Customer Reviews for

Ignite (Midnight Fire Series Book One)

Average Rating 4
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(183)

4 Star

(75)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great story

Love the story, the kids in the bok were awesome!!!! Read the all thre can't for the fourth book to come out

posted by 15571479 on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn&rsq

When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn’t really know what to expect. A girl involved in a triangle with two boys seems to be the norm for a typical Young Adult book these days, partially due to the popularity of the Twilight movies and books...
When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn’t really know what to expect. A girl involved in a triangle with two boys seems to be the norm for a typical Young Adult book these days, partially due to the popularity of the Twilight movies and books. However, because of the book’s description, I was excited to read about a girl who had powers of her own; a heroin who wouldn’t be the typical damsel in distress, but a young female who could hold her own.

We’re introduced to Kira Dawson, who’s recently moved to South Carolina after spending years at a boarding school in New York. She meets Luke Bowrey, a fun loving jokester, who she immediately takes a liking to. She and Luke develop a friendship, but it’s obvious that Luke has a bit of a crush on her. However, Kira has eyes for the mysterious Tristan, who makes her feel things she can’t explain. Tristan is pale, with cold icy blue eyes. His bruises seem to heal unbelievably fast and he exhibits supernatural strength. Her new friend Luke has unusual colored eyes, he strongly dislikes Tristan (and his friends), and he’s obviously keeping secrets from Kira. As all three characters get to know one another, secrets are revealed, and we learn that both boys are more than they seem, and that Kira may hold the power to destroy them all.

The plot was interesting and it moved along at a good pace. I never felt that the story was slow or boring. I was pleasantly surprised by the author’s take on vampire lore. It was unique and intriguing, and I wouldn’t mind learning more about her version of vampires. I also wouldn’t mind more exploration into the world of conduits. Conduits are superhuman beings who protect and defend society against vampires. There are two versions. Those who use their power to weaken vampires are known as Protectors. Those who use their powers to kill vampires are known as Punishers. It will be interesting to see how this world of conduits and vampires evolve in future books.

I really wanted to like and connect with the characters, especially Kira, but I found that some of the characters lacked a depth and exploration that is essential for producing dynamic and loveable characters. Kira made me feel a mixture of emotions. On one hand, I felt she handled herself quite well considering the nature of a couple of secrets that were revealed to her. She was by no means a wimp, and readily did what needed to be done in the face of danger and uncertainty. On the other hand, she spent a good portion of the book stalking Tristan, was unbelievably stubborn, and proceeded to fall in love with a “dangerous” boy she had only known for about a month.

Tristan’s characterization was even more problematic. He’s described as a dangerous bad boy on more than one occasion. In reality he was a broody and tortured soul. He spent most of the book making painful facial expressions and telling Kira how they couldn’t be together. I never really felt that Kira, or anyone else for that matter, was in any danger around him. He came across as one-dimensional and as a consequence, I didn’t buy Tristan and Kira’s connection or love for one another.

Luke was a delightfully strong and likeable character. I enjoyed him in the role of an older, fun, witty and protective big brother, even though he was romantically attracted to Kira. He has the potential to grow into a well-rounded character, if he’s allowed to be more than a third wheel in Tristan and Kira’s love affair. More background on Luke and his family in the next book would be greatly appreciated.

Overall, I give Ignite two stars. Though I had some issues with the main romance, and felt some of the characters fell flat, there was enough mystery, magic and plot twists to keep me interested. I would recommend it to those who enjoy paranormal YA romances and vampires.

posted by Quiana23 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn&rsq

    When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn’t really know what to expect. A girl involved in a triangle with two boys seems to be the norm for a typical Young Adult book these days, partially due to the popularity of the Twilight movies and books. However, because of the book’s description, I was excited to read about a girl who had powers of her own; a heroin who wouldn’t be the typical damsel in distress, but a young female who could hold her own.

    We’re introduced to Kira Dawson, who’s recently moved to South Carolina after spending years at a boarding school in New York. She meets Luke Bowrey, a fun loving jokester, who she immediately takes a liking to. She and Luke develop a friendship, but it’s obvious that Luke has a bit of a crush on her. However, Kira has eyes for the mysterious Tristan, who makes her feel things she can’t explain. Tristan is pale, with cold icy blue eyes. His bruises seem to heal unbelievably fast and he exhibits supernatural strength. Her new friend Luke has unusual colored eyes, he strongly dislikes Tristan (and his friends), and he’s obviously keeping secrets from Kira. As all three characters get to know one another, secrets are revealed, and we learn that both boys are more than they seem, and that Kira may hold the power to destroy them all.

    The plot was interesting and it moved along at a good pace. I never felt that the story was slow or boring. I was pleasantly surprised by the author’s take on vampire lore. It was unique and intriguing, and I wouldn’t mind learning more about her version of vampires. I also wouldn’t mind more exploration into the world of conduits. Conduits are superhuman beings who protect and defend society against vampires. There are two versions. Those who use their power to weaken vampires are known as Protectors. Those who use their powers to kill vampires are known as Punishers. It will be interesting to see how this world of conduits and vampires evolve in future books.

    I really wanted to like and connect with the characters, especially Kira, but I found that some of the characters lacked a depth and exploration that is essential for producing dynamic and loveable characters. Kira made me feel a mixture of emotions. On one hand, I felt she handled herself quite well considering the nature of a couple of secrets that were revealed to her. She was by no means a wimp, and readily did what needed to be done in the face of danger and uncertainty. On the other hand, she spent a good portion of the book stalking Tristan, was unbelievably stubborn, and proceeded to fall in love with a “dangerous” boy she had only known for about a month.

    Tristan’s characterization was even more problematic. He’s described as a dangerous bad boy on more than one occasion. In reality he was a broody and tortured soul. He spent most of the book making painful facial expressions and telling Kira how they couldn’t be together. I never really felt that Kira, or anyone else for that matter, was in any danger around him. He came across as one-dimensional and as a consequence, I didn’t buy Tristan and Kira’s connection or love for one another.

    Luke was a delightfully strong and likeable character. I enjoyed him in the role of an older, fun, witty and protective big brother, even though he was romantically attracted to Kira. He has the potential to grow into a well-rounded character, if he’s allowed to be more than a third wheel in Tristan and Kira’s love affair. More background on Luke and his family in the next book would be greatly appreciated.

    Overall, I give Ignite two stars. Though I had some issues with the main romance, and felt some of the characters fell flat, there was enough mystery, magic and plot twists to keep me interested. I would recommend it to those who enjoy paranormal YA romances and vampires.

    30 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Copy cat of an author

    Okay I'm pretty much sick and tired of twilight alikes. I've read twilight and believe me the author is a copy cat. Seriously the author should of wrote with sharpie marker on her forehead that says "stole twilight ideas and use it in my book" here is the point......1. Weird guy stares at a girl 2. Both fall in love 3. Tell the normal guy 'hey I like a dead dude so get out pf my life' 4. LAST BUT NOT LEAST the creepy guy is a vampire!!!!!!!!!!!! Yipee!!! -sarcastic- Like seriously why not create a ORIGINAL idea....after all the book was good and I'm sooooooooooo suprised that the author didn't put a werewolf name jacob to fight after Kira.....but otherwise the book didn't dissapoint me....as much but I reccomend it if u don't want to waste a penny on twilight, buy this so much alike book except that the werewolf will not appear in the book and GO TEAM JACOB

    19 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Okay so I thought this looked interesting, but only made it thro

    Okay so I thought this looked interesting, but only made it through 88 pages out of the 453 the book has to offer. I like some of the personalities in the book, but it has one major flaw that I couldn't ignore: this book is an exact copy of Twilight with some minor alterations. Let me make clear that I am not a huge fan of Twilight, though I did read the series. 

    Here are the major plot points that were copies from Twilight in the making of this book:
    -Girl moves to a new school
    -Girl notices a group of "otherly" type people (spoiler- vampires) who all stare and pay too much attention to her
    -Everybody goes on a trip to the beach
    -Girl becomes more intrigued by one of the vampire boys
    -The boy she became friends with at school has something strange about him too
    -Love triangle

    Because of the lack of originality, I was unable to continue the book. Very frustrating.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    *I received a free copy of this book for review purposes. This r

    *I received a free copy of this book for review purposes. This review is in no way influenced by the author or by having received this free copy. Its contents are my honest opinion of the book.*

    When I started this book, I was intrigued. The prologue foreshadowed a major plot event, which would happen later in the book. After that, though, things went a little downhill for me.

    I thought the beginning seemed a lot like <i>Twilight</i>
    , though it did move away from that. The characters were pretty standard YA types for the most part, but that wasn't the problem. I even liked the original idea of having conduits &mdash; I, at least, hadn't seen this before. The plot itself wasn't bad, though parts of it were predictable.

    My biggest problem with this book &mdash; and the reason I only gave it 3 stars &mdash;&nbsp;was the lack of editing. I felt like I was reading a quickly written draft, since the entirety of the book is full of grammatical and spelling errors. From using contractions inappropriately, to using &quot;wonder&quot; instead of &quot;wander,&quot; to using the wrong version of your/you're (several times), the author showed a lack of attention to detail that, for me, was unacceptable for a published work.

    With a little polish, Davis could have a great book. As it is, though, it's only so-so. While the concept is interesting, the clear lack of revision and grammatical editing turned me off.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Great story

    Love the story, the kids in the bok were awesome!!!! Read the all thre can't for the fourth book to come out

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Stupid!

    This is the dumbest book ever! Its pretty much just like twilight and its kind of pissing me off. Its like the author just copied the same story but changed the names

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great

    This was as good as Hunger Games and The Twilight series

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Loved it!!

    I couldnt stop reading for hours. The plot and, the characters just made the story so, unique and interesting. In my opinion this was better than Twilight and, had very unique characters to spice it up.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    good reads!!!

    Man i need to find the other book im hooked

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    Read this series!!!

    Unbelievable twist, turns, loved, friend & just plain amazingly good writing. I was on the edge of my seat for all three books. They sent chills, sadness, love, hope , & thrill through me in every book. Can't wait till the fourth book!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Pull it, fix it, rerelease it

    It's true that there are major elements of this story that feel like they were lifted from the pages of Twilight. That said, it does have some unique ideas that would be worth exploring if I wasn't so distracted by the grammar, phrasing and weak characters.
    I could deal with the authors misuse of words (your vs. you're) if there weren't so many other issues. I felt like I was reading the work of someone who wasn't American and didn't bother to study up on the lingo. Think Biff in Back to the Future: "Make like a tree and get out of here." There are constant phrases that don't make sense.
    The other problem I have are the characters. Most fall flat. Tristan is presumably a very old vampire (I don't actually know this since I couldn't finish this), and I'm forced to wonder if he was either not very bright or brain damaged because he can barely talk in a coherent manner. Not sexy. Kira's motivation through what I was able to read just seems ridiculous. I thought she was supposed to be smart! The only interesting character is Luke, who is clearly relegated to no man's land in the friend zone.
    There is potential in the new ideas. I like the conduits idea. I just think it needs to be developed more. And edited. A lot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    So bad

    Reads like written by a 12 year old. Painfull.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Twilighthaters

    I hated twilight in the first place! Now there are copycats who are getting away with poor writing coz its like twilight! All of you people who like GOOD reading I don't suggest this. ):

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Enjoyed being hooked

    Loved it lots

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Awesome!

    This was the awesomest book ever i finished it in 2 1/2 days because it was that great it starts kinda boring but if u keep reading it its amazing i give it a 5 star im reading book 2 simmer i hope i finish it and get the 3rd i love this series!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Ignite By Kaitlyn Davis Kira has just moved from New York to C

    Ignite
    By Kaitlyn Davis

    Kira has just moved from New York to Charleston in doing so she has caught the attention of a group of strangers who for some reason won&rsquo;t quit staring at her from across the lunchroom, but among the group one guy she doesn&rsquo;t quite mind his look, Tristan. When it turns out Tristan is a vampire and she was actually born with the sole purpose of killing them will they be able to find a way to be together?

    Kaitlyn Davis has done an amazing job with this book; I don&rsquo;t say this lightly since I am pretty much over vampire romances, but in this book we get to see a twist on the classic Romeo and Juliet story. The best part of this book was the ending I was so engrossed I didn&rsquo;t want it to end and if the scene itself wasn&rsquo;t enough to bring you back sore more the author blindsides you with a bit of information to make sure you will. Definitely worth the read even just for the end! I can&rsquo;t wait to read book two Simmer.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Book

    It didnt top The Fallen Star/Fallen Soul series by Jessica Sorensen. Check it out! The first book is free. Im not a fan of this book. It was slow and the usually love triangle. But like i said, check out the Fallen Star/Fallen Soul series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2013

    Me

    Okay so no matter what other people say tis is abgood book. People say that this book is simmilar to Twilight. This is not the case. I will admit some elements are the same. The fact she moves to a new school and falls for a misterious guy are the same. The main thing that gets me is that in Twilight Bella neither has a vampire hunting heritage and she cannot shoot fire out of her freaking hand. As you can see not the same.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    book starts out like twilight

    But kira is nowhere near as whiney as Bella . Books not bad and it's free. It is the 1st of 4 books in the series which is usual for a free book. I wont be buying the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    OhMiGawd!!!!

    This book...I don't even know how to describe it. This author has pure talent!!!! Can't wait to read the other books in the series!!!! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this book! Plus, a bonus, it's free!!! This book shouldn't be free. The author would have made a lot of cash out of it!!! Paranormal Romance!!! Love!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 329 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17