Customer Reviews for

If You Were Mine (The Sullivans Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 172 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(112)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Holy crap

## Holy crap! This book was magnificent! Fabulous, outstanding, tremendous and any other positive adjective you can dream up. Zach was so amazingly hot; confident yet unbelievably sweet and thoughtful. And did i mention he was hot? I love the way the author did not pla...
## Holy crap! This book was magnificent! Fabulous, outstanding, tremendous and any other positive adjective you can dream up. Zach was so amazingly hot; confident yet unbelievably sweet and thoughtful. And did i mention he was hot? I love the way the author did not play up his playboy status by reminding the reader over and over and over like so many others do. And I absolutely adored the heroine Heather. What a beautiful, strong and fun loving surprise she was. This Sullivan series is one of the best I've ever read. I can't wait for Ryan's story. In addition to this series i would also recommend the 'Bad boys of football' series and the 'Hot shots' series by Ms. Andre. Note to author: You Rock!

posted by 9394860 on May 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Big yawn! this series is getting boring. I don't know what the d

Big yawn! this series is getting boring. I don't know what the deal is with this author. Her writing used to be so hot. The writing was compelling and her stories were page turners. This is just so flat. I expected zach to be a more interesting guy and from previous des...
Big yawn! this series is getting boring. I don't know what the deal is with this author. Her writing used to be so hot. The writing was compelling and her stories were page turners. This is just so flat. I expected zach to be a more interesting guy and from previous descriptions, not quite so easily swayed by any woman. And heather is as boring as a cup of watery insipid herbal tea.

Maybe Bela's current publisher doesn't allow the explicit language and super-hot sex that Bela used to write with such style. Heck, even in the first couple books in this series she was allowed to use the names of body parts. Oh well. Bela, I hope you can turn it around. Until then I'll stick with your great books from 4 or 5 years ago! I do not recommend spending money on this one.

posted by SerenaK1 on May 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Holy crap

    ## Holy crap! This book was magnificent! Fabulous, outstanding, tremendous and any other positive adjective you can dream up. Zach was so amazingly hot; confident yet unbelievably sweet and thoughtful. And did i mention he was hot? I love the way the author did not play up his playboy status by reminding the reader over and over and over like so many others do. And I absolutely adored the heroine Heather. What a beautiful, strong and fun loving surprise she was. This Sullivan series is one of the best I've ever read. I can't wait for Ryan's story. In addition to this series i would also recommend the 'Bad boys of football' series and the 'Hot shots' series by Ms. Andre. Note to author: You Rock!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    What an awesome book! From beginning to end. I didn't want it t

    What an awesome book! From beginning to end. I didn't want it to end. I laughed and cried my way through the book. I have read all the Sullivan books and I have to say this is my fav. Can't wait for the next on. Bella you rock...

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    What a wonderful story!! I love the Sullivan family series and l

    What a wonderful story!! I love the Sullivan family series and look forward to the next. Thank you Bella Andre:)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Big yawn! this series is getting boring. I don't know what the d

    Big yawn! this series is getting boring. I don't know what the deal is with this author. Her writing used to be so hot. The writing was compelling and her stories were page turners. This is just so flat. I expected zach to be a more interesting guy and from previous descriptions, not quite so easily swayed by any woman. And heather is as boring as a cup of watery insipid herbal tea.

    Maybe Bela's current publisher doesn't allow the explicit language and super-hot sex that Bela used to write with such style. Heck, even in the first couple books in this series she was allowed to use the names of body parts. Oh well. Bela, I hope you can turn it around. Until then I'll stick with your great books from 4 or 5 years ago! I do not recommend spending money on this one.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    OMG! I loved this book series. This is almost my favorite book

    OMG! I loved this book series. This is almost my favorite book out of all of them. Zack is so sexy and sweet. I read this book all night and half a day. My eyes were burning. And red cause I couldn't put this down. I can't wait for book number 6. I also love the McCarthy series. It is similar to this one.
    Way to go Bella Andre!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2012

    This was one of the best Sullivan Brothers stories! I love how H

    This was one of the best Sullivan Brothers stories! I love how Heather was able to resist (or so she thought) Zach. And WOW, did he turn out to be such a sweet guy. Can't wait to read Ryan's story next!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Bella has done it again

    Awesome series. Its a sweet read. Herione fell in love a little too quivkly for me. But the books suspense makes up for it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    A Great Read

    This book was almost my favorite one of the series but I like the others so well, it is hard to label a favorite one. The entire plot of how Zach and Heather got together and first met was so romantic. Throw in a couple absolutely adorable doggies and you just can' t go wrong! This story did not keep stressing the wealth and fame of the Sullivan family. The two Sullivan twins always throw in their two cents of laughter!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Awesome

    I almost cried toward the end. I had to gulp down the tears several times over Zach and his revelation. I admired Heather for her determination to get through her ordeal as well. So, this one is my second favorite of the Sullivan series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    If anyone asks me what my favorite romance novel is I never have

    If anyone asks me what my favorite romance novel is I never have an answer because I love so many. I now have an answer, this book is over 600 pages and I could not stop reading until my eyes hurt so bad. This book is wonderful. All the Sullivan books are fabulos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Love Sneaks Up on a Sullivan

    Another great Sullivan story. Sweet, passionate, amusing. Zack and Heather both have decided not to fall in love, each for their own reasons. It happens when neither is looking and what fun it is to watch it unfold. Can't wait for the next installment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    :-)

    Love love love the Sullivans! Another fantastic read...great addition of the love story of Atlas and Cuddles. I already can't wait til fall when we get Ryan's story. I'll be sad when the series ends though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    I am a huge fan of Bella Andre! I have enjoyed every one of thes

    I am a huge fan of Bella Andre! I have enjoyed every one of these Sullivan books to date and this one was no different.


    Heather has never given love a chance. Having grown up in a family where love was just an illusion, she had her view of love shattered at a young age.


    Zach is a lady's man. Rich and Good looking, he never has problems finding willing women to share his bed with no strings attached.


    Upon his first meeting with Heather, Zach knows there is something different about her. No woman has ever got to him the way she does. Problem... Heather's view on relationships is even more skewed than his own. Zach must prove to him they are nothing like his parents.


    I loved the subtle changes in Zach. I felt like his fall into love was a smooth and steady one. He was not afraid to let his feelings be known once he had them. The chemistry between him and Heather was great. This is one of those book couples you route for the whole time. I had tears in my eyes at points. I loved that Zach's story gave us more insight into Jack Sullivan.


    The added bonus of reading about the dogs, Cuddles and Atlas, was great. I loved their relationship with each other it sounded like one of those email strings of pictures with odd "best friends" in the animal world. Too cute!


    Can not wait for #6!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great

    This was the best so far. Zach has always been intense and pairing him up with a cuddly puppy and strong female rocks the solid foundation he built for himself. Definately read these books in order. You wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great book and funny!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Sexy, hotter then his movie star brother, filthy rich and with a

    Sexy, hotter then his movie star brother, filthy rich and with a puppy in tow – what women could resist the middle son, Zack, of the Sullivan’s Family? Well that is what he is wondering when he meets the equally sexy Heather Linsey and she promptly tells him she isn’t interested.

    Zach will do anything for his family. So when Zack’s brother asks him to keep his puppy while his family is on vacation he can’t bring himself to say no - even though a puppy does not fit into his hectic life as the owner of multiple car repair shops and busy bachelor. After just a few hours with “Cuddles”, the mischievous puppy, he is ready to pull his hair out. However, his life get’s even more complicated when a little old lady customer takes pity on him and sends Heather, a dog trainer, to him hoping she will take him on as a client and help train the little crazed puppy.

    From the moment Heather arrives at Zack’s service station the sparks begin to fly between them. And although Zack is charming and full of one-liners packed with sexual innuendo and comic relief Heather doesn’t want anything to do with him. She agrees to help him get started with puppy training but insists that he will work with another trainer long term and firmly draws a line. Little does she know that she is doing the one thing no one has ever done before – not falling for his charm or money and turning their attraction into a challenge. Zack is immediately hooked and the harder she tries to push him away – the harder he fights to get her.

    Heather has sworn off love – believing that it isn’t really real and just an act that her parents put on for her to cover the fact that her father has always been sleeping around. Zack’s charm sets her nerves on edge and it takes her really getting to know him before she see’s the man deep within. Luckily he is up for the challenge.

    Zack has no problem with love, in fact, he knows it’s wonderful which is why he has avoided it. Ever since Zack’s father died when he was just seven his biggest fear is that he will one day leave behind a widow to morn him. So he has kept women at a distance. And that was fine until he met Heather and subsequently now can’t imagine living a moment without her. But is enjoying whatever time he can have with her and possibly falling in love worth the risk of leaving her to a life without him if their time is cut short? It is a question he struggles with constantly. And can Heather learn that all men are not like her father?

    Zack is a joy for both Heather and the reader to learn more about. They start off their relationship agreeing to keep things casual with no strings attached since that is all they both are comfortable with. But regardless of their concerns about developing things too emotionally, Zack is such a sweet guy that things can’t help but progress. He is funny and has a knack for making each simple moment they share into something memorable. If you have not read this series before this could be read as a stand-alone. However, most of the family (a total of eight siblings and his mom) makes appearances throughout and you will enjoy it more if you go back and read the previous books in the series. Although both characters have their own concerns about getting into something they both are mentally healthy and mature in their current lives. Their relationship progresses naturally and yet still at a relatively quick pace given their concerns. All in all though it is a believable story and masterfully written as all of Bella Andre’s books are. This one and the rest of this series should have their own space on the “to keep and read again and again” shelf!

    RATING: Five chocolate dipped strawberries enjoyed with a puppy in your lap!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I actually found myself getting teary-eyed reading this story.

    I actually found myself getting teary-eyed reading this story. How I love the Sullivan family! I have decided that Bella Andre can do no wrong when writing her wonderful romance novels. I hate finishing a book of hers and knowing I have to wait to read the next one in the series! But, its all well worth the wait. Zach and Heather's story is just as amazing as any of the other Sullivan stories, but for some reason, this story held a soft spot in my heart....maybe it was the dog connection, maybe it was just darn good writing. Either way, this book is worth every minute and penny! Thanks again Bella!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Title: If You Were Mine Author: Bella Andre Published: B.A. Re



    Title: If You Were Mine
    Author: Bella Andre
    Published: B.A.
    Reviewed By: Arlena Dean
    Series: The Sullivans # 5
    Rating: 5
    Review:

    "If You Were Mine" by Bella Andre was the fifth in 'The Sullivans' series and this series featured Zach Sullivan and Heather Linsey. This novel was another contemporary romantic read that connects the series together being so well written that smoothly picks up from the last series.

    We find from this read Zach is a 'mogul mechanic' and loves life to its fullest. Being another one of the hottest Sullivan brother he has it all...'money, good looks and fancy cars,' however when Zach meets the beautiful Heather he soon will know that there maybe something missing in his life. When Zach is left to keep a little dog named Cuddles it doesn't take long for him to know he needs help. So he meets a dog trainer named Heather and this is where this story to take off. Zach will find Heather one beautiful lady and just what he will have to do to get Heather 'eating out his hand' because she really wants nothing to do with him. You will find from the read that both Zach and Heather have a 'scarred past.' Will they be able to learn to love and trust each other? Now, this is where I say you must pick up "If You Were Mine" to see how this will all come out. You will find all of the characters were as always well developed producing such a captivating read. I also loved the additions of the animals characters 'Atlas and Cuddles' who were delivered simply off the chart and beautifully presented.

    "If You Were Mine" was truly a fun, beautiful, intriguing, sexy and very romantic read that will only lead you to the next series # 6 'Let Me Be The One.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    highly recommend

    I love reading about the "Sullivans". I read Sophie first, since I didn't know it was a series when I bought it. After that I decided I had to read about them all. I just have the two left to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In If You Were Mine (Sullivans #5) by Bella Andre, Zach Sullivan

    In If You Were Mine (Sullivans #5) by Bella Andre, Zach Sullivan already has his hands full with his auto business, racing cars, and chasing after the ladies. Then his niece talks him into puppy sitting while she and her parents are on vacation. Who knew such a tiny creature could wreak so much havoc? Zach gets referred to dog trainer extraordinaire Heather Linsey and his world gets turned upside down. Heather wants nothing to do with him personally, concentrating solely on helping him with the puppy until they strike a bargain letting them both have what they want. Zach's heart wasn't part of the bargain but that's exactly what Heather has stolen before he can figure out what to do next.

    Heather Linsey promised herself she would never fall in love. Especially with a confident, charmer of a man who has women falling over themselves, like Zach Sullivan. Her initial impression of him is that he's a player just like someone who hurt her badly when she was a teenager. But Zach surprises her as they spend more time together. There is a caring, gentle man who adores his family under all the bravado. And that scares her because she's determined not to get hurt. All of Zach's attempts to charm Heather finally break down her defenses and then she's left wondering how she'll get out of the situation unscathed.

    If You Were Mine is another incredibly romantic addition to the Sullivans series by Bella Andre. It seems like every time I read about the next Sullivan, I fall in love with them, and then with the whole family, all over again.

    Zach and Heather's story really kept me entertained. From their first meeting where Heather gets the wrong impression of Zach, to his attempts to win her over with the cuteness that is Cuddles the Yorkie puppy, I couldn't get enough of their evolving relationship. Not that either one of them wanted to admit that they were in a relationship.

    I was blown away with how sweet and loving Zach turned out to be and how hard he tried to keep Heather from getting hurt later on. His caring nature showed through in his every action (and interaction) with his family, Heather, and of course Cuddles and Atlas. I can understand how Heather's past was something that would define how she viewed men and why she would shield her heart at all costs. But, boy, once she lets herself love someone...she loves them with everything she has. Talk about two people who are meant for each other! And their first kiss? *dreamy sigh*

    Book five is written with enough of a backstory that it can definitely be read as a standalone--but who would want to? ;) The character development is amazing, the love scenes are sexy but also tender and caring, and the drama is everything I've come to love and expect from Bella Andre. Somehow each story seems fresh and unique even though they all fit together, intertwined to give us a view of the Sullivans as a whole.

    I can't recommend If You Were Mine enough. If you are a fan of contemporary romance with a lot of laughs and a HEA that will make you cry happily, definitely give this one a try!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9