Customer Reviews for

If a Tree Falls at Lunch Period

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Julie M. Prince for TeensReadToo.com

Kirsten McKenna's got a lot on her mind, and on her body for that matter. She gained 30 pounds over the summer, thanks to her dysfunctional parents and their constant arguing. Maybe that's why her best friend, Rory, has stopped hanging out with her. Or maybe it has some...
Kirsten McKenna's got a lot on her mind, and on her body for that matter. She gained 30 pounds over the summer, thanks to her dysfunctional parents and their constant arguing. Maybe that's why her best friend, Rory, has stopped hanging out with her. Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that Rory is now hanging with the popular crowd. Either way, Kirsten is relieved to find a new group of friends, including Walker "Walk" Jones.

Walk is new at this school and it's a whole different world from the City school he came from. Everyone knows he's here on scholarship, and some kids just won't let him forget it. Good thing he has one friend, Matteo, to count on. Oh, and there's that girl, Kirsten, too. She's pretty cool.

This was a quick read, but not because the content was simple. The plot kept the pages turning. The short chapters alternated between Kirsten's and Walk's perspectives, which was perfect for the pace of the book. It was portrayed as a simple middle school read, nothing out of the ordinary, but it delivered so much more. This book was very like something one might find from Judy Blume, in both voice and subject matter. Smart, insightful characters dealing with adult-world challenges while living with everyday life at school -- the good, the bad, and the downright nasty.

posted by TeensReadToo on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good issues to address

When I first picked up this book, I was excited because I thought it was going to be very interesting after reading the cover information. The book is rated for ages 10+ and is written at a level appropriate for 4th/5th graders. However, I felt the sensitive issues it...
When I first picked up this book, I was excited because I thought it was going to be very interesting after reading the cover information. The book is rated for ages 10+ and is written at a level appropriate for 4th/5th graders. However, I felt the sensitive issues it covered was more middle school oriented. The discussion of body image, racial stereotyping and divorce are common issues that all kids deal with and should be discussed with them, but I feel that the content of the book and the reading level of it did not mesh well. It is one I would not feel comfortable reading in my fourth grade classroom, but feel that for a sixth or seventh grade teacher, it would be a very good stepping stone to start a discussion of these issues.

posted by Anonymous on May 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Julie M. Prince for TeensReadToo.com

    Kirsten McKenna's got a lot on her mind, and on her body for that matter. She gained 30 pounds over the summer, thanks to her dysfunctional parents and their constant arguing. Maybe that's why her best friend, Rory, has stopped hanging out with her. Or maybe it has something to do with the fact that Rory is now hanging with the popular crowd. Either way, Kirsten is relieved to find a new group of friends, including Walker "Walk" Jones. <BR/><BR/>Walk is new at this school and it's a whole different world from the City school he came from. Everyone knows he's here on scholarship, and some kids just won't let him forget it. Good thing he has one friend, Matteo, to count on. Oh, and there's that girl, Kirsten, too. She's pretty cool. <BR/><BR/>This was a quick read, but not because the content was simple. The plot kept the pages turning. The short chapters alternated between Kirsten's and Walk's perspectives, which was perfect for the pace of the book. It was portrayed as a simple middle school read, nothing out of the ordinary, but it delivered so much more. This book was very like something one might find from Judy Blume, in both voice and subject matter. Smart, insightful characters dealing with adult-world challenges while living with everyday life at school -- the good, the bad, and the downright nasty.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Funny

    The first sentence is
    This is lame but Im actually looking foward to school this year, because every day this summer was like crap: dog crap, cat crap,I even had a few elephant crap days- trust me it was bad.
    It was only 150 pages, but i laughed all the way through it especially at her little sister Kippy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK!!!!!

    This is a fantastic book read it!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2008

    Good issues to address

    When I first picked up this book, I was excited because I thought it was going to be very interesting after reading the cover information. The book is rated for ages 10+ and is written at a level appropriate for 4th/5th graders. However, I felt the sensitive issues it covered was more middle school oriented. The discussion of body image, racial stereotyping and divorce are common issues that all kids deal with and should be discussed with them, but I feel that the content of the book and the reading level of it did not mesh well. It is one I would not feel comfortable reading in my fourth grade classroom, but feel that for a sixth or seventh grade teacher, it would be a very good stepping stone to start a discussion of these issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    To Awesome @%&$

    The reviews are actually a place so that other people can know what other people think of the book. Where did you get the idea that this is like a chat site!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    To all who say this book stinks

    You pepole have no taste! This book is one of the best books ive ever read. Trust me tp tell you ive read lots of books. To pepole who dont know weather to read it or not. You totallly should its super good. Its mixed with humor, a tiny bit of seruios and a supris twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    LEXI TO TONY

    I got locked out of all the books ive ever posted in... help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    If U tap here, your hamster will explode jk (maybe)

    Ok so for those of you who are bad mouthing this freggin book saying thats its blah or whatever, YOU SICKEN ME! Wait till your spoiled self gets into middle school and you see all if this stupid drama that happens. For those of you who are african american, just know that as good, is not god enough. Teachers WILL label you as one of the dumb minority kids and they will not treat you like anybody els unless you excel. I feel bad for Walker. I hate being in situations like his. But it happens. Anyways, I thought that the book was very suspenseful and very realistic. This sort of stuff happens every day! STAY TRUE MY PEOPLE! LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Awesome @#$%&

    I agree why write a 5 paragraph review when the reviews is a way for kidsto communicate it is really bad someone tell B&N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    The story, If a Tree Falls at Lunch Period, by Gennifer Choldenk

    The story, If a Tree Falls at Lunch Period, by Gennifer Choldenko did not really interest me. This book is about two seventh graders, Kirsten and Walker, and the separate issues they have in school. Kirsten gained a lot of weight over the summer because she was stressed about her parents always arguing and was losing a friend to the popular, mean girl group. Walker was dealing pressure to do well in school and feelings surrounding him being a minority in school. Even though I have never been in her situation, I really felt bad for Kirsten because her parents weren’t talking. I think that kids who have parents that are divorced can identify with this. I feel like Walker is just like a regular kid in my school who feels the pressure to do well just like the rest of us. I feel bad that he doesn’t feel like he fits in at school because needs a group of good friends. I can’t really relate to Walker’s situation because he is black and it is hard to imagine how he was feeling. I believe the message in this book is whether you are a girl or a boy, black or white, it doesn’t matter because anyone could have problems socially in school, for example not fitting in or not finding friends. I think this book would appeal to seventh graders going through this kind of drama. I didn’t like this book because the stories of the two main characters were not intriguing enough to keep my interest. I was not “pulled into” this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    It was blah..

    Read in two hhours. Wish i spent this money elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    Tap here please

    Im cunfused with this cat clan worrior thing going on y r u talking about this wen the book has nothing to do with it please explain -Z ps im looking for nook friends so if u want 1 ask me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    :) :(

    Its okay but not my favorite. The one problem is that I'm kind of sick of the overused plot. Girl's parents are splitting up so she gains weight from stress. Her best friend leaves her for the clique. I have read a lot of books like it. However it has some new and exciting twists.
    In reply to " whats with all the super long receiws...." just so ya know, some people read them and find them helpful, me included! Happy June to all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2012

    Whats with the super long reveiws that nobody cares about

    Blah

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    To Mistyfoot

    Hey Mistyfoot, I'll be Shadowkit. Please reply soon.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Can i join

    Im a she cat with black fur and green eyes im a warrior and my name is codeclaw

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    It was an okay read.....

    I got this book to read for school and it was pretty entertaining. The beginning is a little boring in my opinion and slightly confusing about who is who, but once you reach about half way into the book you start to want to read more and its one of those books where you read what one character says or does and you just have to read some more to find out what the other character does in response. Which I think is great because its not one of those things where you can be like "Oh obviously blah blah blah is gonna happen" it keeps you guessing a little. The only con is that I felt the story was a little easy, as far as the plot was pretty straight forward, there was no really OMG moment in the book... but other than that you should definitely read the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This Book Was...

    Not the best! Before I read the book, I had seen it many places. My teacher loved it, my friends loved it, so I figured it would be good. So I borrowed it from the classroom. The first 20 pages were not too good, so I gave it another chance. I read about 20 pages more and still did not like it, so I gave it a 10 page more chance. I still could not get into it! It may be a good book, but not my kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Great for a pre-teenage mind!!

    excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3