that help you to better understand his points. He also backs up his assertions with other authors and Bible verses. I am not an avid reader and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2003

    Taking the First Step

    This book was truly a turning point in my life. As a non-'for fun' reader, I finished this book in 4 days because I couldn't put it down. The insight and depth Ortberg brings to surface is awesome! You really can get the vision, courage, strength and faith to do what you dream, with the Lord on your side. But, you have to take the first step. That is what our Lord has always shown us. Show Him that you are willing by taking the first step and He will show you things unimaginable that you can attain! You cannot walk in faith and fear at the same time. It is your choice how you walk each day. I am choosing faith!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2003

    Need Changes But No Courage ?

    If you are struggling with your misery life, can't stand it any more and don't know what you miss for the changes, here is the book to tell you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2002

    Thought provoking...

    This book truly opened my eyes and helped me to be saved. What an amazing thing it is to be able to step out of the boat knowing that Jesus commands us and is waiting for us just beyond the storm. A must read for anyone just beginning to explore their faith...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding

    This is an amazing depiction of Peter's infamous walk on water. I can't say enough about how this book has helped me realize that GOD is with me at all times. This book helps you to discern when GOD is speaking and to learn to Trust GOD with all you heart. We have a tendency to put our Faith in only tangible things. Peter was called by GOD to walk on water. If he had never gotten out of the boat, he never would have experienced Jesus' power. Think about the things that you want to do, but dare not because you are afraid. I'm sure Peter was afraid, but he trusted GOD and probably had the most exciting experience of his life. So grab hold of your Faith, Trust in GOD, and get out of the boat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    Wet Your Feet

    Wet your feet and get ready to become brave. What is your calling and realtionship with God? Did you give in or stay seated to his word? Wet your feet and show others your strength in God's word. A jewel of a book to keep forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1