BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ike: An American Hero

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Biography

If my local library has a book, I don't usually buy it but made an exception with Michael Korda's book. It's something I want to read and refer to many times in the future. Ike, An American Hero is extremely well written, providing insights into Dwight D. Eisenhower'...
If my local library has a book, I don't usually buy it but made an exception with Michael Korda's book. It's something I want to read and refer to many times in the future. Ike, An American Hero is extremely well written, providing insights into Dwight D. Eisenhower's life from boyhood until his death. Some things I knew from having visited the Eisenhower presidential library and museum in Abilene, KS 'e.g., the influence Fox Conner had on his life'. Other things I knew from having read some of Eisenhower's books. However, Eisenhower was not one to 'blow his own horn' and bad mouth others, though he would have been well-justified in doing both when dealing with much lesser men 'e.g., Montgomery and MacArthur'. It was in reading Michael Korda's book that I learned how much of his time during World War II was spent having to deal with these men. It is utterly amazing that he was able to focus at all on the job he was assigned by Roosevelt, Churchill, Gen. George Marshall, etc., especially when some of them 'e.g., Churchill' kept him up late without thinking about the inroads they were making on his productive time. Churchill and Montgomery especially wrote autobiographies that 'spun' history the way they would like to have people remember it, but Michael Korda details reasons why some of their accounts aren't even close to the way things were. For example, Montgomery was an egotist who would like for history to record that he performed all assigned tasks 'e.g., defeat of Rommell in Africa, and the capture of Caen after D-Day' in an expeditious manner. That isn't close to the truth. This would be a great book to be assigned reading in high school and college history classes and could lead to some great discussions. Dwight Eisenhower himself has stated in his book At Ease how his childhood love of history became dulled at West Point but revived when he was with Fox Conner in Panama. Fox Conner had a vast personal history library, including works of fiction. He'd lend the books to Eisenhower, then discuss their meaning with him when they were returned. Hopefully people will either borrow or buy this book and come to the conclusion that I reached. God really did bless America by giving it a person such as Dwight Eisenhower to be one of its foremost leaders during some terrible times.

posted by Anonymous on April 21, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Boring account

I thought I would give this title a go based on a good review from Walter Isaacson who wrote a biography on Benjamin Franklin that I enjoyed very much. Korda is not a writer that kept me interested in reading this book. The information on Eisenhower is fascinating, ...
I thought I would give this title a go based on a good review from Walter Isaacson who wrote a biography on Benjamin Franklin that I enjoyed very much. Korda is not a writer that kept me interested in reading this book. The information on Eisenhower is fascinating, but I felt more like I was reading Korda's notes, or the rough draft before putting final touches on the book. (This could be attributed to a bad editor as well'). There is vast detail of the President during his army years, and literally less than 70 of the 720 pages about Eisenhower's Presidency. Overall is was hard to stay awake during the reading, and hard to get a good feel of who Ike was as a husband, father, soldier, general, or president. It is full of detail though. I will be picking up the Biography of Eisenhower by Stephen Ambrose who is a fantastic historian and author, and I know I will not be disappointed with that reading.

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    Outstanding Biography

    If my local library has a book, I don't usually buy it but made an exception with Michael Korda's book. It's something I want to read and refer to many times in the future. Ike, An American Hero is extremely well written, providing insights into Dwight D. Eisenhower's life from boyhood until his death. Some things I knew from having visited the Eisenhower presidential library and museum in Abilene, KS 'e.g., the influence Fox Conner had on his life'. Other things I knew from having read some of Eisenhower's books. However, Eisenhower was not one to 'blow his own horn' and bad mouth others, though he would have been well-justified in doing both when dealing with much lesser men 'e.g., Montgomery and MacArthur'. It was in reading Michael Korda's book that I learned how much of his time during World War II was spent having to deal with these men. It is utterly amazing that he was able to focus at all on the job he was assigned by Roosevelt, Churchill, Gen. George Marshall, etc., especially when some of them 'e.g., Churchill' kept him up late without thinking about the inroads they were making on his productive time. Churchill and Montgomery especially wrote autobiographies that 'spun' history the way they would like to have people remember it, but Michael Korda details reasons why some of their accounts aren't even close to the way things were. For example, Montgomery was an egotist who would like for history to record that he performed all assigned tasks 'e.g., defeat of Rommell in Africa, and the capture of Caen after D-Day' in an expeditious manner. That isn't close to the truth. This would be a great book to be assigned reading in high school and college history classes and could lead to some great discussions. Dwight Eisenhower himself has stated in his book At Ease how his childhood love of history became dulled at West Point but revived when he was with Fox Conner in Panama. Fox Conner had a vast personal history library, including works of fiction. He'd lend the books to Eisenhower, then discuss their meaning with him when they were returned. Hopefully people will either borrow or buy this book and come to the conclusion that I reached. God really did bless America by giving it a person such as Dwight Eisenhower to be one of its foremost leaders during some terrible times.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Rules of DawnClan

    Hello, and welcome to DawnClan! I appreciate your willing to join, but there ARE a set of rules for you to follow. I wish to make this Clan a large, active, realistic one, so please read this before asking to join! Camp is in result two.

    • Try your best to be active! If you need to leave for more than two days then please alert the leader or deputy on it.
    • Keep focused on the roleplay; keep idle chat to a minimum.
    • No bullying or harrassment, under ANY circumstances.
    • Keep roleplay PG-13, please. Blood and gore is allowed, but NO $€*ual themes.
    • No Mary Sues or Gary Stus. If your character is beautiful, a great hunter and fighter, kind, humble, loved by everyone, and "destined to become a great leader," THEN S/HE'S NOT A GOOD CHARACTER. Try to give your character at least one major flaw, such as s/he's arrogant, crumbles under pressure, very small for their age/gender, or a horrible fighter/hunter. For example, Skystar is rather small, has awful moodswings, and she has a stumpy tail, which makes balance and stealth difficult for her.
    • This is a traditional Clan, no powers whatsoever.
    • Realistic hunting, please don't come back into camp "dragging in a deer."
    • No godmodding in battles! Here's a good example of a battle post: "Rainpaw leapt at Grassfoot, giving him a nip on his ear. She jumped off his back and aimed her sharp claws at his hind leg." A BAD example of a battle post: "Rainpaw leapt at Grassfoot, slicing his ear in half. She knocked him over, sliced his throat, and ripped out his heart." Two battle moves in a post MAXIMUM. Give your opponent a chance to fight, EVEN IF THEY'RE EVIL. However, if your opponent powerplays or godmods him/herself feel free to ignore them.
    • You can roleplay a maximum of four characters, only one can be in a high rank (deputy, medicine cat, etc)
    • Have fun, play fair! :)

    ~•Skystar

    1 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Great Book and Insight!

    This book provides another viewpoint with some similarities and differences as written by Stephen Ambrose. Both books are a must read. Michael Korda is a fantastic writer and his book "With Wings Like Eagles" is another book that should be read to understand the tremendous struggle that Britain faced from the Luftwaffer during the Battle of Britain. The story was revieting and it kept my attention. Both books are a must read if you are fascinated with the WWII period. In highsight the Allies won, but the outcome could have been quite different had the British not held on, the Allies had not selected General Eisenhower and Marshall, that D-day was postponed (Allies not ready in 1942 or 1943), and the Allies were backed up by the might of the American industrial base.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    To: Sunstar From: Ravenclaw.

    Dear Skystar,
    My name is Ravenclaw.I used to be a ForestClan cat with my apprentince , Wolfpaw. We were captured by Twoleg kits and were forced to live as kittypets. We escaped with the help of a kittypet named Patch. I am 10 moons old and Wolfpaw is 7. We are both she-cats. Wolfpaw is a very small cat for her age and is gray with brown ees. She is a great fighter and hunter. She is also energetic and impatient. I am black with blue-gray eyes. I am wise and a good fighter and hunter. I am also thin. With your permission I would like to keep training Wolfpaw. I would also like to be deputy. Wolfpaw and I know the warrior code and know the rules of DawnClan. We will always be loyal to our clan no matter what. Please respond soon.
    Yours truly,
    Ravenclaw and Wolfpaw.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Ike managed the coalition of nations, which allowed the coalition to defeat Germany

    In less than four years, Dwight D. Eisenhower rose from the rank of Lt. Colonel in the U.S. Army to Supeme Commander, Allied Expeditionary Forces, and led this multinational coalition to victory over Germany in World War II. This country boy from Abilene, Kansas had the ability to get strong-willed, independent thinking and highly ambitous leaders, both military and political, to work together to ultimately achieve a great victory. Ike later became the first Commander of NATO and then a very popular two term President of the United States. The author makes Ike's story the key to understanding the Allies victory in Europe. This is a well writen, easy to read book created by a first rate historian that describes the life and times of one of America's greatest heroes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Insightful and Balanced

    An excellent read. The author, I feel, was very balanced in his approach. For Ike to be able to contend with such a group of high strung egos and "waring" factions while keeping them focused on the task at hand is remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1