BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

If You Were Here

Average Rating 4
( 154 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great as usual

I love Jen and all her books. This was a great read. Easy, quick and fun. Footnotes are great and i got used to tapping on the footnote that brought me to the back of the book then i just hit it again and i was back to reading. Really no big deal. I Can't wait for the n...
I love Jen and all her books. This was a great read. Easy, quick and fun. Footnotes are great and i got used to tapping on the footnote that brought me to the back of the book then i just hit it again and i was back to reading. Really no big deal. I Can't wait for the next book and in the meantime I enjoy her website and facebook posts.

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nook Format for this book stinks!

If you read Jen Lancaster's books, then you will know that her footnotes are one of the funnest parts. But in the noon format? Yeah, they aren't at the bottom of each page. So unless you want to constantly scroll to the very back of the book every couple of sentences...
If you read Jen Lancaster's books, then you will know that her footnotes are one of the funnest parts. But in the noon format? Yeah, they aren't at the bottom of each page. So unless you want to constantly scroll to the very back of the book every couple of sentences, you are going to miss out on her extra little funny insights.

The book itself is a fun read. Not her best, but still entertaining.

posted by 5637211 on May 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Great as usual

    I love Jen and all her books. This was a great read. Easy, quick and fun. Footnotes are great and i got used to tapping on the footnote that brought me to the back of the book then i just hit it again and i was back to reading. Really no big deal. I Can't wait for the next book and in the meantime I enjoy her website and facebook posts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Must Read

    I have read all of her books and have loved them all. This was my first Nook book. I love the footnotes but did not love the scrolling back and forth. Either way it is a great read and sarcastically funny. Cant wait for the next book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Love Jen Lancaster. Looking forward to next release.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book is awesome!!

    I loved this book. I also loved the references to John Hughes. It was an enertaining read and I was sad when I finished the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A funny and entertaining book! I couldn't put it down

    This book had me actually laughing out loud, as Jen Lancaster entertains her reader with the antics of her protagonist Mia and her hubby Mac.

    Mia is an author of a series of “Amish Zombie” novels who—along with her husband—lives in a rental home with their menagerie of pets. The home is in a less than desirable section of town but the rent won out over their better judgment. Thus, they find themselves in the middle of a throw down with a thug who tags everything in the neighborhood, including a church across from their home.

    After the thug “ORNESTEGA” retaliates against the couple by throwing a firebomb at the house, they finally throw in the towel and start the search to buy a home in the outskirts of Chicago, Illinois. During the search for a new property, the owner of the rental house, Vienna Hyatt has taken any opportunity available to make the MacNamara’s lives miserable, threatening to sue them for a window broken by the firebomb and the video leaked by a team of packers who observed the celebrity go off on them.

    Eventually the MacNamara’s find the perfect home and put an offer on it. The place was featured in “The Breakfast Club” which happens to be the couple’s favorite movie. The house is in deplorable condition and turns out to be a money pit. Through many failed attempts at DIY home renovations, the couple resorts to hiring a contractor, which proves to be easier said than done.

    With her fifth book, Jen Lancaster has created a hilarious romp through the hazard stricken lives of Mia and Mac. Jen incorporates little tidbits that are added commentary Mia adds in the telling of her story. Her characters are definitely the “Laurel and Hardy” of the renovation circuit, leaving the reader thinking of the mishaps they have experienced in their DIY foray. If you want to find yourself laughing at the end of a long day this is the book you should be picking up.

    Reviewed for Suspense Magazine

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Love her sassy style! Reading her books is like talking with your best girlfriend. It does wonders for the soul.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Loved it

    I am a great fan of Jen Lancaster's books and blog. I have to admit I was a little concerned about her first journey into fiction. I ended up loving the book and if she writes another fiction book, I will gladly pick it up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Love it!

    Anyone who likes Jen's other books will like this as well. Even though this one is fiction, you can totally see Jen all through out the book. I had to keep reminding myself that these characters were not Jen & Fletch. I loved it but I also think she could have done a great memoir with this too. I love, love, love her memoirs! The footnotes on the nook version do kind of suck but it does not take away from the book itself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    AWESOME!!!

    I have never read a Jen Lancaster book ( and I'm not gonna lie and say I have even heard her name before, sorry :-() but I flipped thru this book at B&N and was curious about these footnotes so I bought the book. Needless to say, I read in 2 days!!! I have even been on a mad hunt to find her previous books ( Shame on you B&N for not having) and managed to find My Fair Lazy in paperback at Target. That one is even funnier!!! Ms. Lancaster is hilarious and witty and I have gladly added her to my fav authors list.Gotta go and order the other ones....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!

    I have long been a fan of Jen Lancaster and so enjoy her humor and wit. Her first fiction book is a HOME RUN! It is a quick read and not terribly deep. It is a great beach or vaca read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I wish I was THERE!

    I loved this book. I am not allowed to read at my desk at work but this book was so good I hid my nook behind my purse and tried to supress my laughter. I sit over in a corner, let me tell you a person gets strange looks when they sit alone and keep snorting with laughter.
    Mia and Mac remind me of my sister and brother-in-law. And they remindc me of my parents. The home improvements and the runs to Home Depot. I can't tell you how funny and awesome this book is. It made me watch all the John Hughes movies I could Netflix. It's like The Money Pit but with a 2011 twist!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    MUST READ!!!

    This is a new kind of book from Jen Lancaster. She is a very Witty and Funny writer. Just right for anybody especially the 1980's John Hughes lover. I cannot wait for MORE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Funny and Entertaining

    Jen Lancaster has done it again....Her first try at fiction was a SUCCESS! I can only hope that she continues.
    I loved her other books and this one did not disappoint. I found myself laughing aloud while I was reading it, much to the dismay of my husband.
    If you haven't read her other books, you must! Her sarcasm makes the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 57 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3