Customer Reviews for

Ignite (Midnight Fire Series Book One)

Average Rating 4
( 334 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(185)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great story

Love the story, the kids in the bok were awesome!!!! Read the all thre can't for the fourth book to come out

posted by 15571479 on December 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn&rsq

When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn’t really know what to expect. A girl involved in a triangle with two boys seems to be the norm for a typical Young Adult book these days, partially due to the popularity of the Twilight movies and books...
When I read the synopsis for Ignite by Kaitlyn Davis, I didn’t really know what to expect. A girl involved in a triangle with two boys seems to be the norm for a typical Young Adult book these days, partially due to the popularity of the Twilight movies and books. However, because of the book’s description, I was excited to read about a girl who had powers of her own; a heroin who wouldn’t be the typical damsel in distress, but a young female who could hold her own.

We’re introduced to Kira Dawson, who’s recently moved to South Carolina after spending years at a boarding school in New York. She meets Luke Bowrey, a fun loving jokester, who she immediately takes a liking to. She and Luke develop a friendship, but it’s obvious that Luke has a bit of a crush on her. However, Kira has eyes for the mysterious Tristan, who makes her feel things she can’t explain. Tristan is pale, with cold icy blue eyes. His bruises seem to heal unbelievably fast and he exhibits supernatural strength. Her new friend Luke has unusual colored eyes, he strongly dislikes Tristan (and his friends), and he’s obviously keeping secrets from Kira. As all three characters get to know one another, secrets are revealed, and we learn that both boys are more than they seem, and that Kira may hold the power to destroy them all.

The plot was interesting and it moved along at a good pace. I never felt that the story was slow or boring. I was pleasantly surprised by the author’s take on vampire lore. It was unique and intriguing, and I wouldn’t mind learning more about her version of vampires. I also wouldn’t mind more exploration into the world of conduits. Conduits are superhuman beings who protect and defend society against vampires. There are two versions. Those who use their power to weaken vampires are known as Protectors. Those who use their powers to kill vampires are known as Punishers. It will be interesting to see how this world of conduits and vampires evolve in future books.

I really wanted to like and connect with the characters, especially Kira, but I found that some of the characters lacked a depth and exploration that is essential for producing dynamic and loveable characters. Kira made me feel a mixture of emotions. On one hand, I felt she handled herself quite well considering the nature of a couple of secrets that were revealed to her. She was by no means a wimp, and readily did what needed to be done in the face of danger and uncertainty. On the other hand, she spent a good portion of the book stalking Tristan, was unbelievably stubborn, and proceeded to fall in love with a “dangerous” boy she had only known for about a month.

Tristan’s characterization was even more problematic. He’s described as a dangerous bad boy on more than one occasion. In reality he was a broody and tortured soul. He spent most of the book making painful facial expressions and telling Kira how they couldn’t be together. I never really felt that Kira, or anyone else for that matter, was in any danger around him. He came across as one-dimensional and as a consequence, I didn’t buy Tristan and Kira’s connection or love for one another.

Luke was a delightfully strong and likeable character. I enjoyed him in the role of an older, fun, witty and protective big brother, even though he was romantically attracted to Kira. He has the potential to grow into a well-rounded character, if he’s allowed to be more than a third wheel in Tristan and Kira’s love affair. More background on Luke and his family in the next book would be greatly appreciated.

Overall, I give Ignite two stars. Though I had some issues with the main romance, and felt some of the characters fell flat, there was enough mystery, magic and plot twists to keep me interested. I would recommend it to those who enjoy paranormal YA romances and vampires.

posted by Quiana23 on April 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Stop comparing!

    This is a great book and twilight lovers AND haters will love this if they like romantic vampire stories. Twilight and Ignite are both great stories but people ruin it for others by comparing them together!
    -spiderstar0012

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    No

    This book is a poorly written twilight ripoff. I tried to keep an open mind, but could not get past the first 100 pages. Disappointed...glad i didnt pay for this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Couldnt even finish

    It has potential, but it sounds/feels like it was written by a teen. Poor wording and some things the character says seem weird and non-realistic...didnt bother to finish

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    WOW!! I love when I accidentally find a new book to love!! AND I

    WOW!! I love when I accidentally find a new book to love!! AND I even like the vamper in it!! Yes yes I said it, I like the vamper LOL… But before we go anywhere I’m going to state I was on Team Luke since the moment he met Kira in the hall at school! This is a fantastic new series that I think everyone should pick up! Think Angels vs Demons meet Vampires vs Vampire Slayers, with a sweet romance, some totally kick ass action scenes and some excellently placed plot twists!!




    So Kira is your typical teenage girl, who comes home from boarding school and in a very short time her whole life is irrevocably changed. She is one of the most real characters to me. She is strong, yet vulnerable, she’s smart, she loves to cool- me too!- and she is loyal. He definitely doesn’t give up. She is willing to so whatever it takes to keep her and her friends and family safe. I really like her!




    Alright, lets talk HAWT pieces! Tristan is your tortured bad boy vamper. Yep he’s hot and he’s actually a good one. Except vampires and slayers aren’t supposed to go together  I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I actually like Tristan. He’s protective of Kira even against his own kind and friends. He knows their relationship is doomed yet he’s willing to give it his all. Then we have Luke, who’s kind and supportive and funny and most importantly he’s something like Kira. He teaches her and protects her and holds her when she cries. I still very much wish I didn’t like Tristan as I’m Team Luke, but I guess we’ll have to see 




    The writing is excellent as I absolutely couldn’t put this one down. It’s action packed full of mystery and yet isn’t completely complicated because it’s young adult. Yet it’s perfect for any age because everyone can love this one. There’s a piece of every genre and there’s surprises and best of all it’s fresh and different. I love it! 5 BLOODY SUN SHINING PAWS!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Great book

    I loved it and cant wait till the fourth comes out! Oh and its only like twilight in the beginning but it moves away from that fast.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    AMAZING!

    If you lover Twilight...you are in for an amazing new series. Yes it does remind me a lot about Twilight....but I truely loved it. If you like reading paranormal or vampire romance...you have come to the right place. I would not mind getting stuck in a love triangle like that. How do you choose who is better..the close friend whom you loved all your life or the handsome mysterious guy you fell in love with only weeks ago. Choices choices....whats a girl to do?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    H

    Ok ppl i hvent read the book yet but i read the thing and ummm no offce but it just sounds lile a cheesy copy of twlight im i right

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Worth the read!

    May be more of a teen/ya series, but it was a great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    The most amazing books ever

    This book is exviting and is a must read romantic novel all young adults should consider reading this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Had a really good story line. It's nice to see some paranormal c

    Had a really good story line. It's nice to see some paranormal creativity in the vampire world. Good read; highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Idk if i should read this

    I dont know if i should read this it sounds ok but what do u guys think

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    I <3 this book!!

    I love everything about this book it was so good!!!!! Cant wait to buy the next book !!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Great book

    This book was awsome! It was one of the best books i've ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2014

    Interesting!

    This was an enjoyable book. Kira moved back to her hometown and being the new kid at school was tough. She was lucky that she made friends right away, but Luke helped that. Tristan was a really hot vampire that wasn't like the other three he hung around with. I liked how these vampires were different than other vampires I have read about. I also liked the conduits and how they killed vampires. Interesting series and I am looking forward to reading the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Twilightish

    I have read Twilight so many times. When i read 6 pages othis book, i ha to check if i was reading Twilight or not...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    IS THIS BOOK LEGIT?

    Or just another twilight?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Read

    Stephanie myers is not really a good author. I mean her twilight books are good...until the final book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Jayden

    I want to know if this book is worth getting?????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    Amazing

    An amazing read. Some people just dontknow good books if it hit them in the face

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Pink ipad

    Kis ur hand three times. Post this under three books then look under ur pillow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 334 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17